Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Reviews > Film DVD

Thursday, February 16 2006

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off: Bueller Bueller Edition (1986)

Call us the Breakfast Club Generation. We are all Molly Ringwald.


Tuesday, February 14 2006

Guerrilla: The Taking of Patty Hearst (2004)

From its early moments -- a focus on the emblematic tape recorder by which Patty Hearst's saga was delivered to journalists amassed in her famous parents' driveway -- Guerrilla breaks down how terrorism becomes a function of its audience.


Monday, February 13 2006

Lie With Me (2006)

Like the novella by Tamara Faith Berger on which it's based, Lie With Me blurs the boundaries between pornography and art.


Thursday, February 9 2006

Serenity (2005)

'He's homemade,' Joss Whedon says of Mal. 'And he's kind of a schmo a lot of the time.'"


Wednesday, February 8 2006

A Time for Burning (1966) - PopMatters Film Review )

What did these decent folk finally do to resolve racial inequalities? Well, they elected Nixon, whose policy of 'benign neglect' meant letting the inner city fester and rot.


Tuesday, February 7 2006

Elizabethtown: Widescreen Special Collector’s Edition (2005)

The DVD of Elizabethtown is called the Widescreen Special Collector's Edition, though there's not one thing special about it.


Monday, February 6 2006

Watermarks (2004)

Stanton appears to have come to terms with at least some of her bad feelings. 'As I was getting old,' she says, 'I decided that I did not want to die with so much hatred in me.'"


A State of Mind (2004)

Even without many personal freedoms, the Pak and Kim families find ways to express themselves.


Thursday, February 2 2006

Unknown Chaplin: The Master at Work (1986)

With its brilliantly in-depth and astutely investigated look at Chaplin's work, as well as its incredibly detailed and loving reconstruction of lost footage from nearly every phase of his career, this documentary should have a home in any film lover's collection.


Monday, January 30 2006

The Great Raid: The Director’s Cut (2003)

Archive shots of broken, diseased, and starved bodies provide a devastating illustration of the history that drives the film's fictions.


Friday, January 27 2006

Flightplan (2005)

The contrast between Kyle's multiple layers of loss and the flurry of life that goes on without her is briefly compelling.


Monday, January 23 2006

The Execution of Wanda Jean (2002) - PopMatters Film Review )

The film may not change minds regarding the death penalty, but does demonstrate its flaws on personal and structural levels.


Thursday, January 19 2006

Seven Men From Now (1956)

Seven Men From Now is a small, economical movie, concerned with sacrifice and nobility.


Creep (2004)

Disdainful until overtaken by desperation, Kate (Franke Potente) appears to be the film's primary 'creep'.


Wednesday, January 18 2006

Thérèse Raquin (1953)

The movie opens and closes with the same overhead shot of Lyons. Carné, like Zola, emphasizes the ordinary tragedy of desperate city folk.


Tuesday, January 17 2006

Asylum (2005)

Surrounded by this sort of oppressive hushing, Stella's largely nonverbal relationship with Edgar resembles a form of attention.


Monday, January 16 2006

Hustle & Flow (2005)

Craig Brewer considers his protagonist something new, that is, the same kind of cat he's seen repeatedly in his hometown of Memphis, but not seen in movies.


Friday, January 13 2006

9 Songs: Unrated Full Uncut Version (2004)

Through sex, specifically the surrender and exposition of self through this oldest human hobby, Michael Winterbottom communicates the beauty and pain of a relationship.


Wednesday, January 11 2006

Airplane!: The ‘Don’t Call Me Shirley!’ Edition (1980)

Airplane! basically gets by on one joke: sight gags based on tricks of perspective or on thwarting expectation.


Monday, January 9 2006

The Brothers Grimm (2005)

'This is why I love DVDs,' says Terry Gilliam. 'I can completely destroy the illusion of my film.'"


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.