Reviews > Film DVD
Where the Truth Lies: Unrated Theatrical Version (2005)

As the score swells, the camera reveals a body, a girl seemingly drowned, pale, grotesque, and grim. This, the title hints, is Where the Truth Lies. Except it isn't.

READ more
Wedding Crashers (2005)

The 40 Year-Old Virgin and Wedding Crashers might have made it safe for adults to go back to big-screen comedies in 2005, but it was the latter that reminded those viewers that adulthood doesn't mean growing up -- at least in the traditional sense.

READ more

2 Mar 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Weather Man (2005)

'The Chicago weatherman,' says Nicolas Cage, 'is a very important weatherman, because everyone in Chicago relies on him so much, and if he gets it wrong, it really ruins their day.'"

READ more

28 Feb 2006 // 1:00 AM

My Date With Drew (2005)

My Date With Drew is a starfucking free-for-all, revealing the sad desperation of a film industry fringe-dweller.

READ more
Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Anniversary Edition) (1961)

I suppose we should just count ourselves fortunate Capote didn't write any Indian characters into Breakfast at Tiffany's, otherwise Blake Edwards might have asked Peter Sellers to break out the boot polish.

READ more

17 Feb 2006 // 1:00 AM

Proof (2005)

As John Madden says, the film's central issue is 'validation', in emotional and familial, as well as mathematical and metaphorical, frameworks.

READ more
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off: Bueller Bueller Edition (1986)

Call us the Breakfast Club Generation. We are all Molly Ringwald.

READ more
Guerrilla: The Taking of Patty Hearst (2004)

From its early moments -- a focus on the emblematic tape recorder by which Patty Hearst's saga was delivered to journalists amassed in her famous parents' driveway -- Guerrilla breaks down how terrorism becomes a function of its audience.

READ more

13 Feb 2006 // 3:00 PM

Lie With Me (2006)

Like the novella by Tamara Faith Berger on which it's based, Lie With Me blurs the boundaries between pornography and art.

READ more

9 Feb 2006 // 1:00 AM

Serenity (2005)

'He's homemade,' Joss Whedon says of Mal. 'And he's kind of a schmo a lot of the time.'"

READ more
A Time for Burning (1966) - PopMatters Film Review
)

What did these decent folk finally do to resolve racial inequalities? Well, they elected Nixon, whose policy of 'benign neglect' meant letting the inner city fester and rot.

READ more
Elizabethtown: Widescreen Special Collector’s Edition (2005)

The DVD of Elizabethtown is called the Widescreen Special Collector's Edition, though there's not one thing special about it.

READ more

6 Feb 2006 // 3:00 PM

Watermarks (2004)

Stanton appears to have come to terms with at least some of her bad feelings. 'As I was getting old,' she says, 'I decided that I did not want to die with so much hatred in me.'"

READ more

6 Feb 2006 // 3:00 PM

A State of Mind (2004)

Even without many personal freedoms, the Pak and Kim families find ways to express themselves.

READ more
Unknown Chaplin: The Master at Work (1986)

With its brilliantly in-depth and astutely investigated look at Chaplin's work, as well as its incredibly detailed and loving reconstruction of lost footage from nearly every phase of his career, this documentary should have a home in any film lover's collection.

READ more
The Great Raid: The Director’s Cut (2003)

Archive shots of broken, diseased, and starved bodies provide a devastating illustration of the history that drives the film's fictions.

READ more

27 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Flightplan (2005)

The contrast between Kyle's multiple layers of loss and the flurry of life that goes on without her is briefly compelling.

READ more
The Execution of Wanda Jean (2002) - PopMatters Film Review
)

The film may not change minds regarding the death penalty, but does demonstrate its flaws on personal and structural levels.

READ more

19 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Seven Men From Now (1956)

Seven Men From Now is a small, economical movie, concerned with sacrifice and nobility.

READ more

19 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Creep (2004)

Disdainful until overtaken by desperation, Kate (Franke Potente) appears to be the film's primary 'creep'.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Best of the Moving Pixels Podcast: Further Explorations of the Zero

// Moving Pixels

"We continue our discussion of the early episodes of Kentucky Route Zero by focusing on its third act.

READ the article