Reviews
The Flower of Evil (La Fleur Du Mal) (2003)

Claude Chabrol keeps the forces that threaten to tear the family asunder, for the most part, submerged.

READ more
	Various Artists: Casey Kasem’s Rock & Roll Goldmine [DVD]

Casey Kasem may make Dick Clark look like Alan Freed, but simply by virtue of being in the industry for so long, Kasem deserves at

READ more

2 Aug 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Tanya Donelly: Whiskey Tango Ghosts

By now you would think the music world would awaken from its slumber land, rub its drowsy eyes, and begin to acknowledge to extensive musical

READ more

30 Jul 2004 // 1:00 AM

Thunderbirds (2004)

The only possible reason I can see for this screen version is the marketing opportunities embodied by the Thunderbirds themselves and their 'super-advanced technology' ships and gadgets.

READ more

30 Jul 2004 // 1:00 AM

She Hate Me (2004)

Spike Lee's She Hate Me begins with money.

READ more
The Manchurian Candidate (2004)

The Manchurian Candidate draws a line between the corporation and the government, sustaining a hope that the U.S. system might be salvaged by an honestly free election.

READ more

30 Jul 2004 // 1:00 AM

Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle (2004)

Harold and Kumar isn't pushing a political polemic, yet it still manages to be an odd achievement.

READ more
	The Sunshine Fix: Green Imagination

Nearly a decade after the original Elephant 6 collective began to make a name for itself by reinvigorating the world of psychedelic pop, the collective’s

READ more
	The Red Krayola: Singles 1968-2002

Don’t let the fact that this is a “singles” collection fool you into thinking that you’ll hear a bunch of three-minute pop songs

READ more
	Courtney Pine: Devotion

Courtney Pine belongs to a generation of jazz musicians born in England (in his case in 1964) to parents born in the Caribbean. The great immigration

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Guapo: Five Suns

When a band breaks out the gong and uses it (with nary a hint of irony) numerous times throughout the first four minutes of a 4

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Fastball: Keep Your Wig On

Austin, Texas, trio Fastball fell victim to bad timing in the late ‘90s. Their 1998 gem of a single, “The Way”, was the decade’s best

READ more
	8 Ball and MJG: Living Legends (Chopped and Screwed)

I had heard some screw before, but I don’t think I was really prepared for the overwhelming, unbelievable coolness contained on this one slim

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	The Eternals: Rawar Style

There’s something makeshift about the Eternals. Their songs erupt like a game of pick-up baseball on an empty street where nobody’s got a

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Patsy Cline: The Definitive Collection

For those keeping score at home, this is the umpteenth compilation of Cline’s songs. It’s good, too, better than the standard Patsy Cline

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	The Concretes: self-titled

The antiseptic rows of apartment buildings lining the streets of Stockholm illustrate a knack for synthesis, but the clean lines too easily overwhelm a lone

READ more

29 Jul 2004 // 1:00 AM

Wife Swap

Wife Swap reinforces the idea of competition between women: whose house, kids, husband, and techniques for coping with daily life are better?

READ more
Things I Hate About You

Things I Hate About You may reinforce gender stereotypes, but in a less offensive and vindictive manner than most of its peers.

READ more

28 Jul 2004 // 11:00 PM

	The Waxwings: Let’s Make Our Descent

Always reverent but often delusional, the musicians of Detroit derive their energy from a backdrop rich in musical history and stark decay. They toil in

READ more
	Rhythm of Black Lines: Human Hand, Animal Band

With a stack of CDs beside my computer waiting to be listened to and reviewed, I can usually glean an idea of what the band

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Sugar Hill' Breaks Out the Old-School Zombies

// Short Ends and Leader

"Sugar Hill was made in a world before ordinary shuffling, Romero-type zombies took over the cinema world.

READ the article