Reviews > Events

21 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

One thing you should know about Rufus Wainwright: he’s absolutely devastating live. He’s no stranger to studio technique, as his albums will attest,

READ more

19 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

S E T    L I S T 1. Grey Gardens2. Greek Song3. Rebel Prince4. California5. The Consort6. Evil Angel7. In a Graveyard8. La Complainte

READ more

19 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

Peaking during the big-hair, light-metal days of the late ‘80s and early ‘90s, Concrete Blonde stood alongside The Cure and Siouxsie and the Banshees as

READ more

18 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

Vanderslice Celebrates DIY Spirit, But Band Can Play Their Instruments John Vanderslice is a charismatic musician, and one energetic, blonde cutey of a front man.

READ more

17 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

The New Pornographers are a pop musical revelation, a breath of fresh spring air blowing in a cloudy, smoky den of alt-numetal grunge-punk. From Vancouver,

READ more

14 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

I could scarcely believe my eyes when going through the list of upcoming concerts. The Divine Comedy, Neil Hannon’s tribute band to Scott Walker,

READ more

14 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

Halfway into Agnostic Front’s blistering set, it began to rain. Off-white gobs of something, with the consistency of gravy, dropped from the sky in

READ more

13 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

S E T    L I S T AmeliaTake My Heart and Rub itReunited AirlinesBack in Black (snippet)That’s Why I Write Such

READ more

10 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

The Second Wave of Music from the Extreme A lot of people, the majority young indie-looking types, felt this was a show not to be

READ more

9 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

S E T    L I S T JetpackBitterJoey (Heatherton)(Ex-gay ministry song)MargaretKaren by NightThe Money Shot(I Live like a) FreshmanHeroesLucy at

READ more

8 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

The Triumph of Pure Sound Baaba Maal was supposed to be onstage at 8:00 p.m., and now it’s 8:25, and the crowd is getting as

READ more

7 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

We had only been there five minutes and already I was annoyed. Having never been to McCabe’s Guitar Shop, it was not remotely what

READ more

5 Feb 2002 // 2:00 PM

Stereophonics JJ72 What Comes After Britpop? Or, the Stereophonics Take Your American Hype and Shove It While much of his fellow UK fraternity are busy

READ more

Starsailor S E T    L I S T StarsailorAlcoholicPoor Misguided FoolShe Just WeptFeverLullabyLove is HereTie Up My HandsGood Souls Charlatans + StarsailorIt’s All

READ more

17 Jan 2002 // 2:00 PM

By the night’s end, it seemed everything had been destroyed—including the band. Drummer Ron Albertson eyed his band mates venomously, gingerly re-erecting his

READ more

16 Jan 2002 // 2:00 PM

I looked over my right shoulder. Just behind me, a couple was sharing a PDA unashamedly to the hot music. Their jaws were moving in

READ more

11 Jan 2002 // 2:00 PM

The club was packed, and the crowd by the bar only shushed when Brett and Rennie, like a young, perverse Johnny and June, took the

READ more

28 Dec 2001 // 2:00 PM

Shunning Career As An Australian D.A.R.E. Counselor, Dando Appears Poised For Return Ah, yes . . . the comeback. Americans love to root for the

READ more

16 Dec 2001 // 2:00 PM

S E T    L I S T The Funny BirdChainsTides of the MoonTonite It ShowsDelta Sun Bottleneck StompHolesFriterringLincoln’s EyeNite and FogLittle RhymesYou’

READ more

The one thing you never want to hear at a concert, as the band takes the stage, with the lead singer conspicuously absent: “So I

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Double Take: 'Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid' (1969)

// Short Ends and Leader

"The two Steves at Double Take are often mistaken for Paul Newman and Robert Redford; so it's appropriate that they shoot it out over Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

READ the article