Reviews > Events

The Flying Luttenbachers Rah Bras “More Than Music 10 casts the net wider to reach out across different genres and scenes in order to forge links

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

ETTA JAMES14 July 2002: BB King’s Blues Club & Grille — New York by Kandia Crazy Horse Joi Res Flight to Amazonia (Slight Return) Saturday in

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

The Dirtbombs The Detroit Cobras Co-headlining a two-night stand at the Bowery Ballroom in Manhattan, the Detroit Cobras and the Dirtbombs are part of the

READ more

Dave AlvinPhoto credit: Stephen Smith Only in Madison would you find a dive bar with a grilled portabella sandwich on the menu. This is what

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Fuckin’ in the BushesHelloThe Hindu TimesHung in a Bad PlaceGo Let It OutColumbiaMorning GloryStop Crying Your

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T [2 July 2002][Ah, The Rocky Theme . . .]Friday Night GodsFloat AwayThe CatfishermanLeavingSoulPoint BreezeDreamingCrying on an AirplanePeople of the

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

It’s been over a year since the official release of Lift to Experience’s debut album, but most people hardly know they exist. I,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

Elf Power “Standard Elephant 6 fare” is how I heard one person describe the line-up of last Monday’s show at the Middle East in Cambridge,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

In my review of Jucifer’s recent New York appearance, I remarked that I had found the band’s recorded work underwhelming, but their concert

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T MisunderstoodGoodAllison FoleyRollingLive AgainExtra OrdinaryKing of New OrleansRosealiaAt the Stars/On FireWaxing or WaningThis Time of YearLifetimeDesperately

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

Bewitched It’s been a curious evolution for Mary Timony. After fronting Helium in the mid-‘90s, she walked away from a career being labeled

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Silver CarSafe in the Arms of LoveI Got a WomanUntangle My MindLast of the Old Time

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

The Naysayer Ah, New York. The grit, the glam, the guitars. Rawk is as alive as ever, and our proud metropolis is once again a

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

I wasn’t thoroughly bowled over by Jucifer’s new CD, I Name You Destroyer, and when I went to cover the Georgia band’s

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

When asked about the innovative collaboration between Ornette Coleman and Don Cherry, John Lewis, the Modern Jazz Quartet pianist, reputedly responded, “I don’t know

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 45Waiting For the End of the WorldWatching the DetectivesSpooky Girlfriend(I Don’t Want to Go

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

What a flashback. By the middle of the first song of this show, I realized that I had occupied the same seat in the same

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Smiling faces in Detroit? People everywhere? Parents and kids walking downtown at night? What . . . ? A thought occurs to me that perhaps I am still home

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Summer was the perfect season for a seductive evening with Joi and Raphael Saadiq at Bimbo’s—they were an electric musical duo, mostly because

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

The most recent publicity photo of two-time Tony Award winner Bernadette Peters shows her sporting a tattoo of a heart with the initials reading: BP+

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

St. Vincent, Beck, and More Heat Up Boston Calling on Memorial Day Weekend

// Notes from the Road

"With vibrant performances by artists including St. Vincent and TV on the Radio, the first half of the bi-annual Boston Calling Festival brought additional excitement to Memorial Day weekend.

READ the article