Reviews > Events

23 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Every aspiring rock star, before he embarks upon his career, should be handed a list of things never to say to an audience. On this

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

  Homecoming 2003 or How I Ended Up Onstage With Iggy and the Stooges In 1967, a young, aspiring bluesman named Jim Osterberg left his hometown of

READ more

The Star SpanglesPhoto credit: Howard Thompson The Smithereens   Something Old, Something New . . . A headlining appearance by the Smithereens would have been appropriate 15 years ago.

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: John Ballon S E T    L I S T Your Mind and We Belong TogetherOrange SkiesMy Little Red BookAlone Again OrA

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Roger Sargent   The Libertines faced a number of obstacles before they even set foot on stage at Irving Plaza. For one, they

READ more

Photo credit: Bill Groll   The Continental Club is an old hangout on the south side of Austin, the part of town where people believe

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Dave Gahan, known the world ‘round as the lead singer of seminal synth-pop band Depeche

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Luisa Cinta As if he weren’t already enough of a cipher, Smog’s Bill Callahan has now started cloaking his stage name

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 6’1”Polyester BrideRock MeDivorce SongHelp Me MaryExtraordinaryFuck and RunFavoriteJohnny FeelgoodWhy Can’t I?Red Light FeverSupernovaFlower So

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Free for AllWango TangoStormtroopin’Snakeskin CowboyWang Dang Sweet PoontangKlstrphnkyRawdogs & WarhogsCraveI Won’t Go AwayHey BabyJust

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

“What is Iceland like?” I asked a sea-faring friend of mine a few hours before I was to see a performance by Múm. “Imagine

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Jason King I have this great housesitting gig in the middle of nowhere. But, unfortunately, the rural isolation inflames my latent misanthropy. Silence

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Ledward Kaapana Bob Brozman The Birchmere in Alexandria, Virginia, has been the scene of many momentous performances over the years, but few could compare with

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article It’s a glum little venue, the Fireside Bowl. League nights were traded for rock

READ more

Photo credit: Valeria Zalaquett Strings Attached: De La Guarda 10 Years On The language is not intellectual, it goes straight to the body, to the senses,

READ more

Whitesnake Warrant S E T    L I S T WHITESNAKE SET LISTBad BoysSlow an’ EasyLove Ain’t No StrangerThe Deeper the LoveJudgment DayCryin’

READ more

The TransgressorsPhoto credit: Divya So this was the first time I ever let a band spend the night at my place. Considering how much like

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Concert reviewing is not always as glamorous as it sounds. You walk into hole-in-the-wall venues on a Monday night, with one eye open and praying

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T ThaeterThis Is the New ShitDisposable TeensIrresponsible Hate AnthemUse Your Fist and Not Your MouthGreat Big White

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Ilya Sometime in the not-too-distant future, there will come a time when you’ll stop in some hip-to-your-tax-bracket hotel bar for an after-work chocolate martini

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Jodie Foster's First Great Performance: 'The Little Girl Who Lives Down the Lane'

// Short Ends and Leader

"Why has this low-budget Canadian-French production flown under the radar?

READ the article