Reviews > Events

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Nile Kreator Due to the not-so-regrettable shuttering of the WWE theme restaurant (and its attendant concert venue) in nearby Times Square earlier this year, the

READ more

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

The night of the New York City Junior Senior show finds me suffering from one of those nasty, lingering colds that make my sinuses feel

READ more

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

The S.O.B.‘s crowd had been prepped nicely by Encore and then Little Brother when Hiero finally took the stage. Encore had given

READ more

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Closer Than Close Oakland’s own siren is a petite woman with a huge, enchanting voice that takes ownership of the stage whether she’s

READ more

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

In the winter of 2001, Jay Farrar’s Sebastopol was one of a handful of albums that served as a salve for some psychological blues that

READ more

18 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Brand NewPhoto credit: Jesse Ives We all shuffle and divide musicians into their respective genres and sub-genres. It’s a necessary evil because how else

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

The world of cover bands is indeed a confusing one. Sprouting from the seedling of the first Elvis impersonator, poseurs and wannabes stand side by

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s becoming increasingly obvious to anyone whose brain hasn’t been permanently addled by too much Red Bull and Ecstasy that if dance music

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Jamie Ribisi I consider myself terribly lucky to have seen Josh Rouse perform in support of each of his four full-length albums. From

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Finest WorksongBegin the BeginImitation of LifeDriveAnimalWorld Leader PretendBad DayThe One I LoveThe Great BeyondDon’t Go

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T AirbagSubterranean Homesick AlienThinking About YouSail to the MoonYouEverything In Its Right PlaceKnives OutKarma PoliceLike Spinning PlatesNo

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Ol’ Dirty Bastard ODB Hits Rock Bottom “T-SHIRTS?! Alright, come on man. One step at a time. Do a few shows… start the ball rolling…

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

I could’ve sworn that I had seen Holly Golightly live before. Who could blame me? Anyone who owns one of her records—and the

READ more

11 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

The people were there for the Constantines, and any doubt of this was removed the moment the Arcade Fire began taking apart their instruments, as without hesitation the feet of people seemed to move instinctively a few feet forward, crowding the front of the stage area.

READ more

The Black Crowes may be gone, but the alchemy they created, fusing bawdy '70s-era Southern rock with a shot of 20th century mojo, is alive and kicking.

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

There’s a song nagging at me. And just because I’m walking out the door of a Gillian Welch/David Rawlings concert, don’t

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

In these days when labels are slapped on everything willy-nilly, a band has three choices: go with the flow and fit snugly into an established

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Jason McMaster Machine Gun Fellatio is a name that doesn’t roll off the tongue without a little protest. The band began the

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Conga Room Set ListWindowsLei Lo LaiEn FuegoUniversalCorcavado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)SonhandoEstoyCloudsMusica de AmorPercussion/bass

READ more

4 Nov 2003 // 1:00 AM

After 40 years of rock ‘n roll, some would argue the setup of guitar-bass-drums is old hat. Some have turned to electronic music for fresh ideas,

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Of Pillow Forts and Play: Epic Games' 'Fortnite'

// Moving Pixels

"Everybody loves building a fort.

READ the article