Reviews > Events

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T In the StoneShining StarSun GoddessSing a SongSerpentine FireAfter the Love Has GoneGot to Get You into

READ more

15 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Striking rock-star poses under the red and green lights while screwing his face into an expression of stupefied amazement, Bleu concludes the opening number of

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

With Joe Strummer, Joey Ramone, and Dee Dee Ramone all in a better place, and Johnny Rotten (the name) gone with them, there are few

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

So Matthew Sweet, Pete Droge, and Shawn Mullins have joined forces to create The Thorns, an alleged supergroup that specializes in seeing just how thin

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T So in LoveJackie-ingBallad from ToscaBluesImprovisation 1Improvisation 2Improvisation 3 The highlight of the JVC Jazz Festival’s Paul

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Jonathan Richman is known to be reliably uplifting in concert. That said, the second time I saw Richman perform was both similar and dissimilar to

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Coil Señor Coconut and his Orchestra Richie Hawtin May 28 through June 1 marked the fourth annual Mutek electronic music festival in Montreal. There’s a

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Sunday After YouHell BentFreetimeMan FadingRed ManNew Sacred CowI’m GoneLove Hate Sensation Halfway through Kenna’s

READ more

8 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Off the Deep End It should have been clear from erstwhile Wetlands Preserve owner Peter

READ more

As a veteran of numerous rock and roll memorabilia auctions, I have come to find them to be far more than mere orgies of consumerism.

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T BlueStone ThrownState of ThingsFeeling OblivionSelf-HelpSlackThe DoorPain KillerRain CityFuture BoyMind Over MoneySave Me (The Underdog) EncoreLong DistanceEmergency 72

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Some bands pop hottest in front of a live audience, with the pressure on and the stakes high. Some bands get off in the studio,

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Just six months ago, 24-year-old Brooklyn resident Norah Jones took home eight Grammy Awards. As it happens, what we thought was sweet, aw-shucks humility expressed

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Still Growing Up “Accessible” isn’t a word that’s usually associated with Peter Gabriel. The occasional radio hit like “In Your Eyes” or “Sledgehammer”

READ more

Michael Fracasso Milton MapesPhoto credit: John Anderson One of the greatest assets/curses of living in the Live Music Capital of the World (it’s

READ more

1 Jul 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Heather McDonald S E T    L I S T BoredomFast CarsI Don’t MindLove BatteryAutonomyOh ShitHarmony in My HeadJerkLove You MoreBreakdownSomething’

READ more

Aceyalone Prince Paul Eyedea Aceyalone, Prince Paul and Eyedea each come from different niches in so-called underground hip-hop, but there is one common tie that

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

The RapturePhoto credit: Steve Nebesny Erland Øye Hot Hot Hype We already know who’s the realest (B.I.G., R.I.P.), but who’

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

No Use for a Name Anti-Flag S E T    L I S T No Use for a Name Set ListOn the OutsideYou DayComing

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Sondre Lerche is a tease. He’ll pause dramatically in the midst of a song to give the audience a mischievous wink, inciting us to

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Hitchcock's 'Suspicion', 'I Confess' and 'The Wrong Man' Return in Blu-ray

// Short Ends and Leader

"These three films on DVD from Warner Archives showcase different facets of Alfred Hitchcock's brilliance.

READ the article