Reviews > TV

22 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

The L Word

Scared and excited, Phyllis became a symbol of what's best and most complex about The L Word, that a secure sense of identity is never easy.

READ more

22 Jan 2007 // 1:00 AM

24: Day Six

As 24's sixth day takes shape, it looks as though moral certainty isn't what it used to be.

READ more

17 Jan 2007 // 11:00 PM

The Apprentice: Los Angeles

This season, Trump has is no longer merely loitering around the line that divides irony from delusion; he's jumped headlong into some totally scary, reality-free netherworld.

READ more

16 Jan 2007 // 11:00 PM

Rome

The lofty political rhetoric disguising base power-grabbing in Rome is all too familiar in a contemporary US context.

READ more

14 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Lincoln Heights

"You just don't get it," sighs Donelle when Eddie comes with happy talk about what may come "tomorrow." "I don't have tomorrow and there's no way that I'll ever be grown up."

READ more

14 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Gay, Straight, or Taken?

Why not call it what it is? The show is about gaydar, that mythical power of instant identification that gay men and some women seem to wield so naturally.

READ more

10 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

The L Word

The L Word is more enjoyable to watch with a group, mostly because subtlety is not one of its strengths.

READ more

10 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Im From Rolling Stone

I'm From Rolling Stone is what happens when magazines stop caring about content and start hiring underqualified idiots in hopes of a circulation boost.

READ more
The Knights of Prosperity / In Case of Emergency

So here's the pitches I imagine occurred for ABC's new sitcoms: What if Danny Ocean looked and acted like Homer Simpson and not George Clooney? Or, what if the high school valedictorian ended up a masseuse at Korean "massage" parlor?

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 8:59 PM

Armed & Famous

The show is more like Celebrity Fit Club than Flavor of Love, asking its stars to tone down rather than act out. It's disturbing but it’s not ugly.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 12:00 AM

Dirt

Apparently, this is how you do dirt in Hollywood. Surfaces seem bright and pretty until they're subjected to the grainy, garish tabloid long-lens shot.

READ more
Grease: Youre the One that I Want

A theatre director told me once that you can judge the quality of a show by how long it takes before you look at your watch. I was watching the clock 12 minutes into the 90-minute premiere.

READ more

11 Dec 2006 // 4:55 AM

Sleeper Cell

As Darwyn and Farik cat-and-mouse their way to an inevitable showdown, their stakes turn sensationally and reductively personal.

READ more

29 Nov 2006 // 3:02 AM

Day Break

You might say this day is refigured in Brett's own body, frequently bloodied -- cut, beaten, shot -- and something of an objective corollary for his psychic state.

READ more

28 Nov 2006 // 2:00 AM

My Boys

The sports metaphors are laid out as if for beginners, but Jordana Spiro is both charismatic and accommodating, good on her own and in a group.

READ more

13 Nov 2006 // 9:00 PM

3 Lbs.

Replacing the best new series of the season, Smith, CBS' hospital melodrama sticks closely to formula in its first episode.

READ more

6 Nov 2006 // 9:40 PM

Directed by John Ford

Ford's brusque manner is well known, inspiring equal parts fear, respect, and awe among the many interviewees assembled for this look-back at his career and reputation.

READ more

5 Nov 2006 // 6:00 PM

HBO’s Hacking Democracy

Hacking Democracy is full of moments when authorities are essentially caught with their pants down and lie outright or offer utterly implausible explanations.

READ more

31 Oct 2006 // 11:00 PM

Masters of Horror

This season's Master of Horror series opens with three episodes where the kids suffer for their parents' mistakes, whether in judgment or fate.

READ more

23 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Project Runway

An appropriate alternative title for this season of Project Runway might be Project Run Amok.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Virtual Reality and Storytelling: What Happens When Art and Technology Collide?

// Moving Pixels

"Virtual reality is changing the face of entertainment, and I can see a future when I will find myself inside VR listening to some psych-rock while meditating on an asteroid.

READ the article