Reviews > Multimedia

15 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

Autobahn Total

For as long as PCs have been around, there has been an endless supply of titles sold for rock bottom prices.

READ more

1 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

Urbz: Sims in the City

If, in the electronic evolutionary chain, Tomagotchi are the first stage of pocket life, Urbz are Stanley Kubrick's ape witnesses to the monolith.

READ more

1 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

NBA Live 2005

While I surely love this game, I also see the need to reflect on its place within a larger cultural, racial and gender milieu of social meaning.

READ more

1 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

Evil Genius

No sharks with frickin' laser beams attached to their frickin' heads, but enough creativity and humor for one million hours of evil gameplay.

READ more
The Bard’s Tale

Its premise is simple: our hero, the titular musician and rogue, must save the world by banishing a great evil and rescuing a trapped princess. If this sounds familiar that's because it's supposed to be.

READ more

1 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

BloodRayne 2

As discomforting as BloodRayne 2's depiction of women as both hypersexualized and grotesque is, it's rather surprising to realize that the whole affair is actually pretty underwhelming.

READ more

17 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne

It's unusual for RPGs, generally concerned mostly with youthful wish-fulfillment fantasies of romance and derring-do, to be lumped in with controversial titles like Manhunt and Silent Hill.

READ more

17 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

While The Sims was indeed fascinating, there was a bit too much 'unreality' and a strong sense of the mundane thrown in.

READ more

17 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door will be automatically rejected by some gamers based solely on its art design.

READ more
Grand Theft Auto Advance

If I were asked why Grand Theft Auto 3 was such a phenomenal success, I would likely avoid a discussion of freeform gameplay.

READ more

17 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Much like any good horror film, DOOM 3 uses its environment to its advantage, but sadly relies too heavily on cheap scares.

READ more
Bush Shoot-Out!

Cut to Bush working in the Oval Office dressed in a leather vest, cuffed jeans, cowboy boots, and a belt buckle stamped with a lone star.

READ more

5 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Tony Hawk’s Underground 2

Where would the sport of skateboarding be without Tony Hawk? It's a question that's been asked plenty of times in the past.

READ more
Sly 2: Band of Thieves

In many ways Sly and his band of thieves are better suited to the traditions of Western espionage and sneak 'thiefery' than Solid Snake himself may be.

READ more
Mortal Kombat: Deception

At first, the violence ruffled feathers, but with time the uproar over violence began to focus on other games, and Mortal Kombat became increasingly irrelevant.

READ more

5 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Donkey Konga

Despite the success of several rhythm games, none have yet to rival DDR in the home market. But that's where Donkey Konga comes in.

READ more
Zoo Tycoon 2

We are like God, similar in that we are given domination and responsibility over these creatures somewhat inferior to ourselves, but different in that we have to follow his goals and plans.

READ more

20 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Sudeki

Despite the game's strengths, Sudeki offers a series of problems in terms of its racialized imagery, its emphasis on female hypersexuality and its ideological orientation.

READ more

20 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Rome: Total War

While we can all agree that things like 3D graphics are a good thing, it's difficult to extol the appeal of certain time periods.

READ more

20 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Midway Arcade Treasures 2

The sheer fact that you can compile not only Mortal Kombat II, but Mortal Kombat 3, plus nearly 20 other games on this disc is definitely progress.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Cage the Elephant Ignite Central Park with Kickoff for Summerstage Season

// Notes from the Road

"Cage the Elephant rocked two sold-out nights at Summerstage and return to NYC for a free show May 29th. Info on that and a preview of the full Summerstage schedule is here.

READ the article