Reviews
	The Reputation: To Force a Fate

The Reputation have forced me to invoke the Walt Whitman Corollary to Critical Review. Lately, I’ve been bemoaning bands whose albums sound the same

READ more
Patty Griffin: Impossible Dream

“We’ll pass around the easy lie of absolutely no regrets” —The Weakerthans There comes a time in life when things left to do become

READ more

4 May 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Edson: Every Day, Every Second

It’s always interesting to hear bands from countries other than the US and UK. Yes, believe it or not, there are other cultures out

READ more

4 May 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Dykehouse: Midrange

As shoegaze continues to be filtered through IDM and electronica’s circuit boards and computer cables, the genre is simultaneously being mauled beyond recognition and

READ more
	The Beautiful Mistake: This Is Who You Are

It’s impossible to open any major music publication these days without the word “emo” staring you down. Like grunge before it, the emo virus

READ more
	Monty Alexander and Ernest Ranglin: Rocksteady

I first saw the name of the guitarist Ernest Ranglin on one of the few label listings on which British schoolboys could find the then

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Sebadoh Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve never felt the urge to yell out a request during a concert. I always figured that

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Of MontrealPhoto credit: Chris Billheimer Once again, I’ll fulfill my contractual obligations as music critic and point out, first and foremost, that my charge

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Once, the idea of making music out of industrial refuse and random construction materials was challenging, radical, and innovative, even verging on dangerous; these days,

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

DeerhoofPhoto credit: Kinoshita Nobuyo Deerhoof’s experimental, prog, noise-rock could oddly enough appeal to even the unhippest of concertgoers. They rock out like Sonic Youth

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Controller.Controller Long before TV on the Radio multi-instrumentalist David Andrew Sitek took the stage shouting, “It’s fucking hot in here…like I’m

READ more
Strangers: Homosexual Love in the Nineteenth Century by Graham Robb

With the recent brouhaha over the latest actions taken to legalize gay marriage and the conservative Right's counteractions to ban such unions, it's surprising to learn that there were advocates of gay marriage within the church over a hundred years ago.

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Project X by Jim Shepard

But somewhere through the decades, teenagers stubbed out their cigarettes and traded fast cars for Kalashnikovs.

READ more
Naked: Writers Uncover the Way We Live on Earth by Susan Zakin

Nature-centered writing has degenerated into stories about rare animals or exotic places, a niche market of upscale Baby Boomers. It is written by folks who've sworn off deodorant or humor or both.

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Book Against God by James Wood

For all those writers who got rather stinky reviews from James Wood, I'm sorry to say that you should stop holding your breath and hoping for the worst, because Wood's first novel, The Book Against God, is finely crafted.

READ more

4 May 2004 // 1:00 AM

Acquainted with the Night by Paul Raeburn

As the book reveals itself to a sad portrait of a disintegrating family, the real story becomes as muddled for the reader as it seems to be for Raeburn himself.

READ more
	Various Artists: Little Darla Has a Treat For You, Vol. 21

A label widely beloved by the few that know it, Darla may not have enjoyed the kind of widespread success given to imprints like Motown

READ more
	Two Dollar Pistols: Hands Up!

Two Dollar Pistols’ frontman John Howie, Jr., has got it rough with the ladies. Lying women cheat on him, cheating women lie to him—basically

READ more

3 May 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Dani Siciliano: Likes…

Dani Siciliano whispers like she has secrets, and then builds songs out of those whispers that speak to my heart. I am using the first-person

READ more

3 May 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Sodastream: A Minor Revival

In the world of popular culture, everything is subjective. Well, that’s probably true for a lot of life in general as well, but when

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Ubisoft Understands the Art of the Climb

// Moving Pixels

"Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed and Grow Home epitomize the art of the climb.

READ the article