Reviews > Music
Mic Harrison and The High Score: Push Me On Home

Push Me on Home represents a long overdue opportunity for a larger audience to recognize what those in and around the Knoxville, Tennessee music scene

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:04 PM

Ben Weaver: Paper Sky

Weaver shines on his rustic, assured fifth album.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:04 PM

Terminal Sound System: Compressor

Terminal Sound System, the project of Australian artist Skye Klein, does a number on the sounds of drum 'n' bass and emerges as something closer to the skittish patterings of garage.

READ more
Haunt: As Blue As Your Dying Eyes

Haunt’s Matthew Hebert is a firm believer in the power of songs, a conviction that garnered his former band, Ware River Club, increased attention

READ more
Various Artists: A Tribute to Joni Mitchell

Björk, Elvis Costello, Sufjan Stevens, Prince and more pay tribute to Joni Mitchell.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

Carla Thomas: The Queen Alone

Stax Records' reissue campaign continues with the 40th-anniversary re-release of the Queen of Memphis Soul's defining album.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

Gaskets: Loose Change

Light, breezy, electronic-laced ditties.

READ more
Sean Noonan Brewed By Noon: Stories to Tell

It's fusion, Jim, but not as we know it.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

Charmingly Awkward is essentially an album of cover songs, as we hear Street to Nowhere play their version of Indie's Greatest Hits.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

The Veils: Nux Vomica

It's the second great Arcade Fire album of the year.

READ more
The Band: The Best of A Musical History

The music is superb, but who's going to buy this?

READ more
Ben Davis and the Jetts / Des Ark: Battle of the Beards

Together, Davis and Des Ark might craft a compelling album; perhaps that is the next step.

READ more
The Bar-Kays: House Party

A classic act makes a major stumble by being the wrong kind of copy cats.

READ more
Winterpills: The Light Divides

Second album of shimmering folk-pop from one of New England's finest rising exports.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

Various Artists: Jewface

In the hands of William Shakespeare this type of situation might be considered anti-Semitic, but Irving Berlin's fellow Yids laugh at their own expense.

READ more

25 Apr 2007 // 11:04 PM

Captain Yonder: Good-Bye, Woland!

Captain Yonder continue to deliver spooky country-folk tales of ethereal, sepia-tinged beauty.

READ more
The Feeling: Twelve Stops and Home

UK quintet reach US shores with their excellent debut, mixing ebullient power pop and catchy rock with melodies worthy of Neil Finn.

READ more

25 Apr 2007 // 11:02 PM

Christopher Blue: Room Tones

Fans of singer-songwriters like Sondre Lerche, Andy Stochansky, and Danny Michel would enjoy this album.

READ more

25 Apr 2007 // 11:01 PM

Keiko Matsui: Moyo

Disparate musics? Voices? What is going on? In a word, everything.

READ more
John Lindberg, Karl Berger: Duets 1

Melodic, distinctive, and shapely piano and bass duets, more warm concert room than "free jazz".

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

The Moving Pixels Podcast Becomes the 'Beholder'

// Moving Pixels

"It's easy to think that we would never be complicit with the dictates of an authoritarian regime, but Beholder reveals how complicated such choices can become.

READ the article