Reviews > Events

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

It’s been over a year since the official release of Lift to Experience’s debut album, but most people hardly know they exist. I,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

Elf Power “Standard Elephant 6 fare” is how I heard one person describe the line-up of last Monday’s show at the Middle East in Cambridge,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

In my review of Jucifer’s recent New York appearance, I remarked that I had found the band’s recorded work underwhelming, but their concert

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T MisunderstoodGoodAllison FoleyRollingLive AgainExtra OrdinaryKing of New OrleansRosealiaAt the Stars/On FireWaxing or WaningThis Time of YearLifetimeDesperately

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

Bewitched It’s been a curious evolution for Mary Timony. After fronting Helium in the mid-‘90s, she walked away from a career being labeled

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Silver CarSafe in the Arms of LoveI Got a WomanUntangle My MindLast of the Old Time

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

The Naysayer Ah, New York. The grit, the glam, the guitars. Rawk is as alive as ever, and our proud metropolis is once again a

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

I wasn’t thoroughly bowled over by Jucifer’s new CD, I Name You Destroyer, and when I went to cover the Georgia band’s

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

When asked about the innovative collaboration between Ornette Coleman and Don Cherry, John Lewis, the Modern Jazz Quartet pianist, reputedly responded, “I don’t know

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 45Waiting For the End of the WorldWatching the DetectivesSpooky Girlfriend(I Don’t Want to Go

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 12:00 AM

What a flashback. By the middle of the first song of this show, I realized that I had occupied the same seat in the same

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Smiling faces in Detroit? People everywhere? Parents and kids walking downtown at night? What . . . ? A thought occurs to me that perhaps I am still home

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Summer was the perfect season for a seductive evening with Joi and Raphael Saadiq at Bimbo’s—they were an electric musical duo, mostly because

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

The most recent publicity photo of two-time Tony Award winner Bernadette Peters shows her sporting a tattoo of a heart with the initials reading: BP+

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Beth Orton arrived on stage in jeans, a white oxford shirt and a yellow tie with brown dots—looking like she couldn’t decide if

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Swedish outfit The Hives came to Transit, a small club in Philadelphia Friday night, and left little doubt who the reigning champs are in the

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Radio 4 Ted Leo & the Pharmacists New Jersey’s Gern Blandsten Records, offering “fine musical product for the socially unaccepted since 1992,” chose June 15 to celebrate

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

The Allmans Brothers Band has been the central musical group of my life, their œuvre most vital to my worldview. From that perspective, their longtime

READ more

19 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

DMX Krew Cylob It’s amazing how ubiquitous 1980s references are these days. As seemingly inevitable as this cultural déjà vu was, I would

READ more

19 Jun 2002 // 12:00 AM

Blues-rocker Bonnie Raitt is currently touring to promote her latest album, Silver Lining. On 5 June 2002, Raitt’s tour made a stop at Red Rocks Amphitheater

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

The More I Have, the Less I Play

// Moving Pixels

"Choice in media sometimes doesn't lead to freedom, just paralysis.

READ the article