Reviews > Events

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

The headline on the flier emphasized Orlando-based progressive house DJ Jimmy Van M’s name. Those going to the weekly “Spundae” at Circus Disco in

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Begin the BeginSo Fast So NumbThe Wake Up BombDriveAnimalSitting StillExhuming McCarthyBad DayThe One I LoveStrange CurrenciesMaps

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Danielle St. Laurent Rainer Maria has been touring for what seems to be close to three years straight, non-stop, traversing the country and

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

One would have to do some serious, pilates-enhanced stretching to make a case for any kind of similarity between Pretty Girls Make Graves and the

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s easy to forget the boundless potential of the pop song until you’ve seen the King of France perform their smartly skewed take

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

You never would have guessed it from the quiet way she took the stage on the first night of a two-night stand in Brooklyn, but

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann do themselves right by renaming themselves and trying something new.

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Speaker-sizzling reverb and straight-faced line dancing were just some of the highly entertaining antics of indie band favorite Yo La Tengo at this year’s

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Ithica 27-9Hunted by a FreakEx-CowboyKilling All the FliesKids Will Be SkeletonsMogwai Fear SatanYou Don’t

READ more

But She Could Play the Yamaha Just Like Ringing a Bell Saturday Looks Good to Me is part of a burgeoning crop of Detroit bands

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Turn Down the Bright Lights Judging by their set at the Palladium tonight, “Turn on the Bright Lights” is not simply the title of Interpol’

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Hella Quasi It seems that any article about rock ‘n roll two-pieces has to name check the White Stripes—and now that I have, I

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Black Rebel Motorcycle ClubPhoto credit: Stephen Stickler Maybe the guitarist. Not the bass player, and certainly not the drummer, but if it came down to

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Vanity SetPhoto credit: Aaron Diskin You may not have heard of James Sclavunos. Until a couple of weeks ago, I was barely aware of

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Sebastian Ludvigsen S E T    L I S T Wipe It ‘Til It BleedsSelfdestructo BustBack to Dungaree HighTurbonegro Must Be DestroyedSell

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

One of the greatest injustices in music, in my opinion, is the cult of the lead singer. They get all the glory, display the most

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Charles Thompson S E T    L I S T Strawberry SongSkimmingBe Your ManMonday MorningGodDaylightSpringtimeSomedayFreeGraceHappy At the launch party for his new

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Patrick Ford While most New Yorkers were bracing themselves for hurricane Isabel making landfall, 600 or so very curious and fortunate souls packed into

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

“The Clientele—they sound like Belle & Sebastian, right?” The Clientele/Belle & Sebastian comparisons bother me to no end, not only because I think

READ more

30 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Native TongueFeel ItRobot CityAlmost TrueYou Don’t KnowNecessitoWhen I Let My Guard DownHe’s on Drugs

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Tibet House's 30th Anniversary Benefit Concert Celebrated Philip Glass' 80th

// Notes from the Road

"Philip Glass, the artistic director of the Tibet House benefits, celebrated his 80th birthday at this year's annual benefit with performances from Patti Smith, Iggy Pop, Brittany Howard, Sufjan Stevens and more.

READ the article