Reviews > Multimedia
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

The 'violence' seemingly promoted by this GTA is less a violence to be feared for its realism, and one more committed against the dirty realism of history itself.

READ more

30 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Mattel Classic Football 2

Ah, nostalgia. It's what makes the world go 'round.

READ more

28 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

E3 2005

E3 attempts to simultaneously be professional and fantastic, and for the most part it succeeds.

READ more
Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament

As with the best games based on environmental puzzles, level design is paramount.

READ more

23 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Archer Maclean’s Mercury

What's truly frustrating about Mercury isn't that it lacks opportunities for freeform play, but that it builds up such a need for it.

READ more

20 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Play with Me

You watch and you cringe, not because the images are horrific per se, but because you know deep down that the truth behind it remains so very real.

READ more

17 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

FreeCiv

Despite the in-game peace, my war with the interface continued.

READ more

15 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Duel Masters

Magic: The Gathering was the first kind of geeky game that wasn't Dungeons & Dragons-based that I had ever gotten into and actually enjoyed.

READ more

6 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

Food Force

Unlike Carmen Sandiego and America's Army, Food Force makes no effort to disguise its message.

READ more
Lego Star Wars: The Video Game

Never has a rating seemed more appropriate to me. The game indeed invites 'everyone' with its 'E' rating into the obsessive realm of the collector.

READ more
Twisted Metal: Head-On

The first Twisted Metal games were equal parts sunshine and mayhem. While colorful, they possessed a morbid sense of humor and were addictive gameplay experiences.

READ more

1 Jun 2005 // 12:00 AM

GoldenEye: Rogue Agent

This idea had so much potential, but EA managed to screw it up so badly you really have to wonder how the game ever saw the light of day.

READ more
Ape Escape: On the Loose

Depending on how you look at it, the game rerelease trend that we've been seeing these past few years may or may not be a good thing.

READ more
Devil May Cry 3: Dante’s Awakening

What I appreciate about Devil May Cry 3 is its simple to follow but still engaging plot.

READ more

16 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Polarium

Polarium is one of those games that's going to be overlooked by the masses because we've moved past the simple games of yore.

READ more

13 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

Jade Empire

The similarities in story and mechanics to other role-playing games threaten to undermine Jade Empire's goals.

READ more

12 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

BZFlag

The rudiments of the game are very simple: drive the tank, line up enemy tanks in the crosshairs, and fire the cannon.

READ more
Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition

This game was clearly made for all those bandwagon-jumping casual gamers.

READ more

4 May 2005 // 12:00 AM

God of War

God of War is also a cinematic feast, with cutscenes blending together to provide a complete story even without a game.

READ more

MLB

27 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

MLB

I came to realize why I've never actually bothered to chose between the north and south sides; baseball is boring.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

St. Vincent, Beck, and More Heat Up Boston Calling on Memorial Day Weekend

// Notes from the Road

"With vibrant performances by artists including St. Vincent and TV on the Radio, the first half of the bi-annual Boston Calling Festival brought additional excitement to Memorial Day weekend.

READ the article