Reviews
	Sharkey: Sharkey’s Machine

Before this review gets under way, I’d just like to point out that my reviewing of this record was blighted to an unnecessary extent

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Todd Rundgren: Liars

For years now, Todd Rundgren has been searching for the Truth. Be it musically, spiritually, or technologically, it’s hard to think of another artist

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Arthur Russell: Calling Out of Context

Arthur Russell was of those anomalous personalities whose contribution to music was characterized by its stubborn resistance to rote categorization and over-determined response. An unabashed

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Bic Runga: Beautiful Collision

There is the “hype” about the next CD you have to own, and there is “under the radar” in bad need of some promotion. Now

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

The Urban Picnic by John Burns and Elisabeth Caton

The picnic is an everyday possibility, a refuge from the demands of the working world that can be accessed in the city as well as the countryside.

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

Radio Activity by Bill Fitzhugh

While decrying the pop culture mass-produced state of the music industry, Fitzhugh veers dangerously close to contributing to the mass-produced made-for-the-movies state of the publishing industry.

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

I, Shithead: A Life in Punk by Joey Keithley

When Ted Koppel and the Dixie Chicks are arguably more 'punk' than most politically lazy Generation-Y rock bands, you know something's amiss.

READ more

2 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

Between Two Rivers by Nicholas Rinaldi

After re-experiencing the World Trade Center attacks, there can't fail to be a sense of history in the making, for Rinaldi manages to convey the peculiar fascination of September 11th and its lasting effect on the American consciousness.

READ more
	Various Artists: The Roots of Rock ‘n’ Roll: 1946-1954

It’s purely an academic matter, but people have put probably too much effort into pinning down the beginning of rock ‘n’ roll. Did it

READ more
	Various Artists: Motown 1’s

Although the label Berry Gordy started up was a factory more so than a collection of artists, Motown left its mark on American music. What’

READ more
	Sugarcult: Palm Trees and Power Lines

With increasing frequency, pop-punk bands have been courting fans older than the typical 14-year-old mall rat with surprising success: see Brand New, the Get Up

READ more

1 Jun 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Sleep Station: After the War

Oh, what a world we live in: it must be unprecedented that a band who makes an album about World War II draws inevitable comparisons

READ more
	The Pixies: Wave of Mutilation: Best of Pixies

It certainly is a good time to be The Pixies right now. The college rock legends’ reunion tour has been met with such a frenzied

READ more
	The Owls: Our Hopes and Dreams

The Owls all share song credits on their debut release, though it’s clear that despite holding their own as individual songwriters, they’ve come

READ more

1 Jun 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Askeleton: Angry Album -or- Psychic Songs

About 400 miles from both Iceland and Greenland, to the northeast, is an island called Jan Mayen. Although it now has a Norwegian navigation radio and

READ more

1 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

The Kids Are Still Alright At the very least, four decades as part of rock’s most exciting band has not dampened the enthusiasm of

READ more

1 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

We RagazziPhoto credit: J. Wambsgans We Ragazzi hold an awkward place in my heart. As a workaday Chicago band, they were ripping off jagged, spastic,

READ more

Destroyer Frog Eyes The Impossible Shapes Dan Bejar told us that there’s joy in being barred from the temple, and we solemnly cupped our

READ more

1 Jun 2004 // 12:00 AM

The NYC monthly Flyer magazine has been consistently churning out its free publication for some years now, letting us New Yorkers know what’s happening

READ more

31 May 2004 // 10:00 PM

	Little Feat: Kickin’ It at the Barn

Ask the common music epicure, and Little Feat reached their zenith with 1978’s Waiting for Columbus. The quintessential live album, mixing the Allman Brothers’ blues

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

We are continuing to experience some technical difficulties. We hope to have them resolved by Monday

// Announcements

"Exciting developments are around the corner for PopMatters.

READ the article