Reviews > DVDs
	Bobby Darin: Beyond the Song [DVD]

This cheap and easy 'documentary' doesn't go very deep into Darin's biography, psyche, or contribution to the arts, but it nonetheless contains some enjoyable footage.

READ more
	Nat King Cole: When I Fall in Love: The One and Only [DVD]

On the demise of the Nat 'King' Cole Show, the star famously remarked, 'Madison Avenue is afraid of the dark.' When I Fall in Love: The One and Only hardly rectifies or sheds light on this disgrace in American broadcast history. However, in focusing on the hits, the DVD highlights the beauty of Cole's music for both the casual and critical music listener.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

The Woodsman (2004)

Director Kassell says, 'There's Kyra Sedgwick beating the shit out of Carlos Leon. I love this scene.'"

READ more
6ixtynin9 (Ruang talok 69) (1999)

Tum doesn't so much triumph over adversity as take advantage of idiotic and inept opponents.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Suspect Zero (2004)

Part derivative, part original, and part twisted, the film quotes obviously from other serial killer films, beginning with its first shot.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Short Cuts (1993)

Death, or that state 'beyond natural color', is Short Cuts' common denominator.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Runaway Daughters (1994)

It is your basic road movie, tracking three teenage girls who fake being kidnapped, steal a car, and skip town.

READ more
Prisoner of Paradise (2003) - PopMatters Film Review
)

Prisoner of Paradise is a fitting rebuke to Life is Beautiful. Entertainment is a diversion, not a survival strategy.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

My Sister Eileen (1955)

It is cinematic cotton candy, dissolving the moment it hits the tongue.

READ more
Last Life in the Universe (Ruang rak noi nid mahasan) (2004)

For Chris Doyle, the 'great challenge' is shooting any emotion, 'taking ideas and turning them into images'.

READ more
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events: Special Collector’s Edition (2004)

Based on three Snicket books, the film mostly takes the kids' perspective, and so delights in the gooey and the ooky.

READ more

14 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Hotel Rwanda (2004)

Ambitiously humanitarian, the film uses Paul's plot to allude to the broader tragedy.

READ more
Bad Education (La mala educación) (2004)

Pedro Almodóvar's commentary is as seductive as his filmmaking.

READ more
	Rod Stewart: One Night Only: Rod Stewart Live at Royal Albert Hall [DVD]

He's doing what he wants to do, and if that appeals to both 20-year-olds and 80-year-olds, well, so be it.

READ more
	Nanci Griffith: One Fair Summer Evening… Plus! [DVD]

A glimpse into Nanci Griffith's early days of promise as she stepped into the limelight with a live recording.

READ more
Sapphire and Steel: The Complete Series

We don't know their past, we don't know the extent of their connection, but we're in love with these characters.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Ellen: The Complete Season Two

We are more eager to see how Ellen is going to muck it up than to believe she's looking for a partner.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Zero Day (2003)

Coccio's movie looks both chillingly insightful and despairingly naïve.

READ more
Whispering Corridors (1998)

Whispering Corridors' ghost story comments on the harsh South Korean education system.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Twentieth Century (1934)

Twentieth Century reveals the self-consciousness of theater, its falseness and its glory.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Blind Woman's Curse' Is Full of Delirious Action With Swords and Cats

// Short Ends and Leader

"This bewildering, reckless, and captivating Japanese monstrosity is a colorful, widescreen explosion of cross-genre craziness.

READ the article