Reviews > Events

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The HivesPhoto credit: Kristian Anttila The Soundtrack of Our Lives There are two things you should know before reading this review. One, when Poptones released

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Photo credit: Yael Staav Hayden Desser (more commonly known by his first name only) has had an interesting career trajectory. He spent much of the

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 1. Whistle of a Distant Train2. She Fell Into My Arms3. Hanging With the Wrong Crowd4. He’

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

To the best of my knowledge, Manhattan’s nightspot Spa is quite possibly the trendiest club in New York City. On a typical night, the

READ more

29 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

is more palpably the heir of some less-celebrated masters: Richie Havens, Dobie Gray, Ronnie Dyson, Carl Anderson.

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The WeakerthansPhoto credit: Kelly Miller There are bands that I like. There are bands that I really like. Then there are bands that just plain

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Doc WatsonPhoto credit: Scott Waldman Gillian WelchPhoto credit: Scott Waldman David “Honeyboy” EdwardsPhoto credit: Scott Waldman Tim O’BrienPhoto credit: Scott Waldman MERLEFEST: AN INTRODUCTION

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Timo Maas is one of those rare DJs with a style so distinctive he’s virtually a genre unto himself. Freely shifting from techno to

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian S E T    L I S T Fuck This ShitThere’s Too Much LoveWomen’s RealmI’m Waking Up To

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Belle & Sebastian Upon arrival in my seat in Upper Darby, PA’s old, pretty Tower Theater, two things are clear: 1) Belle & Sebastian are

READ more

22 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Some Thoughts on Happiness The Cullen Theater’s stage looked rather bare on Saturday evening: a few pedals, a keyboard, two speakers, an amplifier, a

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The last two times Super Furry Animals played Philadelphia, the band was confined to tiny 21+ venues, despite cult status and chart success overseas. This time

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

When I found out that Motorhead were playing a show at the World, the WWF’s Times Square entertainment complex, I was delighted. Wrestling and

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T County FairDownloading Porn with DavoAnyone Else but YouThese BurgersI ForgotLazy ConfessionsSteak for ChickenGreyhound BusLucky Number NineNothing

READ more

15 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Siouxsie and the BansheesPhoto credit: Jennifer Bendery The Charlatans UKPhoto credit: Jennifer Bendery The spiritual rush of being a desert wanderer in a labyrinth of

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Recher Theater was packed like a can of volatile trick snakes, tech vests rubbing against flannel and denim in a precarious, palpable friction. Makes

READ more

Spiritualized Black Rebel Motorcycle Club The Drunk and the Junkie: A Concert Review in Two Parts I. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club had their work cut

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

Uptown Friday Night From the beginning, the expedition to Harlem to catch Soulive was all about a clash of cultures. It was not just the

READ more

8 May 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T After Your PartySwoonMoonbeam MonkeyThe StormLandspeed SongThe Night You Saved My LifeSlow DogAnother MomentDarksideWrap Around SkirtBreathe Around

READ more

Once in a Blue Moon A full moon on a Friday night in springtime is a convergence of more than enough elements to get the

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

After Images: Poland's 41st Gdynia Film Festival

// Short Ends and Leader

"From painters to interrogators, some of the finest films at Gdynia Film Festival 2016 dramatized real-life figures from the country’s past.

READ the article