Reviews
	The Coke Dares: Here We Go With… the Coke Dares

The Coke Dares grind out 32 songs in 32 minutes on Here We Go With. A rip-snortin' good time!"

READ more

18 May 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Candlemass: self-titled

Got doom?"

READ more
Architecture in Helsinki: In Case We Die

By painting their already imaginative songs with dazzling new colors, Architecture in Helsinki are quietly reinventing the pop song.

READ more

18 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

How do you mobilize a community comprised of young artists more concerned with nurturing voice than elevating it in protest? Throw a badass benefit concert.

READ more

18 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Jack & Bobby

No matter how much we learn of the President, he remains distant, a mythical figure recalled with admiration by friends and foes alike.

READ more
Garfield and Friends: Volume Three

But if adults might seek a bit of cat development or story arc, kids are fine with repetition.

READ more
Spooky Encounters: A Gwailo’s Guide to Hong Kong Horror by Daniel O’Brien

Reading a book on movies one has, for the most part, not seen is the proverbial double-edged sword.

READ more

18 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Kinsey (2004)

Not only is the character difficult by heroic biopic standards, but his story combines radical thinking, extraordinary generosity, and supreme egotism.

READ more
	Stiv Bators: L.A. Confidential

'What's that? You only know Stiv Bators from his work with the Dead Boys? Are you ever in for a power pop treat!'"

READ more

17 May 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Subarachnoid Space: The Red Veil

Existing in inner space, where words are meaningless.

READ more

17 May 2005 // 10:00 PM

Nine Inch Nails: With Teeth

Second verse, same as the first! Trent Reznor signals his triumphant return with more of the damn same.

READ more
	The Nein: Wrath of Circuits

On their debut album, The Nein prove there's plenty of life left in the post punk revival.

READ more
	Mice Parade: Bem-Vinda Vontade

Not a give and take. More like, 'Work with me.' Mice Parade salutes you.

READ more

17 May 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Love As Laughter: Laughter’s Fifth

On its fifth album, Love as Laughter delivers a retro/garage rock gem and manages to sound like lots of other bands doing the same thing.

READ more

17 May 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Gong: You

At last, final installment in the Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy is reissued! The world is a safer place (for groovy, self-aware prog rock).

READ more

17 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

These two moments in time move towards convergence, as the story of Bont's rise and fall dovetails with Daredevil's career as a superhero.

READ more

17 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

As much as turning over credit cards to a man on the side of the road appealed, we hadn't come to be saved; no, the truth we were seeking was that of rock and roll.

READ more

17 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Veronica Mars

With the end of the Lily Kane murder case, Veronica Mars is flirting with that television taboo: changing the status quo.

READ more
Charlie Poole: You Ain’t Talkin’ to Me: Charlie Poole and the Roots of Country Music

Poole might be the central missing link of American music.

READ more
	Magneta Lane: The Constant Lover

Hey, it's like the girl version of cool stuff!"

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Cube Escape' Is Free, Frustrating, and Weirdly Compelling

// Moving Pixels

"The Cube Escape games are awful puzzle games, but they're an addicting descent into madness.

READ the article