Reviews > Events

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s easy to forget the boundless potential of the pop song until you’ve seen the King of France perform their smartly skewed take

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

You never would have guessed it from the quiet way she took the stage on the first night of a two-night stand in Brooklyn, but

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann do themselves right by renaming themselves and trying something new.

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Speaker-sizzling reverb and straight-faced line dancing were just some of the highly entertaining antics of indie band favorite Yo La Tengo at this year’s

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Ithica 27-9Hunted by a FreakEx-CowboyKilling All the FliesKids Will Be SkeletonsMogwai Fear SatanYou Don’t

READ more

But She Could Play the Yamaha Just Like Ringing a Bell Saturday Looks Good to Me is part of a burgeoning crop of Detroit bands

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Turn Down the Bright Lights Judging by their set at the Palladium tonight, “Turn on the Bright Lights” is not simply the title of Interpol’

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Hella Quasi It seems that any article about rock ‘n roll two-pieces has to name check the White Stripes—and now that I have, I

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Black Rebel Motorcycle ClubPhoto credit: Stephen Stickler Maybe the guitarist. Not the bass player, and certainly not the drummer, but if it came down to

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Vanity SetPhoto credit: Aaron Diskin You may not have heard of James Sclavunos. Until a couple of weeks ago, I was barely aware of

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Sebastian Ludvigsen S E T    L I S T Wipe It ‘Til It BleedsSelfdestructo BustBack to Dungaree HighTurbonegro Must Be DestroyedSell

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

One of the greatest injustices in music, in my opinion, is the cult of the lead singer. They get all the glory, display the most

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Charles Thompson S E T    L I S T Strawberry SongSkimmingBe Your ManMonday MorningGodDaylightSpringtimeSomedayFreeGraceHappy At the launch party for his new

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Patrick Ford While most New Yorkers were bracing themselves for hurricane Isabel making landfall, 600 or so very curious and fortunate souls packed into

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

“The Clientele—they sound like Belle & Sebastian, right?” The Clientele/Belle & Sebastian comparisons bother me to no end, not only because I think

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Native TongueFeel ItRobot CityAlmost TrueYou Don’t KnowNecessitoWhen I Let My Guard DownHe’s on Drugs

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Saves the Day Taking Back Sunday Moneen Why is it that emotional boys singing about their pain make girls scream? I mean, seriously. How masculine

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T La Professor & La Fille DanseDelicateWoman Like a ManCold WaterHalleluiahVolcanoPurple HazeMe, My Yoke and IAmieThe Blower’

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Power outages here in the U.S. have been laying bare our all-out reliance and

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Mark Gardener Goldrush Charlene :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Friends Don’t Let Friends Ride Drunk Mark Gardener, formerly of

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

I'm Going to Kill You: 'Johnny Guitar' Gets the Class Treatment

// Short Ends and Leader

"One tends to watch this film open-mouthed in wonder at the forceful dialogue, the colorful imagery, and the sheer emotional punch of its women.

READ the article