Reviews > Events

8 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

How much farther could you possibly get from the lazy, sun-drenched California of Beulah than New York’s gritty, gray, and grimy Bowery? Though not

READ more

Weezer Weezer Pete Yorn S E T    L I S T Dope NosePhotographMy Name is JonasThe Good LifeSuperstarIsland in the SunSurf Wax AmericaTired

READ more

1 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

TimPhoto credit: Kelly Miller SethPhoto credit: Kelly Miller If you’ve never seen Les Savy Fav before, your first reaction upon seeing the band take

READ more

1 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Driving with BertSleeping on RoadsWho Do You LoveMartha’s Mantra (For the Pain)When You’re

READ more

1 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Push ItTemptation WaitsAndrogynyI Think I’m ParanoidSpecialDrive You HomeBreaking Up the GirlNot My IdeaWhen I Grow

READ more

1 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Baby Let Me Follow You DownSteve’s Last RambleTom Ames’ PrayerTaneytownNow She’s GoneGoodbyeSouth Nashville BluesCCKMPSo

READ more

1 May 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T First Set Carry On/QuestionsMilitary MadnessGoin’ HomeWooden ShipsFeed the PeopleYou’re My GirlI Used to Be

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Even as I sit here with my headphones on listening to Zero 7, the band that played to a packed, enthusiastic Irving Plaza crowd last Friday,

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Photo Credit: David Israel He Sings, He Plays Guitar, He Operates the Tilt-A-Whirl, and He Will Even Guess Your Weight Bob Mould first stunned fans

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Exhaustion. Dehydration. Phantom hangovers—you’ve hardly had anything to drink, but the suggestion that the next day should bring illness actually brings on headache

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Lead singer Keeley Davis has decided that this would be a good time to lighten things up a bit. “Hey,” he says, tapping the microphone

READ more

24 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Audiotistic isn't/wasn't meant to be purely hip-hop, though. Billed as the Future Sound Festival in Southern Cali, it's typically been a cutting edge sort of venue with electronica and house at the center of its agenda.

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

For start, this gig was meant to be at the cozy sweatbox of the Camden Monarch nearly a month ago. People who had heard the

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

What happened to swagger? Though I’ve grown to expect more complexity and emotional honesty out of rock stars, rock ‘n’ roll is one more

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

I had a dream about St. Ann’s Warehouse—it picks up just at the end of the April 6 Joe Strummer gig (the final night

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Crow HollerCircle SongWhere Did My Legs Go?Ode to Billy JoeLookout Mountain GalPlowmanElvis Sings to JesusConjuremanLos

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

Reclusive Eels Frontman Finally Leaves House, Brings Guitars With Him It’s doubtful that Mark Everett had any idea what the song “Fittin’ in with

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

In 39 minutes, the world is going to end. We are all waiting for that end to begin. There’s a sickness in the air, like

READ more

17 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

The guy in the yellow shirt (“Reconstruction Continues . . .,” his shoulder blades informed) didn’t seem to notice how close the crowd was packed, how smoky

READ more

10 Apr 2002 // 12:00 AM

The White Stripes are the real deal. No bass guitar, no samples, no click tracks, no "exploratory jams" -- just monster tunes, earth-shaking guitar, a telepathically intuitive drummer, and a vocal delivery that can evoke Iggy Pop as easily as Gene Vincent.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

We are continuing to experience some technical difficulties. We hope to have them resolved by Monday

// Announcements

"Exciting developments are around the corner for PopMatters.

READ the article