Reviews > Film

22 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Serving Sara (2002)

'My job sucks,' says Joe (Matthew Perry) at the beginning of Reginald Hudlin's peculiar romantic comedy.

READ more

22 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

One Hour Photo (2002)

Neatly, ominously, the film composes a bleak vision of Sy's consumption of and by his culture.

READ more

22 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

I’m Going Home (2001)

I'm Going Home not only retains its heart, but expands it until the film's emotional power is almost too much to handle.

READ more
I Am Trying to Break Your Heart (2002)

The apotheosis of a very good band, Sam Jones' I Am Trying to Break Your Heart begs the question of whether merely very good bands deserve to be deified.

READ more

22 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Harvard Man (2001)

Harvard Man's refusal to pass judgment on characters' drug use is troubling.

READ more
The Adventures of Pluto Nash (2002)

The Adventures of Pluto Nash is a whole lot of nada.

READ more
Songs From the Second Floor (Sånger från andra våningen) (2002)

Songs From the Second Floor may be blasphemous in its relentless tweaking of Christianity, but it is never less than sincere about its search for divine intercession.

READ more

15 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Read My Lips (Sur Mes Lèvres) (2001)

Carla and Paul form an odd couple, slouching towards romance while successfully defending (and defining) their common interests against powerful and dangerous people.

READ more

15 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Possession (2002)

While the plot of Possession concerns yearning and fervor, its tone is provocatively detached.

READ more
The Kid Stays in the Picture (2002) - PopMatters Film Review
)

What Robert Evans does, mostly, is him.

READ more

15 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Happy Times (Xingfu Shiguang) (2000)

Explores the many costs of 'modern times'.

READ more

15 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Blue Crush (2002)

Big fat super-popular boy power movies don't rely on plot, so it probably makes sense that this pulse-pounding girl power movie doesn't either (and like most boy movies, this one is about a stunningly beautiful white protagonist surrounded by a multi-culti crew).

READ more

9 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

XXX (2002)

Xander is a bad ass with a heart of gold.

READ more

9 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

24 Hour Party People (2001)

Tony Wilson lived for the explosive moment.

READ more
Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams (2002)

Juni and Carmen's perspective, part convincingly ingenuous and part movie-kid calculated, organizes the film's general view of things.

READ more

9 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

The Good Girl (2002)

Into Justine's black hole of a routine walks Holden glowering, self-consciously poetic, urgent.

READ more
Contract Killer (Sat sau ji wong) (1998)

A diluted reissue of Tung Wai's Hitman.

READ more

9 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Blood Work (2002)

PULL.

READ more

1 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Signs (2002)

PULL.

READ more

1 Aug 2002 // 1:00 AM

Me Without You (2001)

Me Without You is a disquieting and stunningly accurate depiction of female friendship.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Country Fried Rock: Drivin' N' Cryin' to Be Inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame

// Sound Affects

""If Drivin' N' Cryin' sounded as good in the '80s as we do now, we could have been as big as Cinderella." -- Kevn Kinney

READ the article