Reviews > Events

Aceyalone Prince Paul Eyedea Aceyalone, Prince Paul and Eyedea each come from different niches in so-called underground hip-hop, but there is one common tie that

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

The RapturePhoto credit: Steve Nebesny Erland Øye Hot Hot Hype We already know who’s the realest (B.I.G., R.I.P.), but who’

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

No Use for a Name Anti-Flag S E T    L I S T No Use for a Name Set ListOn the OutsideYou DayComing

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Sondre Lerche is a tease. He’ll pause dramatically in the midst of a song to give the audience a mischievous wink, inciting us to

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

A mere novice, I’ve only seen the Fleshtones three times, but I’m fairly confident that they never disappoint. Take, for instance, my first

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Chris Higdon, the front man for Elliott, and Benny Clark, the lead guitarist, tell me that they are never quite sure what will happen when

READ more

24 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Evan Dando Cobra Verde The “Evan Dando is Alive And Presumably Well” revival show came to town last week, and what a fine time it

READ more

Marc BroussardPhoto credit: Jeremy Schultz Two weeks ago, the niece of a friend was killed, and my friend is working through how to respond. No

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Fantastic Damage Self-consciously peeling off the Rolling Rock label, I thought about what a friend

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

The songs are stuck in my head, I can understand the fascination with the White Stripes. But I can't get a sense of who Jack and Meg White are in the midst of all this drama, I'm dizzied by the spectacle.

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Deb Kehs Do you believe in Satan? Eddie Spaghetti (né Daly) of the Supersuckers would have you believe that he’s devil-spawned

READ more

Lyrics Born Zion I Not since Harriet Tubman shepherded slaves to freedom way back in the 1800s has the word “underground” had any currency in

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

:. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article Patty Griffin’s music is a bit like sadomasochism. I seriously doubt this is what

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Funny thing: rock stars can perform stoned, high, coked up, or tripping and they’re fine. But after one bad piece of halibut, everything goes

READ more

18 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Wooden flooring. Giant, pink globes of light. Hip twentysomethings lounging around on the floor in languid poses. Not exactly the kind of scene one might

READ more

10 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

If I were in a band, my only goal would be to tour Japan. Japanese music fans are insane. Despite being faced with astronomically high

READ more

TomahawkPhoto credit: Dustin Rabin The Melvins Dalek 8:11 PM: My companion and I arrive at the Vogue in Indianapolis. We each get a Rolling Rock and

READ more

The Stratford 4Photo credit: Mariah Robinson Pedro the LionPhoto credit: Tim Owen Starflyer 59 Ester Drang :. e-mail this article:. print this article:. comment on this article

READ more

10 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

Prefuse 73 Four Tet Part of the fun of being a member of an audience is that you get the opportunity to become an integral element

READ more

10 Jun 2003 // 1:00 AM

By now, all of the Pavement and Malkmus message boards across the Internet are abuzz about the Jicks show in Milwaukee that took place exactly

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

NYFF 2017: 'Mudbound'

// Notes from the Road

"Dee Rees’ churning and melodramatic epic follows two families in 1940s Mississippi, one black and one white, and the wars they fight abroad and at home.

READ the article