Reviews

21 Apr 2004 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Jasper Coolidge It’s a recent Friday night at Sin-e. The crowd is overloaded with tastemaker types—which the guy in front of

READ more

At its most arresting, the music of Calla hums with tension along the line between polarities.

READ more

21 Apr 2004 // 1:00 AM

Madness Interactive

The heart and soul of Madness is homicide, and lots of it. It is as basic and primal as a video game can get.

READ more

21 Apr 2004 // 1:00 AM

MTX: Mototrax

The good news for the uninitiated out there is that there is still a solid game underneath all the extras.

READ more

21 Apr 2004 // 1:00 AM

MLB 2005

While certainly reflecting today's world of global capitalism within baseball, the ubiquitous advertisements are both overwhelming and bothersome.

READ more
City of Heroes

Americans lack any real connection to mythology in the classical sense. All our stories of heroes and monsters -- religious and mythological -- are imports.

READ more
TV on the Radio: Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes

We know that TV on the Radio started with a brilliant debut, but we just have to hope that the band figures out where to point its gun.

READ more

20 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

	The Goldstars: Gotta Get Out!

I was attracted to this CD because it was on the Pravda label, home of one of my all-time fave bands, the New Duncan Imperials.

READ more

20 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Fuel: Natural Selection

Fuel provides the perfect bridge between the commercial leanings of most modern rock acts and the bruising intensity of old school metal bands. As a

READ more
	Decahedron: Disconnection Imminent

With their first album Disconnection Imminent just under their belts, Decahedron have lived through enough drama for a veteran band. Originally performing and releasing their

READ more
	Ambulance LTD: self-titled

There may not be a more carefully crafted debut release this year than the eponymous offering from Ambulance LTD. Full of sweet melodies, neat hooks,

READ more

20 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Terry Allen: Juarez

I am going on record here: Terry Allen‘s Juarez, a country-rock album recorded in 1975, is the best concept album ever recorded. That’s right:

READ more

20 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

Fred Anderson and Hamid Drake: Back Together Again

Back Together Again finally documents an amazing working relationship between two friends and musicians.

READ more
The Night of Akhenaton: Selected Poems by Ágnes Nemes Nagy

The key themes of history as closure, a kind of irreversible process sealed by death into a possibility of resurrection, are never far away in Nagy's poetry.

READ more
The Bride Stripped Bare by Anonymous

So, which is it? The good wife afraid to undress in the light, or unabashed dominatrix ready to school the world on the ways of the woman?"

READ more
Around the Bloc: My Life in Moscow, Beijing, and Havana by Stephanie Elizondo Griest

Griest stumbled into cultures that were significantly more complex than the Amnesty International literature might lead one to believe.

READ more
Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture by Michael Bellesiles

I would like nothing more than to believe that the criticism of the book stems from politics and not from any failing on Bellesiles' part. But the evidence against him is fairly damning.

READ more
	Bennie Wallace: The Nearness of You

The pianist in the trio which opened an amazing concert—much of which is preserved on CD (Stan Getz, Yours and Mine and on Soul

READ more

19 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Snow Patrol: Final Straw

One of the reasons we listen to music is because it provides a vehicle for expressing feelings that would otherwise go unexpressed. Rage, passion, fear,

READ more

19 Apr 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Dirk Powell: Time Again

As Industrial America rustled and raged through its fitful fights of puberty, the Appalachian region represented a slowed respite. A place untouched by big city

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Country Fried Rock: Drivin' N' Cryin' to Be Inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame

// Sound Affects

""If Drivin' N' Cryin' sounded as good in the '80s as we do now, we could have been as big as Cinderella." -- Kevn Kinney

READ the article