Reviews > Multimedia

11 Sep 2013 // 5:30 AM

DuckTales Remastered

I assumed that as an older and wiser player I might be above thrown controllers, but I assumed wrong.

READ more

6 Sep 2013 // 3:00 AM

Payday 2

You can win masks after each heist, and some of them are intimidating as hell, elaborate monstrosities that make you feel like a powerhouse killer just by looking at them. However, after several hours of play, I had a grand collection of one mask.

READ more
Dishonored: The Brigmore Witches

The Brigmore Witches acts as a fitting end to one of the most original IPs of 2012.

READ more

30 Aug 2013 // 2:30 AM

Face Noir

Face Noir contains that wonderful stain of corruption and cynicism that noir is known for. Though the backdrop isn’t the postwar malaise and alienation of urban America, instead it is the crushing hopelessness and decay of the Great Depression.

READ more

28 Aug 2013 // 4:15 AM

Hate Plus

Hate Plus demonstrates some of the best virtues of video games in the way that it's structured as something to be explored with no clear starting point and as something that is completed only after a process of player exploration. In other words, it isn’t meant to be read cover to cover; it’s a process of discovery.

READ more
Discovering the Familiar in ‘Gone Home’

I have never worried so much about where light switches are in a video game as I have in Gone Home, dreading what might be lurking in dark corners because the setting, the gameplay, and the tone of the game's mystery suggested to me that I should.

READ more
‘Saints Row IV’: I Want to Be All the Clones

Saints Row has always been known as a Grand Theft Auto. But now it wants to be the clone of pretty much everything, ever.

READ more

19 Aug 2013 // 12:00 AM

Tales of Xillia

The slow beginning eventually builds to a crazy mid-game twist that puts the world at stake and rockets the plot forward.

READ more

16 Aug 2013 // 12:00 AM

The Night of the Rabbit

The Night of the Rabbit is essentially Harry Potter via Rupert Bear.

READ more
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

A Realm Reborn is Square Enix's chance at winning back an audience that had turned Final Fantasy XIV into a punchline.

READ more
Guacmelee: El Diablo’s Domain

El Diablo’s Domain is just jumping and fighting on a tight timer. Only one challenge stands out for its uniqueness. It’s absurd and dumb and so much fun.

READ more
From the Tabletop to the Screen, ‘Shadowrun Returns’

Now I know that Shadowrun has transitioned to the video game console before, but I haven't played a video game that has so reminded me of the structure of tabletop role-playing games as Shadowrun Returns in, well, maybe ever.

READ more

5 Aug 2013 // 3:00 AM

Hotline Miami (PS3)

Hotline Miami is an introspective surrealist dive into the mind of a maniac who lives within the neon gloss of the late '80s.

READ more
The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief - Episode 1

The Raven is a wonderful little mystery that doesn’t skimp on the dark undertones, but it doesn’t revel in them either.

READ more
‘Rogue Legacy’: Old Money and Better Living through Dungeon Delving

You have potentially hundreds of generations available to help you to get this game done. No big rush. Just relax and storm that dungeon again.

READ more
The Walking Dead: 400 Days

The general absence of zombies in the new game never struck me as odd. They do exist, but overall, they never feel like a threat. At the same time, there seems to be no time in the game when you don’t feel threatened.

READ more

22 Jul 2013 // 4:40 AM

Scourge: Outbreak

After a few hours it’s hard not to feel like Scourge: Outbreak actively hates you. The game seems to delight in wasting your time.

READ more

17 Jul 2013 // 12:00 AM

GRID 2

GRID 2 is not fun. It's immaculately produced, tense, and occasionally exhilarating, but it is not fun.

READ more

15 Jul 2013 // 3:50 AM

NCAA Football 14

The game’s lack of realism shines through as strongly as ever. Perhaps these are the disillusioned words of a seasoned NCAA player. Those new to the series will likely find much to enjoy in NCAA 14, but for anyone who has played the series year after dutiful year, this may be the breaking point.

READ more

12 Jul 2013 // 5:15 AM

Scurvy Scallywags

The news that the creator of The Secret of Monkey Island has made a new comedy pirate game should bring joy to any gaming enthusiast’s ears.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

2015 Nelsonville Music Festival - 28-31 May, 2015 (Photos)

// Notes from the Road

"Merle Haggard, St. Vincent, and the Flaming Lips headed up another eclectic year at Ohio's Nelsonville Music Festival.

READ the article