Reviews

31 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

American Idol

How did a longhaired 29-year-old rocker in vinyl pants make it to the Idol finale stage? Was somebody reading my dream journal?

READ more
Mediated: How the Media Shapes Your World and the Way You Live in It by Thomas de Zengotita

Postmodernism is an amoeba-like 'blob' that amalgamates cultural and demographic differences together into a pureed mush, and that we are now all method actors busy with the task of performing the identities we have determined to be our own.

READ more
Jules and Jim: Criterion Collection (1962)

'Truffaut had the dread of everything conventional. Above all, he detested the conventionality of the nonconventional,' Jean Gruault notes.

READ more
	The Wallflowers: Rebel, Sweetheart

Jakob Dylan is no longer on your TV 24/7, and his band has all but fallen off the radio dial. What's a lead singer to do? In Dylan's case, shrugging his soldiers and writing damn good rock songs is the answer.

READ more
	Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne: Let It Loose

A rare thing to find a blues pianist with real roots. By no means all blues, with some R&B and soul flung in, this warming stuff includes examples worthy of the 1940s: Willie Littlefield, Amos Milburn, some Pete Johnson. Should be encouraged.

READ more
	The Stranglers: Live 1978 in San Francisco [DVD]

There must be some better vintage live footage of the Stranglers out there somewhere.

READ more

30 May 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Proe: Perfect

Who the eff is Proe? Just another MC, doin' it on his own. Not bad for his second time out.

READ more

30 May 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Moby: Hotel

Moby needs a hug really, really badly.

READ more
	The Loved Ones: The Loved Ones EP

Philadelphia trio has some power-pop fun before Angst rears its ugly head.

READ more
	Tord Gustavsen Trio: The Ground

This is a delicately balanced piano trio that blends slow tempos, gospel feel and delicious restraint into something lovely. You almost feel guilty for liking something so beautiful, but this music gets under your skin and into your head.

READ more

30 May 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Common: Be

Electric Circus pushed the boundaries of hip-hop -- a psychedelic trip to hip-hop's great beyond -- Be just finds a world-wide Common back home standing on the corner. But you can't go home again and no matter how much he wishes, the Common of Can I Borrow a Dollar? is not the same Common of Be -- and thank God for that.

READ more

28 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

Saving Face (2005)

The center of Alice Wu's debut film, Saving Face, Wil is both driven and dutiful.

READ more

28 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

Madagascar (2005)

What could be better -- you have four legs, all kinds of energy, and all the room in the world?"

READ more

28 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Longest Yard (2005)

Sandler is resolutely unriled, whether abused by guards, the warden, or his own teammates, which makes him a decidedly peculiar action comedy hero.

READ more

28 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

Layer Cake (2004)

The hero of Layer Cake has no name. This matters less than you might think.

READ more

28 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

Eros (2004)

Wong Kar-Wai's section follows Miss Hua (Gong Li in some of the most gorgeous dresses ever photographed), a sultry but also wistful Hong Kong call girl.

READ more

27 May 2005 // 1:00 AM

The last time I saw this band perform live there was the distinct feeling in the air the band was performing for itself...

READ more

'If you really loved me, you'd let me eat your brains.' So says the back of a T-shirt worn by kid at the show. Awesome...

READ more
Ape Escape: On the Loose

Depending on how you look at it, the game rerelease trend that we've been seeing these past few years may or may not be a good thing.

READ more
Self-Help Books: Why Americans Keep Reading Them by Sandra K. Dolby

Dolby wants to appeal to an academic readership as well as a popular one, and the results are uneven.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Cage the Elephant Ignite Central Park with Kickoff for Summerstage Season

// Notes from the Road

"Cage the Elephant rocked two sold-out nights at Summerstage and return to NYC for a free show May 29th. Info on that and a preview of the full Summerstage schedule is here.

READ the article