Reviews > Events

22 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Before you enter the doors at Circus Disco in Hollywood, you have to get past Cole, the man who greats you with a ear-to-ear smile,

READ more

22 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Our New National AnthemBeautiful MeBig Black BuckPeople PersonCloud 9Welcome to the Colored SectionDo You Know?RocketshipHeaven

READ more

22 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Cinematic Orchestra Live—great, but remind me why I care? The Cinematic Orchestra’s show at the Bowery Ballroom was more than a little

READ more

22 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Once I fell in love with a girl who liked Blonde Redhead. She tore my world apart, blew it to bits. She lived in Chicago,

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Every show kept you wanting more, which is the great drug of rock and roll. The sets stayed short even as their set lists grew

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

OK, I admit it. Dave Grohl is brilliant, although he’s too modest to say so. He went from drummer in one of the planet’

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Fall TV on the Radio The Wonderful and Frightening World of . . . TV on the Radio For the Fall’s stop at Chicago’s Empty

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T In the StoneShining StarSun GoddessSing a SongSerpentine FireAfter the Love Has GoneGot to Get You into

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Striking rock-star poses under the red and green lights while screwing his face into an expression of stupefied amazement, Bleu concludes the opening number of

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

With Joe Strummer, Joey Ramone, and Dee Dee Ramone all in a better place, and Johnny Rotten (the name) gone with them, there are few

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

So Matthew Sweet, Pete Droge, and Shawn Mullins have joined forces to create The Thorns, an alleged supergroup that specializes in seeing just how thin

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T So in LoveJackie-ingBallad from ToscaBluesImprovisation 1Improvisation 2Improvisation 3 The highlight of the JVC Jazz Festival’s Paul

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Jonathan Richman is known to be reliably uplifting in concert. That said, the second time I saw Richman perform was both similar and dissimilar to

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Coil Señor Coconut and his Orchestra Richie Hawtin May 28 through June 1 marked the fourth annual Mutek electronic music festival in Montreal. There’s a

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Sunday After YouHell BentFreetimeMan FadingRed ManNew Sacred CowI’m GoneLove Hate Sensation Halfway through Kenna’s

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Off the Deep End It should have been clear from erstwhile Wetlands Preserve owner Peter

READ more

As a veteran of numerous rock and roll memorabilia auctions, I have come to find them to be far more than mere orgies of consumerism.

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T BlueStone ThrownState of ThingsFeeling OblivionSelf-HelpSlackThe DoorPain KillerRain CityFuture BoyMind Over MoneySave Me (The Underdog) EncoreLong DistanceEmergency 72

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Some bands pop hottest in front of a live audience, with the pressure on and the stakes high. Some bands get off in the studio,

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Just six months ago, 24-year-old Brooklyn resident Norah Jones took home eight Grammy Awards. As it happens, what we thought was sweet, aw-shucks humility expressed

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Truth and Other Restrictions: 'True Detective' - Episode 7 - "Black Maps and Motel Rooms"

// Channel Surfing

"Series creator Nic Pizzolatto constructs the entire season on a simple exchange: death seems to be the metaphysical wage of knowledge.

READ the article