Reviews > TV

3 Jun 2007 // 11:00 PM

Creature Comforts

Though the show doesn't exactly suffer for its sanitized inclinations, it's too willing to settle for obvious gags.

READ more

31 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

Lost

After Season Three's finale, Lost and I have made up now, and it looks like we're working towards a real future together. Finally.

READ more

30 May 2007 // 3:28 AM

Hidden Palms

The kids in Hidden Palms grapple with death, addiction, and guilt. They're too grown up and too young at the same time.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Veronica Mars

An uneven season of Veronica Mars only means that maybe a third of the episodes were terrific, and the rest were merely enjoyable, clever, and stylish.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Veronica Mars

The final scenes of Veronica Mars offered no sense of closure. Rather, we were left with the sense we'd been denied a genuinely thrilling fourth season.

READ more

25 May 2007 // 4:00 AM

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

Premiering this Sunday on HBO, Bury My Heart illustrates the tensions, presumptions, and inequities represented by the Dawes Act.

READ more

25 May 2007 // 3:59 AM

Heroes

Heroes' set-up was both simple ("Save the cheerleader, save the world") and impressively complex.

READ more

22 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

The Office

The Office offers someone we can always laugh at: Michael (Steve Carell), arguably the most sympathetic asshole on television, ever.

READ more

17 May 2007 // 2:00 AM

The Gilmore Girls

Though its fans were fiercely loyal, The Gilmore Girls skated from season to season with marginal ratings.

READ more

14 May 2007 // 2:00 AM

The Amazing Race: All-Stars

You travel a gazillion miles and work your cute little Beauty Queen butt to the bone to reach the final three, and then Bertram Van Munster gives away a million dollars on the equivalent of a coin toss. Quelle crock.

READ more

10 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

51 Birch Street

As revealed repeatedly, variously, and hauntingly in 51 Birch Street, marriage is a different struggle every day.

READ more

8 May 2007 // 3:40 AM

The Unit

The Unit doesn't include you in the parameters of the performance. You have to figure yourself who's lying to whom and when it matters.

READ more

7 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

The Riches

Greed and amorality are the real currency of "the American dream," as The Riches demonstrates by equating small-time grifting with large-scale corporate corruption.

READ more

2 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Human Giant

Human Giant rejuvenates sketch comedy with edgy, spontaneous humor, challenging the buttoned-up, not-quite-real-improv comedies on network television.

READ more

1 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Brando

Brando is most original and inspiring when it looks at Brando's other work. As Bobby Seale remembers, "If I said, 'Constitutional democratic civil human rights,' I mean, it lit him up."

READ more

30 Apr 2007 // 1:00 AM

Drive

Deemed a failure after just four episodes, Drive was the only new drama to catch my imagination this year.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 6:01 AM

The Trials of Darryl Hunt

Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg's extraordinary documentary, The Trials of Darryl Hunt, which premieres on HBO tonight, traces the case that divided Winston-Salem for 20 years.

READ more

26 Apr 2007 // 6:00 AM

The Tudors

The Tudors is pointed in its critical assessment of Enlightenment philosophy, whose legacies (individualism, liberal humanism) still adhere in today's world.

READ more

24 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

The Sopranos

The problem with the Soprano family, as Bobby chided Tony, is that they "always go too far." It's also a primary reason the show is so compelling.

READ more

18 Apr 2007 // 11:00 PM

Painkiller Jane

Like some televisual black hole, Painkiller Jane has sucked in random elements of popular sci fi and spat out fodder for the mildly depraved.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Cage the Elephant Ignite Central Park with Kickoff for Summerstage Season

// Notes from the Road

"Cage the Elephant rocked two sold-out nights at Summerstage and return to NYC for a free show May 29th. Info on that and a preview of the full Summerstage schedule is here.

READ the article