Call for Feature Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Reviews > Events

Thursday, September 27 2001

Godspeed You Black Emperor!

M00o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Wednesday, September 26 2001

Keb’ Mo’

M10o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Monday, September 24 2001

The Waterboys

M20o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Monday, September 3 2001

PJ Harvey

M30o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Thursday, August 16 2001

Radiohead: 17 August 2001 - New Jersey

The real change in Radiohead, however, is in their demeanor. They no longer exude the air of whiny, depressed, petulant art-rockers.


Saturday, August 11 2001

Squarepusher / Plaid / Mira Calix

M50o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Monday, July 2 2001

Gary Allan

is one of the more compelling performers in contemporary country, a musical landscape cluttered with well dressed divas (and sometimes their husbands), Hat Acts, and an unsettling new interest in 'boy bands'.


Saturday, June 30 2001

G. Love & Special Sauce

G. Love threatened to take James Brown's title for Hardest Working Man in Show Business away from him recently -- at least for the night he was playing Park City.


Friday, June 29 2001

Radiohead

. They eschew attention, yet they're media darlings. Reactions to their recent recordings are anything but lukewarm, yet they refuse to explain themselves. They transform studio-centric creations into live songs that are both towering and incandescent, yet they tour infrequently.


Tuesday, June 26 2001

The New Pornographers

the dubious distinction of 'supergroup'. Yet they're all still anonymous enough that you don't get the pretension that is usually attached to anything 'super'.


Sunday, June 24 2001

The Cult / Stabbing Westward / Monster Magnet

M100o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Thursday, June 21 2001

George Carlin

M110o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Wednesday, June 20 2001

Brave Combo

M120o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Thursday, June 14 2001

Built To Spill

M130o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Wednesday, June 13 2001

U2

successfully wooed a near sellout crowd for it's first D.C. show on this tour. The crowd loved the band; the band loved the crowd. We all loved one another.


Monday, May 28 2001

Mary Chapin Carpenter / Shawn Colvin

29 May 2001: Manchester Apollo - Manchester, England.


Wednesday, May 23 2001

Frank Black and the Catholics

24 May 2001: Troubadour - Los Angeles.


The Bevis Frond

24 May 2001: The Mercury Lounge - New York.


Tuesday, May 22 2001

Cousteau

23 May 2001: Village Underground - New York.


Tuesday, May 1 2001

Sigur Rós: 2 May 2001 - San Francisco

Icelandic musical phenomena Sigur Rós are the epitome of youth and isolation.


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.