Call for Music Writers... Rock, Indie, Hip-hop, R&B, Electronic, Americana, Metal, World and More

Reviews > Comics

Tuesday, June 20 2006

Y: The Last Man Vol. 7: Paper Dolls

It is always interesting to see Vaughn, Guerra, et al.'s vision of an apocalyptic world and how it is a mirror to our own.


Monday, June 19 2006

Fury: Peacemaker

Forged in the battles of World War II he, like the American military, will learn from his mistakes and carry on all the way to a position of global power.


Thursday, June 15 2006

War of the Worlds: Second Wave #2

The book is an improvement over the first issue, but still is lacking a lot of what would make it a good story.


Tuesday, June 13 2006

Batman: Year 100 #4 (of 4)

In Paul Pope's version of Batman, the state has become the super-villian.


Monday, June 12 2006

Killer7 #1

The game is a story that is designed from the ground-up to be a videogame, and a literal translation as I have in my hands is missing the point.


Friday, June 9 2006

Fantastic Four/Iron Man: Big in Japan #1-4

With monsters drooling and causing mass hysteria, Wells and Fisher seem to be trying to outdo one another, with the reader reaping all the benefits.


Wednesday, June 7 2006

Bite Club: Vampire Crime Unit #1

This kind of writing is frustrating for a reader who is looking for at least a little substance within their $2.99 purchase.


Monday, June 5 2006

2

For escapist entertainment, that's not a whole lot of escaping, and barely any entertainment.


Thursday, June 1 2006

Super Bad James Dynomite #1

Who would think the minds behind White Chicks would be the ones to finally strike comedy gold, and in comic book form no less?


Tuesday, May 30 2006

Cobb: Off the Leash #1

The good guys are good, the bad guys are despicably evil, and the girls are buxom and gorgeous.


Friday, May 26 2006

Batman Annual #25

Continues the evolution of an iconic character without betraying the fans, creators, and continuity that was established before.


Wednesday, May 24 2006

Planetary Brigade #1-2

It's a not-so-serious story featuring costumed super-heroes, which in today's day and age is a welcome change from the norm.


Monday, May 22 2006

Detective Comics #817

Everything old is new again.


Thursday, May 18 2006

War of the Worlds: Second Wave #1

Our hero does something incredibly stupid in order to get the plot --and the entire series -- underway.


Thursday, May 11 2006

Ms. Marvel #1

Carol Danvers is motivated by an insecurity that will resonate with a lot of readers. And this makes her an interesting character.


Tuesday, May 9 2006

DMZ #1-3: On the Ground

Seeing such violence and destruction unfold in the streets of familiar cities rather than across an ocean is a poignant reminder no nation is invincible (even, gasp, America).


Thursday, May 4 2006

Batman Year 100 #3 (of 4)

Given his track record thus far, it is a safe bet that Paul Pope will satisfy his audience with his final explanation behind the mystery of the 'Bat-man of Gotham'.


Tuesday, May 2 2006

Paul Moves Out

A quiet, unpretentious book.


Uzumaki Vol. 1-3

Junji Ito creates an innovative and bizarre horror series that has thus far proved to be his most creatively successful series to date.


Friday, April 28 2006

G.I. Joe: Sigma 6 #1

Dabb keeps the story simple, either because he thinks that kids wouldn't be smart enough to follow along or would be hopelessly lost if they had to devote a few seconds to thinking about the story.


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2015 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.