Reviews > Events

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 6’1”Polyester BrideRock MeDivorce SongHelp Me MaryExtraordinaryFuck and RunFavoriteJohnny FeelgoodWhy Can’t I?Red Light FeverSupernovaFlower So

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Free for AllWango TangoStormtroopin’Snakeskin CowboyWang Dang Sweet PoontangKlstrphnkyRawdogs & WarhogsCraveI Won’t Go AwayHey BabyJust

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

“What is Iceland like?” I asked a sea-faring friend of mine a few hours before I was to see a performance by Múm. “Imagine

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Jason King I have this great housesitting gig in the middle of nowhere. But, unfortunately, the rural isolation inflames my latent misanthropy. Silence

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

Ledward Kaapana Bob Brozman The Birchmere in Alexandria, Virginia, has been the scene of many momentous performances over the years, but few could compare with

READ more

2 Sep 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article It’s a glum little venue, the Fireside Bowl. League nights were traded for rock

READ more

Photo credit: Valeria Zalaquett Strings Attached: De La Guarda 10 Years On The language is not intellectual, it goes straight to the body, to the senses,

READ more

Whitesnake Warrant S E T    L I S T WHITESNAKE SET LISTBad BoysSlow an’ EasyLove Ain’t No StrangerThe Deeper the LoveJudgment DayCryin’

READ more

The TransgressorsPhoto credit: Divya So this was the first time I ever let a band spend the night at my place. Considering how much like

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Concert reviewing is not always as glamorous as it sounds. You walk into hole-in-the-wall venues on a Monday night, with one eye open and praying

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T ThaeterThis Is the New ShitDisposable TeensIrresponsible Hate AnthemUse Your Fist and Not Your MouthGreat Big White

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Ilya Sometime in the not-too-distant future, there will come a time when you’ll stop in some hip-to-your-tax-bracket hotel bar for an after-work chocolate martini

READ more

26 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Eva Vermandel Northsix is just a cinderblock box with cold metal pillars that reach from floor to ceiling, obstructing the view in what

READ more

Bruce Springsteen is generally held to be a legendary performer; his marathon concerts, which typically last over three hours without intermission, are likened with no

READ more

MotorheadPhoto credit: Ace Trump Dio Iron Maiden Loud. Really fucking loud. For several hours on the night of 30 July, nary a black T-shirt or skull

READ more

19 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Ronettes’ “Be My Baby” is playing as the lights go down and Jesse Malin is ushered onstage. “Make way for the mayor,” bass player

READ more

If there’s one thing that most popular musicians loathe, it’s labels. But it’s convenient to consign an artist to a particular category,

READ more

19 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Most conversations I’ve had about the band Knife Skills inevitably result in someone giving the nod to their perfect name. Even if Knife Skills

READ more

19 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Paula Wilson I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: In the new millennium, nothing is better for rock ‘n’

READ more

19 Aug 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Paula Wilson Most bands just skip Grand Rapids altogether. Yeah, it’s the smack-dab midpoint of the Detroit-Chicago roadie, yeah it’s a

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Boston Underground Film Festival 2017: 'Fraud'

// Short Ends and Leader

"Fraud is not merely an economic crime, it's also the mode of being in the modern age.

READ the article