Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Reviews > Music

Monday, October 8 2001

Beachwood Sparks: Once We Were Trees

Beachwood Sparks is a California band; it is the Byrds and the Beach Boys, Love and Buffalo Springfield, the Minutemen and Rank and File. Country-rock or alt-country might be the easiest tags to hang round the band's neck, but it doesn't follow the rules of that genre or any other, it offers more than any pigeonhole could hold.


Aveo: Bridge to the Northern Lights

M10o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Sunday, October 7 2001

Stars of the Lid: The Tired Sounds of Stars of the Lid

It tires you out, makes you feel like you just awakened from either a week-long nap or a coma, as you tend to lose track of time when attempting to sit through it all.


Saturday, October 6 2001

Tuesday, October 2 2001

Syd Barrett: The Best of Syd Barrett: Wouldn’t You Miss Me?

If buying a Syd Barrett CD is our electronic equivalent of paying to watch the crazies, what sort of vicarious experience do we hope to get for our $12.99? Whatever we see in Syd probably reveals more about our own delusions than about his.


Monday, October 1 2001

Various Artists: Bare Essentials Vol. 1

M50o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


    Violet Indiana: Special

M60o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Steve Tyrell: Standard Time

M70o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Ray Romano: Live at Carnegie Hall

M80o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


    Keith Jarrett / Gary Peacock / Jack DeJohnette: Inside Out

M90o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


The Gipsy Kings: Somos Gitanos

M100o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Garbage: Beautifulgarbage

M110o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Four Tet: Pause

M120o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


DJ Irene: Global Housediva 2:  Live in Ibiza

M130o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Call and Response: self-titled

Even if you're a die-hard Slipknot fan and you can't stand anything with keyboards or women, you'll have to admit that Call and Response make flawless pop.


Sunday, September 30 2001

Béla Fleck: Perpetual Motion

Perpetual Motion is Fleck’s latest project, a daring foray into Baroque, Classical and Romantic art music.


Thursday, September 27 2001

Tess Wiley: Rainy Day Assembly

M160o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Now It’s Overhead: self-titled

M170o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Wednesday, September 26 2001

Hilmar Orn Hilmarsson & Sigur Rós: Angels of the Universe

M180o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Wayne Escoffery: Times Change

M190o93H7pQ09L8X1t49cHY01Z5j4TT91fGfr


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.