Reviews > Books

After 9/11, many Americans acted as though this region of the Middle East, with its Arab people and some religion called Islam had sprung up out of the sandy soil to surprise us all.

READ more
Freuds Wizard: by Brenda Maddox

The biography left me wondering how many pioneering intellectuals have been dismissed for exhibiting behavior we now consider inappropriate.

READ more
The Top Ten: Writers Pick Their Favorite Books by J. Peder Zane (Editor)

Some of the best-known writers of our times contribute to a compilation of all-time favorite books.

READ more

11 Mar 2007 // 10:00 PM

Forty-Five: Poems by Frieda Hughes

Daughter of poets Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes faces midlife with art in Forty-Five.

READ more
You Dont Love Me Yet by Jonathan Lethem

Lethem doesn't push the novel toward much of a plot with any sense of urgency, as though he'd left the manuscript baking in the Los Angeles sun.

READ more
A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah

Ishmael Beah leads a harrowing journey into the heart of Sierra Leone's bloody civil war.

READ more
John Osborne: The Many Lives of the Angry Young Man by John Heilpern

Heilpern's biography of the playwright who radically changed British theater overnight in 1956 with Look Back in Anger is a model of what a literary biography ought to be -- the story of a life, not the inventory of one.

READ more

7 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

The Jokes Over by Ralph Steadman

Thompson was a fierce and incredibly astute political commentator, but he wasn't entirely cynical.

READ more
Knitting Under the Influence by Claire LaZebnik

At first I hated this book; then I made peace with it; then I started to enjoy it.

READ more

6 Mar 2007 // 8:59 PM

Lover of Unreason by Yehuda Koren and Eilat Negev

This is powerful stuff, and Koren and Negev expertly refrain from injecting opinion into the already intense narrative.

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Microthrills by Wendy Spero

The structure of Microthrills veers a bit from traditional standards of cohesion.

READ more
The Lazy Boys by Carl Shuker

By the bottom of the page, he's pissed in another sense, too, as his anger and embarrassment about the accident in the toilet lead him to lash out at a woman.

READ more

1 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

The Culture Code by Clotaire Rapaille

Code is easy to idolize because it provides an answer to the question "Who am I?" In a way, it is a new mythology for modern times.

READ more

1 Mar 2007 // 8:59 PM

Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra

It works on numerous levels, the most vibrant of which paints a realistic landscape of India and the intrinsic machinery that allows it to move forward.

READ more

1 Mar 2007 // 8:58 PM

The Conjurer by Cordelia Frances Biddle

The Conjurer mystery opens underbelly of Philadelphia society, 1842.

READ more
They Call Me Naughty Lola by David Rose [Editor]

Why on earth did someone in the first column ask for a "contortionist who plays the trumpet"? Apart from the obvious?

READ more

28 Feb 2007 // 8:59 PM

So Sad to Fall in Battle by Kumiko Kakehashi

Japan's most brilliant general was a 'pro-American' maverick.

READ more

27 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

Transparent by Cris Beam

Christina combines intense vulnerability with a survivor's furious poise; on any given day, she can swing from gushing about Geri Halliwell to carving up her arm with a kitchen knife, but throughout it all we sense in her a miraculous core of resilience and insight.

READ more
The Perfect Thing by Steven Levy

Levy does not propose that we consider the iPod to be a perfect or ideal thing; rather, he begins from the premise that the cultural marketplace has already rendered this verdict.

READ more
One Must Also Be Hungarian by Adam Biro, translated by Catherine Tihanyi

The author recognizes that his characters are as much a reflection of himself as they are individuals in their own right.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Fave Five: Alpine

// Sound Affects

"Australian sextet Alpine's newest album is a fantastic expansion of their joyous pop sound, but two members give us five records apiece that helped define their unique musical identities.

READ the article