Reviews > Events

Dave AlvinPhoto credit: Stephen Smith Only in Madison would you find a dive bar with a grilled portabella sandwich on the menu. This is what

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Fuckin’ in the BushesHelloThe Hindu TimesHung in a Bad PlaceGo Let It OutColumbiaMorning GloryStop Crying Your

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T [2 July 2002][Ah, The Rocky Theme . . .]Friday Night GodsFloat AwayThe CatfishermanLeavingSoulPoint BreezeDreamingCrying on an AirplanePeople of the

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

It’s been over a year since the official release of Lift to Experience’s debut album, but most people hardly know they exist. I,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Elf Power “Standard Elephant 6 fare” is how I heard one person describe the line-up of last Monday’s show at the Middle East in Cambridge,

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

In my review of Jucifer’s recent New York appearance, I remarked that I had found the band’s recorded work underwhelming, but their concert

READ more

17 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T MisunderstoodGoodAllison FoleyRollingLive AgainExtra OrdinaryKing of New OrleansRosealiaAt the Stars/On FireWaxing or WaningThis Time of YearLifetimeDesperately

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

Bewitched It’s been a curious evolution for Mary Timony. After fronting Helium in the mid-‘90s, she walked away from a career being labeled

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T Silver CarSafe in the Arms of LoveI Got a WomanUntangle My MindLast of the Old Time

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Naysayer Ah, New York. The grit, the glam, the guitars. Rawk is as alive as ever, and our proud metropolis is once again a

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

I wasn’t thoroughly bowled over by Jucifer’s new CD, I Name You Destroyer, and when I went to cover the Georgia band’s

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

When asked about the innovative collaboration between Ornette Coleman and Don Cherry, John Lewis, the Modern Jazz Quartet pianist, reputedly responded, “I don’t know

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

S E T    L I S T 45Waiting For the End of the WorldWatching the DetectivesSpooky Girlfriend(I Don’t Want to Go

READ more

10 Jul 2002 // 1:00 AM

What a flashback. By the middle of the first song of this show, I realized that I had occupied the same seat in the same

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Smiling faces in Detroit? People everywhere? Parents and kids walking downtown at night? What . . . ? A thought occurs to me that perhaps I am still home

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Summer was the perfect season for a seductive evening with Joi and Raphael Saadiq at Bimbo’s—they were an electric musical duo, mostly because

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

The most recent publicity photo of two-time Tony Award winner Bernadette Peters shows her sporting a tattoo of a heart with the initials reading: BP+

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Beth Orton arrived on stage in jeans, a white oxford shirt and a yellow tie with brown dots—looking like she couldn’t decide if

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Swedish outfit The Hives came to Transit, a small club in Philadelphia Friday night, and left little doubt who the reigning champs are in the

READ more

27 Jun 2002 // 1:00 AM

Radio 4 Ted Leo & the Pharmacists New Jersey’s Gern Blandsten Records, offering “fine musical product for the socially unaccepted since 1992,” chose June 15 to celebrate

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

The Thoughtful Absurdity of 'Spaceplan'

// Moving Pixels

"Spaceplan is a goofy game that still manages to pack a potent emotional punch.

READ the article