Reviews > Events

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

After 40 years of rock ‘n roll, some would argue the setup of guitar-bass-drums is old hat. Some have turned to electronic music for fresh ideas,

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Fire Theft Laguardia Tonight’s performance featured two aspiring young bands making their first forays into Canada. The opening act, Laguardia, has recently released

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

I was halfway through a menthol cigarette (blech!) when I heard the electric guitars of Bettie Serveert’s Peter Visser and lead singer Carol van

READ more

When I reviewed Goldfrapp's first U.S. tour two years ago, I fell short of giving them a rave because I felt they needed to loosen up a little.

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

The headline on the flier emphasized Orlando-based progressive house DJ Jimmy Van M’s name. Those going to the weekly “Spundae” at Circus Disco in

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Begin the BeginSo Fast So NumbThe Wake Up BombDriveAnimalSitting StillExhuming McCarthyBad DayThe One I LoveStrange CurrenciesMaps

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Danielle St. Laurent Rainer Maria has been touring for what seems to be close to three years straight, non-stop, traversing the country and

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

One would have to do some serious, pilates-enhanced stretching to make a case for any kind of similarity between Pretty Girls Make Graves and the

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s easy to forget the boundless potential of the pop song until you’ve seen the King of France perform their smartly skewed take

READ more

21 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

You never would have guessed it from the quiet way she took the stage on the first night of a two-night stand in Brooklyn, but

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann do themselves right by renaming themselves and trying something new.

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Speaker-sizzling reverb and straight-faced line dancing were just some of the highly entertaining antics of indie band favorite Yo La Tengo at this year’s

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Ithica 27-9Hunted by a FreakEx-CowboyKilling All the FliesKids Will Be SkeletonsMogwai Fear SatanYou Don’t

READ more

But She Could Play the Yamaha Just Like Ringing a Bell Saturday Looks Good to Me is part of a burgeoning crop of Detroit bands

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Turn Down the Bright Lights Judging by their set at the Palladium tonight, “Turn on the Bright Lights” is not simply the title of Interpol’

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Hella Quasi It seems that any article about rock ‘n roll two-pieces has to name check the White Stripes—and now that I have, I

READ more

14 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Black Rebel Motorcycle ClubPhoto credit: Stephen Stickler Maybe the guitarist. Not the bass player, and certainly not the drummer, but if it came down to

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Vanity SetPhoto credit: Aaron Diskin You may not have heard of James Sclavunos. Until a couple of weeks ago, I was barely aware of

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Sebastian Ludvigsen S E T    L I S T Wipe It ‘Til It BleedsSelfdestructo BustBack to Dungaree HighTurbonegro Must Be DestroyedSell

READ more

7 Oct 2003 // 1:00 AM

One of the greatest injustices in music, in my opinion, is the cult of the lead singer. They get all the glory, display the most

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

Players Lose Control in ‘Tales from the Borderlands’

// Moving Pixels

"This is an interactive story in which players don’t craft the characters, we just control them.

READ the article