Reviews > Events

23 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Every aspiring rock star, before he embarks upon his career, should be handed a list of things never to say to an audience. On this

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

  Homecoming 2003 or How I Ended Up Onstage With Iggy and the Stooges In 1967, a young, aspiring bluesman named Jim Osterberg left his hometown of

READ more

The Star SpanglesPhoto credit: Howard Thompson The Smithereens   Something Old, Something New . . . A headlining appearance by the Smithereens would have been appropriate 15 years ago.

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: John Ballon S E T    L I S T Your Mind and We Belong TogetherOrange SkiesMy Little Red BookAlone Again OrA

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Roger Sargent   The Libertines faced a number of obstacles before they even set foot on stage at Irving Plaza. For one, they

READ more

Photo credit: Bill Groll   The Continental Club is an old hangout on the south side of Austin, the part of town where people believe

READ more

9 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Dave Gahan, known the world ‘round as the lead singer of seminal synth-pop band Depeche

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Luisa Cinta As if he weren’t already enough of a cipher, Smog’s Bill Callahan has now started cloaking his stage name

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 6’1”Polyester BrideRock MeDivorce SongHelp Me MaryExtraordinaryFuck and RunFavoriteJohnny FeelgoodWhy Can’t I?Red Light FeverSupernovaFlower So

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Free for AllWango TangoStormtroopin’Snakeskin CowboyWang Dang Sweet PoontangKlstrphnkyRawdogs & WarhogsCraveI Won’t Go AwayHey BabyJust

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

“What is Iceland like?” I asked a sea-faring friend of mine a few hours before I was to see a performance by Múm. “Imagine

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Jason King I have this great housesitting gig in the middle of nowhere. But, unfortunately, the rural isolation inflames my latent misanthropy. Silence

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

Ledward Kaapana Bob Brozman The Birchmere in Alexandria, Virginia, has been the scene of many momentous performances over the years, but few could compare with

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 12:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article It’s a glum little venue, the Fireside Bowl. League nights were traded for rock

READ more

Photo credit: Valeria Zalaquett Strings Attached: De La Guarda 10 Years On The language is not intellectual, it goes straight to the body, to the senses,

READ more

Whitesnake Warrant S E T    L I S T WHITESNAKE SET LISTBad BoysSlow an’ EasyLove Ain’t No StrangerThe Deeper the LoveJudgment DayCryin’

READ more

The TransgressorsPhoto credit: Divya So this was the first time I ever let a band spend the night at my place. Considering how much like

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 12:00 AM

Concert reviewing is not always as glamorous as it sounds. You walk into hole-in-the-wall venues on a Monday night, with one eye open and praying

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T ThaeterThis Is the New ShitDisposable TeensIrresponsible Hate AnthemUse Your Fist and Not Your MouthGreat Big White

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 12:00 AM

Ilya Sometime in the not-too-distant future, there will come a time when you’ll stop in some hip-to-your-tax-bracket hotel bar for an after-work chocolate martini

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Fire Emblem Heroes' Is a Bad Crossover

// Moving Pixels

"Fire Emblem Heroes desperately and shamelessly wants to monetize our love for these characters, yet it has no idea why we came to love them in the first place.

READ the article