Reviews > Events

5 Mar 2003 // 12:00 AM

Just one day after I saw the Ladytron concert, I experienced its antithesis. A jaunt upstate to visit a friend found me sitting in a

READ more

5 Mar 2003 // 12:00 AM

It was an indie rock fan’s wet dream come to life. A true clash of the titans as cult heroes Daniel Johnston and Calvin

READ more

The use of the term “pop” to refer to carefully constructed, harmony-laden guitar rock in the mode of Cheap Trick has always seemed strange to

READ more

5 Mar 2003 // 12:00 AM

Devendra Banhart Entrance Do you remember the first time you heard the blues? Was it a life-changing experience? I remember the first time I heard

READ more

26 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

Come Into My House House concerts are apparently a bona fide phenomenon. Everyone from National Public Radio to the New York Times has yammered on

READ more

26 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

Criticizing David Gray is easy. It’s simple to make the argument that his songs are ubiquitous. Or that he doesn’t look like a

READ more

Flin Flon Plus/Minus It was no surprise that the music of the ‘80s would come back. The only question was what form the return

READ more

26 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

Dismemberment Plan Les Savy Fav S E T    L I S T The Face of the EarthTime BombBraSecret CurseThe CityGirl O’ClockCome HomeChange

READ more

26 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

Sam Coomes is a man possessed. He’s a sorcerer, a conduit for ancient haunted spirits. He’s chased by the same devil that hunted

READ more

12 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

After the split of John Squire’s post-Stone-Roses band, The Seahorses, he has been buried away in his country house in the North of England

READ more

12 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

Sleater-KinneyPhoto Credit: Cori Taratoot QuasiPhoto Credit: Cori Taratoot In the top left-hand corner of the United States, Sleater-Kinney is roots music. And tonight in Portland

READ more

12 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

After a salsa DJ set, three piece Parts and Labor began with a soft intro which quite expectedly launched into a noisy barrage of a

READ more

12 Feb 2003 // 12:00 AM

My City is lost, burnt to ash and I, now, a wandering, faceless ghost within the cold confines of its canyons. After the 1990s, the

READ more

29 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

The family that plays together stays together. Those that caught Seattle-to-New York rock family émigrés the Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players during their

READ more

29 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

My brother and I walk into a sea of Wisconsin blues fanatics. These people are hardcore, dude: everyone, from the grey-ponytailed men and women whirling

READ more

29 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

I’m supposed to tell you about Hot Hot Heat. I’m supposed to drop smug, all-knowing categorizations. Like “prog-rock.” Or “mod-rock.” Or “retro-punk.” Or “

READ more

29 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

Barreling through like hillbilly rebels being chased by a fleet of flag-stamped SUVs, Steve Earle and company supplied rocking ruminations on peace, love and understanding

READ more

8 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

Glenn Tilbrook practically skipped onto the tiny red-curtained Viper Room stage in Los Angeles, California. Dressed in a simple red and white T-shirt and jeans

READ more

8 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T The Last DJLove Is a Long RoadHave Love Will TravelFree Fallin’When a Kid Goes BadShadow

READ more

8 Jan 2003 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T My Little Red BookOrange SkiesYour Mind and We Belong Together7 and 7 IsSigned D.C.Everybody’s

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Cube Escape' Is Free, Frustrating, and Weirdly Compelling

// Moving Pixels

"The Cube Escape games are awful puzzle games, but they're an addicting descent into madness.

READ the article