Reviews > Events

31 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

TEXTPhoto credit: CREDIT S E T    L I S T SET ONE Send Your MindSpace WranglerHenry Parsons Died*Use Me*Bayou Lena*C.

READ more

Ben Kweller My Morning Jacket Anytime I see a show in the unforgiving pierce of daylight, I feel an underlying sense of judgment at being

READ more

We came for the Indigo Girls, and we were not alone. Although some decided to beat the traffic by leaving early, it was obvious that a great deal of the crowd were aware of the great shows that the Indigos put on, and planned on sticking it out until the bitter end.

READ more

31 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Fire Show stopped in Los Angeles this past Thursday night for one of the final dates on their farewell tour. One of the band’

READ more

31 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Ralph Stanley Emmylou Harris Patty Loveless Sometimes a concert can get downright surreal. That was the case when Down from the Mountain—a celebration of

READ more

31 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Black MassSatan’s ChildI LuciferiTwist of CainHalo Goddess BoneHer Black WingsKiss the SkullUnspeakableLilinSnakes of ChristDead InsideWicked

READ more

31 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Cousteau is something of a secret, so it’s fitting that they are playing a little, hidden club like The Hideout. The only other sign

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Tool Tomahawk The first time I saw Mike Patton live, eleven years ago with Faith No More, he flopped around like a fish onstage, wiggling

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

“We’re a bunch of old farts from North Carolina.” That’s how veteran indie rockers Superchunk described themselves to an audience comprised mainly of

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Poison S E T    L I S T PoisonLook What the Cat Dragged InRide the WindSqueeze BoxI Want Action(guitar solo)Emperor’s

READ more

The Flying Luttenbachers Rah Bras “More Than Music 10 casts the net wider to reach out across different genres and scenes in order to forge links

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

ETTA JAMES14 July 2002: BB King’s Blues Club & Grille — New York by Kandia Crazy Horse Joi Res Flight to Amazonia (Slight Return) Saturday in

READ more

24 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Dirtbombs The Detroit Cobras Co-headlining a two-night stand at the Bowery Ballroom in Manhattan, the Detroit Cobras and the Dirtbombs are part of the

READ more

Dave AlvinPhoto credit: Stephen Smith Only in Madison would you find a dive bar with a grilled portabella sandwich on the menu. This is what

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Fuckin’ in the BushesHelloThe Hindu TimesHung in a Bad PlaceGo Let It OutColumbiaMorning GloryStop Crying Your

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T [2 July 2002][Ah, The Rocky Theme . . .]Friday Night GodsFloat AwayThe CatfishermanLeavingSoulPoint BreezeDreamingCrying on an AirplanePeople of the

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

It’s been over a year since the official release of Lift to Experience’s debut album, but most people hardly know they exist. I,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Elf Power “Standard Elephant 6 fare” is how I heard one person describe the line-up of last Monday’s show at the Middle East in Cambridge,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

In my review of Jucifer’s recent New York appearance, I remarked that I had found the band’s recorded work underwhelming, but their concert

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T MisunderstoodGoodAllison FoleyRollingLive AgainExtra OrdinaryKing of New OrleansRosealiaAt the Stars/On FireWaxing or WaningThis Time of YearLifetimeDesperately

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'True Detective': Maybe Tomorrow

// Channel Surfing

"True Detective, Season 2, Episode 3: Where does the kitsch end and the surreal begin?

READ the article