Reviews > Events

3 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Alicia J. Rose By 1:30 a.m. last Friday, the criminally small crowd of about a hundred at Gunther Murphy’s had been treated

READ more

3 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Glynnis McDaris It seems like at every show I go to these days I’m the oldest one there—and I’m 21. Everywhere

READ more

21 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

I sense deviance. The lights shine blue in this boxy venue, sidled to the back of Pianos, a destination bar on Manhattan’s Lower East

READ more

21 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

With most of the acts on the Coachella marquee, you knew what you were going to get. The White Stripes and Blur were going to

READ more

20 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Watching Ween perform in the parking lot of the Murat Theater in Indianapolis, it was impossible not to notice the innumerable crusty, matted tubes of

READ more

S E T    L I S T Long GoneCaught UpHere It ComesDown on the CornerAll Out AttackYou Are the MagicInbetweensDon’t Think Twice,

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Cex :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Here in the Pacific Northwest, it’s been raining since November. And the arrival

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Cex This had to be last show at which you’d expect a drumset. The Postal Service and Cex are two of the many new

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

It’s 10 pm on a Monday night, the band is playing, and exhausted parents can’t help but lovingly stuff their kids’ ears with cotton

READ more

Matt Pond PA Bitter Bitter Weeks What is it about Matt Pond PA that so inflames the crabby asses of supercilious rock critics? I’ve

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Godfathers of Soul Jazz meet the Godfather of Soul The Masters of Groove. The Jazz Standard. The Godfather of Soul. Meek names they are

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

According to Mobius Band, the group directly preceding the Hong Kong’s act at the Mercury Lounge tonight, Time Out New York has declared that

READ more

13 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Try to explain Deerhoof to your non-initiated friends, and you’ll find yourself at a loss for words: “It’s this kickass rock band, see,

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

I started hearing the name “Notwist” a few years ago in the same context as bands such as Stereolab and Tortoise. All three bands are

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

“You know what the Mendoza Line means, right?” A friend of mine confronted me with this question when I mentioned I would be reviewing the

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

Mary TimonyPhoto credit: Annette Gallo :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article The thinking behind pairing Mary Timony and Erase Errata on

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

By the time Califone came on stage sometime past 11, Brokeback, a Tortoise spin-off, had already played an hour-long set, and I was thoroughly sick of

READ more

6 May 2003 // 1:00 AM

If you slog through the Trail of Dead’s website you will eventually come across a few intriguing (albeit poorly proofread) articles by singer/guitarist/

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Last Wednesday night the Village Underground was compensating for Mayor Bloomberg’s citywide smoking ban by piping a bluish smoke into the roomful of nicotine-deprived

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

I got ahold of M. Ward’s Transfigurations of Vincent a few weeks ago, and loved it immediately. Delicate, John Fahey-inspired guitar playing joined by

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

Players Lose Control in ‘Tales from the Borderlands’

// Moving Pixels

"This is an interactive story in which players don’t craft the characters, we just control them.

READ the article