Reviews
	8 Ball and MJG: Living Legends (Chopped and Screwed)

I had heard some screw before, but I don’t think I was really prepared for the overwhelming, unbelievable coolness contained on this one slim

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	The Eternals: Rawar Style

There’s something makeshift about the Eternals. Their songs erupt like a game of pick-up baseball on an empty street where nobody’s got a

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Patsy Cline: The Definitive Collection

For those keeping score at home, this is the umpteenth compilation of Cline’s songs. It’s good, too, better than the standard Patsy Cline

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	The Concretes: self-titled

The antiseptic rows of apartment buildings lining the streets of Stockholm illustrate a knack for synthesis, but the clean lines too easily overwhelm a lone

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 12:00 AM

Wife Swap

Wife Swap reinforces the idea of competition between women: whose house, kids, husband, and techniques for coping with daily life are better?

READ more
Things I Hate About You

Things I Hate About You may reinforce gender stereotypes, but in a less offensive and vindictive manner than most of its peers.

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	The Waxwings: Let’s Make Our Descent

Always reverent but often delusional, the musicians of Detroit derive their energy from a backdrop rich in musical history and stark decay. They toil in

READ more
	Rhythm of Black Lines: Human Hand, Animal Band

With a stack of CDs beside my computer waiting to be listened to and reviewed, I can usually glean an idea of what the band

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Pearl Jam: Lost Dogs

It’s the summer of ‘92. The nation is preparing to oust the first President Bush from the White House, the saga of Amy Fisher and

READ more
	The Orb: Bicycles & Tricycles

The Orb recorded and released their inarguable masterpiece, The Orb’s Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld, in 1991. This was followed in short order by 1992’s U

READ more
	Nanook of the North: The Täby Tapes

The effectiveness of the summertime pop song hinges on matters of geography. When one lives far from the equator, summer represents a brief interval of

READ more
	Li’l Cap’n Travis: ...In All Their Splendor

Neil Young is often a catch-reference for hundreds, if not thousands, of bands who toe the line between a folk-country-rock milieu and popularity. Yet for

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 10:00 PM

	William Galison & Madeleine Peyroux: Got You on My Mind

Remember Madeleine Peyroux? Sure you do—she came out with a great debut record, Dreamland, back in 1996 and was heralded as the second coming of

READ more
	Brian Eno: Here Come the Warm Jets [reissue]

The difference between high art and low art is that low art is unafraid to appeal to the senses, and high art is suspicious of

READ more
	Approach: Ultra-Proteus

On the album cover sits a lovely black lady with a luxuriant afro, dolled up in early disco hotpants and top, perched forwards with a

READ more
‘Waking Beauty’ Is a Book That Should Not Be Judged by Its Cover

Friedman spends a great deal of the book inverting common clichés and stereotypes when it comes to femininity and even human sexual power relationships.

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 12:00 AM

Gillian WelchPhoto credit: Glen Rose Old Crow Medicine ShowPhoto credit: Tony Baker Old-Time Music For President The boys from Old Crow Medicine Show don’t

READ more

Roots Manuva It doesn’t matter what we call it, it’s how it’s perceived—does it affect people and does it resonate? —David

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 12:00 AM

As my ticket was scanned, my secret shame wasn’t that I lacked intimate familiarity with Prince’s catalog, or even that I expected to

READ more

The Hives Sahara Hotnights The Reigning Sound When I first started going to shows in the late ‘80s (at Trenton’s late and lamented City

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Staircase' Is Gay in a Melancholy Way

// Short Ends and Leader

"Unfairly cast aside as tasteless during its time for its depiction of homosexuality, Staircase is a serious film in need of a second critical appraisal.

READ the article