Reviews > Music
Willy Mason: Where the Humans Eat

Mason's songs hum and thrill with the kind of poetry that gets you labeled 'the next Dylan', but his music is more firmly planted within the folk-blues genre.

READ more

4 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Gomez: How We Operate

Yeah, it's a rave review of a Gomez record from Matt Cibula. Big surprise.

READ more

4 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Mogwai: Mr. Beast

In which Mogwai retain all their charm while still eating you alive.

READ more

4 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Rammer: Cancer

No life 'til leather, Rammer's gonna kick some ass tonight.

READ more
Joey DeFrancesco: Organic Vibes

Hammond B-3 plus Bobby Hutcherson equals deeply sophisticated groove.

READ more
Joe Satriani: Super Colossal

There is a very good reason why Joe Satriani has a reputation for being one of the best guitarists alive: because it's true.

READ more

4 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Smoking Popes: At Metro

The Smoking Popes mark their triumphant return with one pretty fantastic live album. Reunions rarely feel so vital.

READ more
Marshall Chapman: Mellowicious!

A self-proclaimed tall girl who looks to the heavens and sees stars, Chapman writes songs that sound as natural as a conversation with a friend.

READ more

4 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Juana Molina: Son

The sun is warm and we're both intelligent people. Let's have some fun.

READ more
Various Artists: Cavalcade of the Scars

The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

READ more

3 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

The Black Angels: Passover

As clumsily poetic and irresistible as a city storm, these BJM devotees mount an engaging psych-rock rebellion.

READ more
The Green Arrows: 4-Track Recording Session

If you told me that this is a perfect representation of the band as they were during the 1970s, I'd believe you without a qualm.

READ more

3 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Dub Tractor: Hideout

Minimal, pretty indie-tronic melancholy. Especially recommended if you're nostalgic for vinyl hiss.

READ more
Jon Auer: Songs from the Year of Our Demise

Posies co-frontman finally drops his much-delayed solo debut, the best thing he's done in a decade or so, with the hoped-for lovely melodies and incisive lyrics. The frosting's back on the beater.

READ more
The Charlatans UK: Simpatico

On the evidence of Simpatico, Tim Burgess has been spending all his time on Negril Beach, smoking fattie after fattie and getting self-indulgently down with his inner trust-fund rasta self.

READ more

3 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Steve Khan: The Green Field

A unique, strong, and serious jazz guitar album from a modern master.

READ more
Victory at Sea: All Your Things Are Gone

Twelve years into their career, the dynamic trio from Boston deliver their finest album yet.

READ more

2 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

The Slackers: Peculiar

The Slackers establish a new benchmark for modern ska. And it's not just for the skankers.

READ more
Deadstring Brothers: Starving Winter Report

It took Stones to make this record.

READ more

2 May 2006 // 12:00 AM

Rahim: Ideal Lives

Rahim is something of a rarity -- a good band now that promises to get even better later.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article