Reviews > Events

5 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Inside that tiny red dress is a tinier woman, and she’s standing before the tiniest crowd I’ve ever seen at the Bowery Ballroom.

READ more

5 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Pretty Girls Make Graves didn’t come on ‘til midnight. My friend Aliza and I snarked our way through a slew of not-terrible indie bands

READ more

5 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

David Bazan, the man who puts the Pedro in Pedro the Lion, stood on the edge of the stage for the entirety of the hour-long

READ more

5 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Once the sole domain of rabidly devoted fans, funk-fusion was at one time regarded as the bastard stepchild of the jazz genre, eschewed by most

READ more

5 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Familiar Aliens: Ladytron “Team” DJ set Terms like “nu-wave”, “Electroclash”, and “tech-pop”, have recently been thrown around a lot by the media, record labels, promoters,

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Jennifer Falling DownAll These YearsHaven’t Got a ThingThis Town is WrongStuffed Animal songs: Blue Washcloth

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The HivesPhoto credit: Kristian Anttila The Soundtrack of Our Lives There are two things you should know before reading this review. One, when Poptones released

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Yael Staav Hayden Desser (more commonly known by his first name only) has had an interesting career trajectory. He spent much of the

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 1. Whistle of a Distant Train2. She Fell Into My Arms3. Hanging With the Wrong Crowd4. He’

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

To the best of my knowledge, Manhattan’s nightspot Spa is quite possibly the trendiest club in New York City. On a typical night, the

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

is more palpably the heir of some less-celebrated masters: Richie Havens, Dobie Gray, Ronnie Dyson, Carl Anderson.

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The WeakerthansPhoto credit: Kelly Miller There are bands that I like. There are bands that I really like. Then there are bands that just plain

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Doc WatsonPhoto credit: Scott Waldman Gillian WelchPhoto credit: Scott Waldman David “Honeyboy” EdwardsPhoto credit: Scott Waldman Tim O’BrienPhoto credit: Scott Waldman MERLEFEST: AN INTRODUCTION

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Timo Maas is one of those rare DJs with a style so distinctive he’s virtually a genre unto himself. Freely shifting from techno to

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian S E T    L I S T Fuck This ShitThere’s Too Much LoveWomen’s RealmI’m Waking Up To

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian Upon arrival in my seat in Upper Darby, PA’s old, pretty Tower Theater, two things are clear: 1) Belle & Sebastian are

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Some Thoughts on Happiness The Cullen Theater’s stage looked rather bare on Saturday evening: a few pedals, a keyboard, two speakers, an amplifier, a

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The last two times Super Furry Animals played Philadelphia, the band was confined to tiny 21+ venues, despite cult status and chart success overseas. This time

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

When I found out that Motorhead were playing a show at the World, the WWF’s Times Square entertainment complex, I was delighted. Wrestling and

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T County FairDownloading Porn with DavoAnyone Else but YouThese BurgersI ForgotLazy ConfessionsSteak for ChickenGreyhound BusLucky Number NineNothing

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Ubisoft Understands the Art of the Climb

// Moving Pixels

"Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed and Grow Home epitomize the art of the climb.

READ the article