Reviews > Events

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

I have a confession to make: songs by the Sea and Cake blend together for me like James Bond movies. I am as unable to

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

A Weathered True Star Mention the name Todd Rundgren to a member of Generation X, and you are likely to elicit one of two responses—“

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T SkeeterLazy Fo AcreFreeNare SugarFirefliesAirHow Junior Got his Head Put OutDirt Floor CrackaLochloosa10,000 IslandsKilling Mr. WatsonHomeworkManchildWhat You

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

At the three-hour mark, when my feet began to throb, I realized why there wasn’t any opening band for the Disco Biscuits. The audience

READ more

29 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Bloodthirsty Lovers frontman Dave Shouse and I go way back. I first got acquainted with him back in 1994, when I read a review of his

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Blast from the Past . . . Two decades ago a little known metal band emerged from anonymity and shocked the world by demolishing the pop charts with

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

At last, she comes onstage, joining her creatively-coiffed backing band amidst the Black Cat’s crowd cheers. For a diva-in-training, she is surprisingly short. Grabbing

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Just What the “Doctors” Ordered In 2001, Tim McGraw broke from Nashville tradition and recorded an album with his longtime touring band, the Dancehall Doctors. The

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Horror ShowArbeit Macht FreiVertigoWhat a WasterThe DelaneyDeath on the StairsThe NarcissistDon’t Look BackBoys in the

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Bowery Ballroom was packed to bursting point last Friday at 11 when Warren Ellis walked on stage, a violin case in one hand, a banana

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

The Underground Might Be Overcrowded, But Eric Bachmann Is Poised to Lift Himself Out of the Indie Rock Gutter With Beautiful Tales About Ugly People

READ more

23 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Photo Credit: Cori Taratoot If you’ve ever stared at a blank page, waiting for inspiration, Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes might just piss you

READ more

16 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Having run afoul of the weather for some time, I was overdue for the high-octane Rock Show this past week. Those of you resident in the metropolises and hep college towns invariably have one friend who's a rock critic and know that this creature is perpetually broke (without insurance). Thus the healing balm of a shrieking wall of guitars is just about this poor soul's -- meaning I -- last and best hope for remedy.

READ more

16 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Sea HeroDarleneIndian SummerSanta FeLittle DreamerBe My FriendBright EyesPoconosDesert QueenCarolina JasmineGemini on the WayThink It Through Lads

READ more

16 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

With the conflict in Iraq dominating every media outlet, it feels like there is no escape from the unjust atrocities that are being perpetrated on

READ more

16 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T This Is Not My TownOne More Song The Radio Won’t LikeLone WolfWestbyHockey SkatesSummer LoveMariaNational SteelHockey

READ more

The Datsuns The Sights In a Battle Royale of up and coming “The” bands (the et cetera for the Hives and the Strokes), the (much-hyped)

READ more

16 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

The reality check is in the mail!” wailed Stephen Brodsky, the lead guitarist and vocalist of Cave In, as a relatively small but dedicated crowd

READ more

9 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

's acoustic performance at the NorVa on March 28th, singer/guitarist Emerson Hart commented to the audience, perhaps unnecessarily, 'This is kind of a different show.'

READ more

9 Apr 2003 // 1:00 AM

Going to see any band 25 years past their heyday seems a dangerous proposition. After so long a break one might question their motives, wondering if

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

Players Lose Control in ‘Tales from the Borderlands’

// Moving Pixels

"This is an interactive story in which players don’t craft the characters, we just control them.

READ the article