Reviews > Events

7 Feb 2002 // 3:00 PM

We had only been there five minutes and already I was annoyed. Having never been to McCabe’s Guitar Shop, it was not remotely what

READ more

5 Feb 2002 // 3:00 PM

Stereophonics JJ72 What Comes After Britpop? Or, the Stereophonics Take Your American Hype and Shove It While much of his fellow UK fraternity are busy

READ more

Starsailor S E T    L I S T StarsailorAlcoholicPoor Misguided FoolShe Just WeptFeverLullabyLove is HereTie Up My HandsGood Souls Charlatans + StarsailorIt’s All

READ more

17 Jan 2002 // 3:00 PM

By the night’s end, it seemed everything had been destroyed—including the band. Drummer Ron Albertson eyed his band mates venomously, gingerly re-erecting his

READ more

16 Jan 2002 // 3:00 PM

I looked over my right shoulder. Just behind me, a couple was sharing a PDA unashamedly to the hot music. Their jaws were moving in

READ more

11 Jan 2002 // 3:00 PM

The club was packed, and the crowd by the bar only shushed when Brett and Rennie, like a young, perverse Johnny and June, took the

READ more

28 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

Shunning Career As An Australian D.A.R.E. Counselor, Dando Appears Poised For Return Ah, yes . . . the comeback. Americans love to root for the

READ more

16 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

S E T    L I S T The Funny BirdChainsTides of the MoonTonite It ShowsDelta Sun Bottleneck StompHolesFriterringLincoln’s EyeNite and FogLittle RhymesYou’

READ more

The one thing you never want to hear at a concert, as the band takes the stage, with the lead singer conspicuously absent: “So I

READ more

14 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

They Caught Me Smilin’ Agin Forged in the fabled hamlet of Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the Drive-By Truckers are magnificent in concert. Magnificent, that is, if

READ more

12 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

Demon pop. All I could think watching Blonde Redhead’s two hour set at New York’s Irving Plaza was that this band must surely

READ more

9 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

Wait—did he drop the guitar on purpose? The song continued, but James Walsh quit playing in the midst of the action, visibly overwhelmed and

READ more

8 Dec 2001 // 3:00 PM

Nikka Costa is Jesse Helms’ worst nightmare come to rock your town. If Nikka Costa didn’t exist, Prince would have to invent her. Thirty-three

READ more

30 Nov 2001 // 3:00 PM

“I‘m not thinking ahead / I’m just getting there / And if you want / You can help me steer”, states John Hiatt matter-of-factly during an

READ more

Most Americans haven't heard of them, but in Britain, the press has spent the past year gushing over Goldfrapp, and rightly so.

READ more

29 Nov 2001 // 3:00 PM

Coldplay JJ72 The Empire Strikes Back 4.45 pm: Yours truly is speaking on BBC Radio 5 about the band Creed. That’s the focus of the show,

READ more

Fun to Be Had Both members of the SoCal punk scene located around Long Beach, California, Reel Big Fish and Goldfinger have been friends for

READ more

16 Nov 2001 // 3:00 PM

Read the next sentence twice, and try not to laugh. The New Pornographers are a Canadian Super-Group! You probably let out a little chuckle, right?

READ more

14 Nov 2001 // 3:00 PM

Photo credit: Robert Masys II Somewhere in the annals of rock music is a graveyard for bands that have had the misfortune to be compared

READ more

14 Nov 2001 // 3:00 PM

With over 20 years of experience, Leo Kottke has carefully developed a no-nonsense approach to both his career and his music. With his latest release, simply

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

The Eye of Lenzi: "Gang War in Milan" and "Spasmo"

// Short Ends and Leader

"Two wide and handsome Italian thrillers of the 1970s.

READ the article