Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Reviews > Multimedia

Tuesday, June 28 2005

E3 2005

E3 attempts to simultaneously be professional and fantastic, and for the most part it succeeds.


Friday, June 24 2005

Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament

As with the best games based on environmental puzzles, level design is paramount.


Thursday, June 23 2005

Archer Maclean’s Mercury

What's truly frustrating about Mercury isn't that it lacks opportunities for freeform play, but that it builds up such a need for it.


Monday, June 20 2005

Play with Me

You watch and you cringe, not because the images are horrific per se, but because you know deep down that the truth behind it remains so very real.


Friday, June 17 2005

FreeCiv

Despite the in-game peace, my war with the interface continued.


Wednesday, June 15 2005

Duel Masters

Magic: The Gathering was the first kind of geeky game that wasn't Dungeons & Dragons-based that I had ever gotten into and actually enjoyed.


Monday, June 6 2005

Food Force

Unlike Carmen Sandiego and America's Army, Food Force makes no effort to disguise its message.


Friday, June 3 2005

Lego Star Wars: The Video Game

Never has a rating seemed more appropriate to me. The game indeed invites 'everyone' with its 'E' rating into the obsessive realm of the collector.


Thursday, June 2 2005

Twisted Metal: Head-On

The first Twisted Metal games were equal parts sunshine and mayhem. While colorful, they possessed a morbid sense of humor and were addictive gameplay experiences.


Wednesday, June 1 2005

GoldenEye: Rogue Agent

This idea had so much potential, but EA managed to screw it up so badly you really have to wonder how the game ever saw the light of day.


Friday, May 27 2005

Ape Escape: On the Loose

Depending on how you look at it, the game rerelease trend that we've been seeing these past few years may or may not be a good thing.


Thursday, May 26 2005

Devil May Cry 3: Dante’s Awakening

What I appreciate about Devil May Cry 3 is its simple to follow but still engaging plot.


Monday, May 16 2005

Polarium

Polarium is one of those games that's going to be overlooked by the masses because we've moved past the simple games of yore.


Friday, May 13 2005

Jade Empire

The similarities in story and mechanics to other role-playing games threaten to undermine Jade Empire's goals.


Thursday, May 12 2005

BZFlag

The rudiments of the game are very simple: drive the tank, line up enemy tanks in the crosshairs, and fire the cannon.


Wednesday, May 4 2005

Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition

This game was clearly made for all those bandwagon-jumping casual gamers.


God of War

God of War is also a cinematic feast, with cutscenes blending together to provide a complete story even without a game.


Wednesday, April 27 2005

MLB

I came to realize why I've never actually bothered to chose between the north and south sides; baseball is boring.


The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap

This is exactly the kind of Zelda game Nintendo should be making for the GameBoy Advance.


Capcom Fighting Evolution

If anything, Capcom Fighting Evolution offers us the fossil record of the subtle evolution of the fighting genre.


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks
PopMatters' LUCY Giveaway! in PopMatters's Hangs on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.