Reviews > Events

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s 10 pm on a Monday night, the band is playing, and exhausted parents can’t help but lovingly stuff their kids’ ears with cotton

READ more

Matt Pond PA Bitter Bitter Weeks What is it about Matt Pond PA that so inflames the crabby asses of supercilious rock critics? I’ve

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Godfathers of Soul Jazz meet the Godfather of Soul The Masters of Groove. The Jazz Standard. The Godfather of Soul. Meek names they are

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

According to Mobius Band, the group directly preceding the Hong Kong’s act at the Mercury Lounge tonight, Time Out New York has declared that

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Try to explain Deerhoof to your non-initiated friends, and you’ll find yourself at a loss for words: “It’s this kickass rock band, see,

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

I started hearing the name “Notwist” a few years ago in the same context as bands such as Stereolab and Tortoise. All three bands are

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

“You know what the Mendoza Line means, right?” A friend of mine confronted me with this question when I mentioned I would be reviewing the

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Mary TimonyPhoto credit: Annette Gallo :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article The thinking behind pairing Mary Timony and Erase Errata on

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

By the time Califone came on stage sometime past 11, Brokeback, a Tortoise spin-off, had already played an hour-long set, and I was thoroughly sick of

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

If you slog through the Trail of Dead’s website you will eventually come across a few intriguing (albeit poorly proofread) articles by singer/guitarist/

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Last Wednesday night the Village Underground was compensating for Mayor Bloomberg’s citywide smoking ban by piping a bluish smoke into the roomful of nicotine-deprived

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

I got ahold of M. Ward’s Transfigurations of Vincent a few weeks ago, and loved it immediately. Delicate, John Fahey-inspired guitar playing joined by

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

I have a confession to make: songs by the Sea and Cake blend together for me like James Bond movies. I am as unable to

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

A Weathered True Star Mention the name Todd Rundgren to a member of Generation X, and you are likely to elicit one of two responses—“

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T SkeeterLazy Fo AcreFreeNare SugarFirefliesAirHow Junior Got his Head Put OutDirt Floor CrackaLochloosa10,000 IslandsKilling Mr. WatsonHomeworkManchildWhat You

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

At the three-hour mark, when my feet began to throb, I realized why there wasn’t any opening band for the Disco Biscuits. The audience

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Bloodthirsty Lovers frontman Dave Shouse and I go way back. I first got acquainted with him back in 1994, when I read a review of his

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Blast from the Past . . . Two decades ago a little known metal band emerged from anonymity and shocked the world by demolishing the pop charts with

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

At last, she comes onstage, joining her creatively-coiffed backing band amidst the Black Cat’s crowd cheers. For a diva-in-training, she is surprisingly short. Grabbing

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Just What the “Doctors” Ordered In 2001, Tim McGraw broke from Nashville tradition and recorded an album with his longtime touring band, the Dancehall Doctors. The

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Anderson East Ignites a Fire at Mercury Lounge

// Notes from the Road

"Hot off the release of his album Delilah Anderson East's performance was full of vim and vigor.

READ the article