Reviews > Events

3 Jun 2003 // 12:00 AM

Okay, the show had been billed as doors at 7:00 p.m., show at 8:00. But I was still, well, shocked to see Michelle Shocked herself already

READ more

My Morning JacketPhoto credit: Blender Burning Brides Burning Brides are cool. Just ask lead singer Dimitri Coats—he’ll tell you. “Don’t you think

READ more

Kings of Leon The Coral Mix Lynyrd Skynyrd with a healthy dose of CBGB’s and you’ve got yourself some Kings of Leon. Made

READ more

3 Jun 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Matt Rogers Mercury Lounge’s Funk Rising In some parts of the world, funk has been known to be a cure-all. Combining the

READ more

3 Jun 2003 // 12:00 AM

I Wish They All Could Be California Bands Boyz II Men, ABC, BBD—the East Coast Family. Sure, a tired lyric from a song better

READ more

3 Jun 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Alicia J. Rose By 1:30 a.m. last Friday, the criminally small crowd of about a hundred at Gunther Murphy’s had been treated

READ more

3 Jun 2003 // 12:00 AM

Photo credit: Glynnis McDaris It seems like at every show I go to these days I’m the oldest one there—and I’m 21. Everywhere

READ more

21 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

I sense deviance. The lights shine blue in this boxy venue, sidled to the back of Pianos, a destination bar on Manhattan’s Lower East

READ more

21 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

With most of the acts on the Coachella marquee, you knew what you were going to get. The White Stripes and Blur were going to

READ more

20 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

Watching Ween perform in the parking lot of the Murat Theater in Indianapolis, it was impossible not to notice the innumerable crusty, matted tubes of

READ more

S E T    L I S T Long GoneCaught UpHere It ComesDown on the CornerAll Out AttackYou Are the MagicInbetweensDon’t Think Twice,

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

Cex :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Here in the Pacific Northwest, it’s been raining since November. And the arrival

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

Cex This had to be last show at which you’d expect a drumset. The Postal Service and Cex are two of the many new

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

It’s 10 pm on a Monday night, the band is playing, and exhausted parents can’t help but lovingly stuff their kids’ ears with cotton

READ more

Matt Pond PA Bitter Bitter Weeks What is it about Matt Pond PA that so inflames the crabby asses of supercilious rock critics? I’ve

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

The Godfathers of Soul Jazz meet the Godfather of Soul The Masters of Groove. The Jazz Standard. The Godfather of Soul. Meek names they are

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

According to Mobius Band, the group directly preceding the Hong Kong’s act at the Mercury Lounge tonight, Time Out New York has declared that

READ more

13 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

Try to explain Deerhoof to your non-initiated friends, and you’ll find yourself at a loss for words: “It’s this kickass rock band, see,

READ more

6 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

I started hearing the name “Notwist” a few years ago in the same context as bands such as Stereolab and Tortoise. All three bands are

READ more

6 May 2003 // 12:00 AM

“You know what the Mendoza Line means, right?” A friend of mine confronted me with this question when I mentioned I would be reviewing the

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

In Motion: On the Emptiness of Progress

// Moving Pixels

"Nils Pihl calls it, "Newtonian engagement", that is, when "an engaged player will remain engaged until acted upon by an outside force". That's "progress".

READ the article