Reviews > Multimedia

20 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Play with Me

You watch and you cringe, not because the images are horrific per se, but because you know deep down that the truth behind it remains so very real.

READ more

17 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

FreeCiv

Despite the in-game peace, my war with the interface continued.

READ more

15 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Duel Masters

Magic: The Gathering was the first kind of geeky game that wasn't Dungeons & Dragons-based that I had ever gotten into and actually enjoyed.

READ more

6 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Food Force

Unlike Carmen Sandiego and America's Army, Food Force makes no effort to disguise its message.

READ more
Lego Star Wars: The Video Game

Never has a rating seemed more appropriate to me. The game indeed invites 'everyone' with its 'E' rating into the obsessive realm of the collector.

READ more
Twisted Metal: Head-On

The first Twisted Metal games were equal parts sunshine and mayhem. While colorful, they possessed a morbid sense of humor and were addictive gameplay experiences.

READ more

1 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

GoldenEye: Rogue Agent

This idea had so much potential, but EA managed to screw it up so badly you really have to wonder how the game ever saw the light of day.

READ more
Ape Escape: On the Loose

Depending on how you look at it, the game rerelease trend that we've been seeing these past few years may or may not be a good thing.

READ more
Devil May Cry 3: Dante’s Awakening

What I appreciate about Devil May Cry 3 is its simple to follow but still engaging plot.

READ more

16 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Polarium

Polarium is one of those games that's going to be overlooked by the masses because we've moved past the simple games of yore.

READ more

13 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Jade Empire

The similarities in story and mechanics to other role-playing games threaten to undermine Jade Empire's goals.

READ more

12 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

BZFlag

The rudiments of the game are very simple: drive the tank, line up enemy tanks in the crosshairs, and fire the cannon.

READ more
Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition

This game was clearly made for all those bandwagon-jumping casual gamers.

READ more

4 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

God of War

God of War is also a cinematic feast, with cutscenes blending together to provide a complete story even without a game.

READ more

MLB

27 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

MLB

I came to realize why I've never actually bothered to chose between the north and south sides; baseball is boring.

READ more

27 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap

This is exactly the kind of Zelda game Nintendo should be making for the GameBoy Advance.

READ more
Capcom Fighting Evolution

If anything, Capcom Fighting Evolution offers us the fossil record of the subtle evolution of the fighting genre.

READ more
Brothers in Arms: The Road to Hill 30

Brothers in Arms aims to differentiate itself from other war games by placing an emphasis on tactics.

READ more

20 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Zoo Keeper

If you've played Bejeweled, you've all but played Zoo Keeper.

READ more

20 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Lumines

Lumines succeeds largely because it is both very similar to and yet completely different from any falling block puzzle game before it.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

We are continuing to experience some technical difficulties. We hope to have them resolved by Monday

// Announcements

"Exciting developments are around the corner for PopMatters.

READ the article