Reviews > Events

4 Dec 2002 // 1:00 AM

Rhett Miller thedamnwells You almost have to wonder if it’s a fake name. Rhett Miller. Sounds like a man who is a bit older

READ more

4 Dec 2002 // 1:00 AM

Growing Pains John Mayer represents the best of the new mainstream pop movement. Whereas mainstream pop of recent years has been about young, beautiful puppets

READ more

4 Dec 2002 // 1:00 AM

Expect the worst, pray for something decent. That was my mindset going into the Chicago Guns N’ Roses gig this past Monday night, the seventh

READ more

S E T    L I S T FavoriteOutro With Bees[untitled new song]Twist the KnifeStinging VelvetPretty GirlsBuckets of RainGhost WiringDeep Red BellsSet

READ more

4 Dec 2002 // 1:00 AM

“If you’re gonna ruin my show, get the fuck out.” Dan Bern stopped midway through his first song, “Hey God”, to direct an astonishingly

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

I’ll be honest. I don’t know shit about pop music. Actually, I know as much as anyone who spent his/her formative years

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Broken Imaginary TimeInfra RiotMind the GapStill AgingThe FloodTonightInstant Repeater ‘99NevermoreSister Surround21st Century Ripoff ENCOREVeinsGalaxyDow Jones

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Perhaps I should have realized something when my flat was robbed a few years ago and the only CD left behind was Pink’s Can’

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Sometimes it’s difficult to capture the power of performance through writing. There’s something inherently silly about using words to illustrate the way a

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

There are so many things that I can’t believe about tonight. I can’t believe that, having passed the quarter century mark only a

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Smack dab in the middle of what appears to be a Swedish invasion, Gothenburg’s Division of Laura Lee insist that no, they are not

READ more

28 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

There are certain things you come to expect at a rock and roll concert. Chances are, the band is going to mention that your hometown

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Three years ago at the inaugural Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival in Indio, California, fans who gathered around the second stage each night got

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Sexy Bastards Tindersticks came over from England to play three back-to-back shows here in NYC, their first and only U.S. appearances this year. These

READ more

Low

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Whenever the conversation shifts to a discussion of Low—which doesn’t happen that often, but anyway—my big-brotherly instincts always kick in. Most criticisms

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Ledward Kaapana Owana Salazar It’s not everyday you get the chance to see a princess perform. That’s partly because of the lack of

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Foo Fighters Red Hot Chili Peppers There are few concerts where the “show” around you is almost as interesting and entertaining as the show onstage.

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

I didn’t catch much television this summer, but I caught about ten minutes on two separate occasions of Fox’s Gong Show-esque 30 Seconds to

READ more

6 Nov 2002 // 1:00 AM

Ryan Adams Tegan and Sara Ryan Adams has been loud and grumpy in recent days, so on this last night of his solo acoustic tour

READ more

30 Oct 2002 // 1:00 AM

America’s two most-slobbered-over-by-the-British-music-press rock locales met once again last Thursday when New York garage rockers the Yeahs Yeah Yeahs made their first appearance in

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Red Baraat Blows Hartford Hall Down Celebrating the Festival of Colors (Photos)

// Notes from the Road

"Red Baraat's annual Festival of Colors show rocked a snow laden Hartford on a Saturday evening.

READ the article