Reviews > Music
The Morning Stars: You Cant Change The World

This Canadian outfit of brothers Mars and Michael Ivic concoct sweet ‘60s era pop on the cheerful Brit-tinged “Hearts for the Living”.

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:03 PM

Damiera: M(US)IC

Damiera plays hyperkinetic, angular indie rock, echoing At the Drive-In, or Coheed & Cambria without the weird prog-rock tendencies.

READ more
Peter and the Wolf: Lightness

I've been putting this off for ages, after seeing Red Hunter's puzzling set at CMJ and feeling that there was already maybe one too many willfully eccentric freak folkers wending his costumed, ethnic-instrumented way through the cosmos.

READ more
Northern Alliance: For the Grains of Sand

The Scottish indie rock band apparently rarely plays live, but for the singing alone I would encourage them to do so.

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Adrianne: Sweet Mistake

You may have heard Adrianne’s song in the Courtney Cox series Friends, er, I mean Dirt.

READ more
My Brightest Diamond: Tear It Down

Cautious, respectful remix album of My Brightest Diamond's operatic debut by a mostly unfamiliar set of remixers

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

!!!: Myth Takes

Myth Takes seems to take great pleasure in burying the band's best virtues.

READ more
Steve Swallow with Robert Creeley: So There

Veteran bassist Steve Swallow fuses poetry to jazz and a string quartet, to mixed results.

READ more
Lovedrug: Everything Starts Where It Ends

This album won’t change your life, but for simply being a rock album, it’s a surprising joy.

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Ampop: Sail to the Moon

Iceland's hot new trio bring soothing orchestral numbers and cool indie tracks with the release of their fourth LP.

READ more

5 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Hauschka: Room to Expand

For Hauschka, the pleasures of piano preparation seem to lie in subtle timbral manipulations and accents.

READ more

4 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Air: Pocket Symphony

Fourth full-length from the French duo of Jean-Benoit Dunckel and Nicolas Godin maintains a modernist style while seriously decreasing the stakes.

READ more
My Teenage Stride: Ears Like Golden Bats

A soft jangle of guitars, a hazy, New Zealand production sheen, the gently melancholy yet sort of humorous lyrics had me thinking I'd stumbled onto some lost Flying Nun outtake.

READ more
Various Artists: Party-Keller Vol. 2

German rare groove DJ Florian Keller picks refreshments of soul, funk, and disco by contemporary producers.

READ more
Oscar Peterson: Perfect Peterson

Calling any collection of music perfect is a little presumptuous. But while no musician is perfect, Oscar Peterson comes mighty close to flawless.

READ more

4 Mar 2007 // 9:00 PM

Lang Lang: Dragon Songs

The latest Lang Lang disc is a window onto an unfamiliar world of music, and a document of a pianist beginning to find his mature musical voice.

READ more
Albert Hammond, Jr.: Yours to Keep

A sweet, disposable confection from the Strokes' lead rhythm guitarist.

READ more
Mary Chapin Carpenter: The Calling

While there are several songs here full of hope, Mary Chapin Carpenter’s latest work is led by tracks that are honest, dark, and turbulent.

READ more
Love of Diagrams: Love of Diagrams

Once Love of Diagrams manage to unhinge their voices while keeping a lock down on the groove, their impact will be unnervingly devastating.

READ more

4 Mar 2007 // 8:58 PM

Partyline: Zombie Terrorist

Partyline’s florescent spunk rock is annoyingly repetitive and uses juvenile, rebellious lyrics to tackle overdone themes.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Cage the Elephant Ignite Central Park with Kickoff for Summerstage Season

// Notes from the Road

"Cage the Elephant rocked two sold-out nights at Summerstage and return to NYC for a free show May 29th. Info on that and a preview of the full Summerstage schedule is here.

READ the article