Reviews > Events

11 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T AirbagSubterranean Homesick AlienThinking About YouSail to the MoonYouEverything In Its Right PlaceKnives OutKarma PoliceLike Spinning PlatesNo

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

Ol’ Dirty Bastard ODB Hits Rock Bottom “T-SHIRTS?! Alright, come on man. One step at a time. Do a few shows… start the ball rolling…

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

I could’ve sworn that I had seen Holly Golightly live before. Who could blame me? Anyone who owns one of her records—and the

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

The people were there for the Constantines, and any doubt of this was removed the moment the Arcade Fire began taking apart their instruments, as without hesitation the feet of people seemed to move instinctively a few feet forward, crowding the front of the stage area.

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

There’s a song nagging at me. And just because I’m walking out the door of a Gillian Welch/David Rawlings concert, don’t

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

After the Black Crowes went on hiatus following the 2001 release of Lions, many wondered if frontman Chris Robinson could hack it on his own. After

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

In these days when labels are slapped on everything willy-nilly, a band has three choices: go with the flow and fit snugly into an established

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Jason McMaster Machine Gun Fellatio is a name that doesn’t roll off the tongue without a little protest. The band began the

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Conga Room Set ListWindowsLei Lo LaiEn FuegoUniversalCorcavado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)SonhandoEstoyCloudsMusica de AmorPercussion/bass

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

After 40 years of rock ‘n roll, some would argue the setup of guitar-bass-drums is old hat. Some have turned to electronic music for fresh ideas,

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

The Fire Theft Laguardia Tonight’s performance featured two aspiring young bands making their first forays into Canada. The opening act, Laguardia, has recently released

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 12:00 AM

I was halfway through a menthol cigarette (blech!) when I heard the electric guitars of Bettie Serveert’s Peter Visser and lead singer Carol van

READ more

When I reviewed Goldfrapp's first U.S. tour two years ago, I fell short of giving them a rave because I felt they needed to loosen up a little.

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

The headline on the flier emphasized Orlando-based progressive house DJ Jimmy Van M’s name. Those going to the weekly “Spundae” at Circus Disco in

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Begin the BeginSo Fast So NumbThe Wake Up BombDriveAnimalSitting StillExhuming McCarthyBad DayThe One I LoveStrange CurrenciesMaps

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Danielle St. Laurent Rainer Maria has been touring for what seems to be close to three years straight, non-stop, traversing the country and

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

One would have to do some serious, pilates-enhanced stretching to make a case for any kind of similarity between Pretty Girls Make Graves and the

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

It’s easy to forget the boundless potential of the pop song until you’ve seen the King of France perform their smartly skewed take

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

You never would have guessed it from the quiet way she took the stage on the first night of a two-night stand in Brooklyn, but

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 12:00 AM

Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann do themselves right by renaming themselves and trying something new.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Searching for Wholesome Online Fun: LDS Gamers

// Moving Pixels

"While being skeptical about the Church ever officially endorsing video games, LDS gamers remains hopeful about the future, knowing that Mormon society is slowly growing to appreciate gaming.

READ the article