Call for Music Writers... Rock, Indie, Urban, Electronic, Americana, Metal, World and More

Reviews > Film DVD

Friday, March 3 2006

Wedding Crashers (2005)

The 40 Year-Old Virgin and Wedding Crashers might have made it safe for adults to go back to big-screen comedies in 2005, but it was the latter that reminded those viewers that adulthood doesn't mean growing up -- at least in the traditional sense.


Thursday, March 2 2006

The Weather Man (2005)

'The Chicago weatherman,' says Nicolas Cage, 'is a very important weatherman, because everyone in Chicago relies on him so much, and if he gets it wrong, it really ruins their day.'"


Tuesday, February 28 2006

My Date With Drew (2005)

My Date With Drew is a starfucking free-for-all, revealing the sad desperation of a film industry fringe-dweller.


Tuesday, February 21 2006

Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Anniversary Edition) (1961)

I suppose we should just count ourselves fortunate Capote didn't write any Indian characters into Breakfast at Tiffany's, otherwise Blake Edwards might have asked Peter Sellers to break out the boot polish.


Friday, February 17 2006

Proof (2005)

As John Madden says, the film's central issue is 'validation', in emotional and familial, as well as mathematical and metaphorical, frameworks.


Thursday, February 16 2006

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off: Bueller Bueller Edition (1986)

Call us the Breakfast Club Generation. We are all Molly Ringwald.


Tuesday, February 14 2006

Guerrilla: The Taking of Patty Hearst (2004)

From its early moments -- a focus on the emblematic tape recorder by which Patty Hearst's saga was delivered to journalists amassed in her famous parents' driveway -- Guerrilla breaks down how terrorism becomes a function of its audience.


Monday, February 13 2006

Lie With Me (2006)

Like the novella by Tamara Faith Berger on which it's based, Lie With Me blurs the boundaries between pornography and art.


Thursday, February 9 2006

Serenity (2005)

'He's homemade,' Joss Whedon says of Mal. 'And he's kind of a schmo a lot of the time.'"


Wednesday, February 8 2006

A Time for Burning (1966) - PopMatters Film Review )

What did these decent folk finally do to resolve racial inequalities? Well, they elected Nixon, whose policy of 'benign neglect' meant letting the inner city fester and rot.


Tuesday, February 7 2006

Elizabethtown: Widescreen Special Collector’s Edition (2005)

The DVD of Elizabethtown is called the Widescreen Special Collector's Edition, though there's not one thing special about it.


Monday, February 6 2006

Watermarks (2004)

Stanton appears to have come to terms with at least some of her bad feelings. 'As I was getting old,' she says, 'I decided that I did not want to die with so much hatred in me.'"


A State of Mind (2004)

Even without many personal freedoms, the Pak and Kim families find ways to express themselves.


Thursday, February 2 2006

Unknown Chaplin: The Master at Work (1986)

With its brilliantly in-depth and astutely investigated look at Chaplin's work, as well as its incredibly detailed and loving reconstruction of lost footage from nearly every phase of his career, this documentary should have a home in any film lover's collection.


Monday, January 30 2006

The Great Raid: The Director’s Cut (2003)

Archive shots of broken, diseased, and starved bodies provide a devastating illustration of the history that drives the film's fictions.


Friday, January 27 2006

Flightplan (2005)

The contrast between Kyle's multiple layers of loss and the flurry of life that goes on without her is briefly compelling.


Monday, January 23 2006

The Execution of Wanda Jean (2002) - PopMatters Film Review )

The film may not change minds regarding the death penalty, but does demonstrate its flaws on personal and structural levels.


Thursday, January 19 2006

Seven Men From Now (1956)

Seven Men From Now is a small, economical movie, concerned with sacrifice and nobility.


Creep (2004)

Disdainful until overtaken by desperation, Kate (Franke Potente) appears to be the film's primary 'creep'.


Wednesday, January 18 2006

Thérèse Raquin (1953)

The movie opens and closes with the same overhead shot of Lyons. Carné, like Zola, emphasizes the ordinary tragedy of desperate city folk.


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks
PopMatters' LUCY Giveaway! in PopMatters's Hangs on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.