Reviews > Events

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian S E T    L I S T Fuck This ShitThere’s Too Much LoveWomen’s RealmI’m Waking Up To

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian Upon arrival in my seat in Upper Darby, PA’s old, pretty Tower Theater, two things are clear: 1) Belle & Sebastian are

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Some Thoughts on Happiness The Cullen Theater’s stage looked rather bare on Saturday evening: a few pedals, a keyboard, two speakers, an amplifier, a

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The last two times Super Furry Animals played Philadelphia, the band was confined to tiny 21+ venues, despite cult status and chart success overseas. This time

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

When I found out that Motorhead were playing a show at the World, the WWF’s Times Square entertainment complex, I was delighted. Wrestling and

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T County FairDownloading Porn with DavoAnyone Else but YouThese BurgersI ForgotLazy ConfessionsSteak for ChickenGreyhound BusLucky Number NineNothing

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Siouxsie and the BansheesPhoto credit: Jennifer Bendery The Charlatans UKPhoto credit: Jennifer Bendery The spiritual rush of being a desert wanderer in a labyrinth of

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Recher Theater was packed like a can of volatile trick snakes, tech vests rubbing against flannel and denim in a precarious, palpable friction. Makes

READ more

Spiritualized Black Rebel Motorcycle Club The Drunk and the Junkie: A Concert Review in Two Parts I. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club had their work cut

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Uptown Friday Night From the beginning, the expedition to Harlem to catch Soulive was all about a clash of cultures. It was not just the

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T After Your PartySwoonMoonbeam MonkeyThe StormLandspeed SongThe Night You Saved My LifeSlow DogAnother MomentDarksideWrap Around SkirtBreathe Around

READ more

Once in a Blue Moon A full moon on a Friday night in springtime is a convergence of more than enough elements to get the

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

How much farther could you possibly get from the lazy, sun-drenched California of Beulah than New York’s gritty, gray, and grimy Bowery? Though not

READ more

Weezer Weezer Pete Yorn S E T    L I S T Dope NosePhotographMy Name is JonasThe Good LifeSuperstarIsland in the SunSurf Wax AmericaTired

READ more

1 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

TimPhoto credit: Kelly Miller SethPhoto credit: Kelly Miller If you’ve never seen Les Savy Fav before, your first reaction upon seeing the band take

READ more

1 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Driving with BertSleeping on RoadsWho Do You LoveMartha’s Mantra (For the Pain)When You’re

READ more

1 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Push ItTemptation WaitsAndrogynyI Think I’m ParanoidSpecialDrive You HomeBreaking Up the GirlNot My IdeaWhen I Grow

READ more

1 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Baby Let Me Follow You DownSteve’s Last RambleTom Ames’ PrayerTaneytownNow She’s GoneGoodbyeSouth Nashville BluesCCKMPSo

READ more

1 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T First Set Carry On/QuestionsMilitary MadnessGoin’ HomeWooden ShipsFeed the PeopleYou’re My GirlI Used to Be

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 1:00 AM

Even as I sit here with my headphones on listening to Zero 7, the band that played to a packed, enthusiastic Irving Plaza crowd last Friday,

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article