Reviews > TV

19 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Crumbs

Poking harsh fun at mental illness is risky business, and anyone who has faced psychological disorders may not find much to laugh at here.

READ more

18 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Sleeper Cell

Both terrorist and FBI agent mean to win, even when the costs are too great to bear.

READ more

18 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Distraction

When is a game show not really a game show? When it's an excuse for public humiliation called Distraction.

READ more

16 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Bachelor: Paris

For dark comedy, the show relies on its 25 wannabe Mrs. Bachelors, who must preen, banter, and scheme to keep their dream alive past opening night.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Dallas S.W.A.T.

We are stuck with our chosen pair during this first outing, and they do a poor job of selling what makes S.W.A.T. so 'special'.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Beauty and the Geek

This year, Mr. Kutcher, in his wisdom, has decided science will be better served if the girls lounge around by the pool in their bikinis, while the nerds present themselves for inspection one at a time.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Book of Daniel

Despite the recent fire and brimstone headlines, Daniel is a very familiar book.

READ more

11 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

E-Ring

Hopper plays McNulty with all kinds of pro-military gusto, though he's perpetually pissed off at the administration, because civilians tend to miss points and tactics.

READ more
The Biggest Loser - Special Edition

You could call this The Biggest Loser Lite, and since I like nothing better than a cheap laugh, I will.

READ more

10 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Four Kings

Women get the worst of it in Four Kings: they're harpies or self-absorbed princesses.

READ more

10 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Dancing with the Stars

I anticipated lots of debonair campiness. Sadly, George Hamilton's biggest mistake in the first episode was to make his desire to be Season Two's John O'Hurley so overt.

READ more

9 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Rollergirls

If the boldest thing you do all week is a little unauthorised web surfing from your corporate cubicle, then you should celebrate the Lonestar Rollergirls and their refusal to renounce violence or dress appropriately.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 1:00 AM

Daisy Does America

I don't need Daisy Donovan to tell me we're weird, that we behave irrationally.

READ more

6 Dec 2005 // 1:00 AM

Homecoming

The genius of Homecoming is that it speaks an antic-seeming truth to power, even as U.S. news media can't.

READ more

5 Dec 2005 // 1:00 AM

ER / The West Wing

The West Wing's chief relationships have been tested and compromised, turning Sorkin's noble, fast-walking liberals into more than the sum of their quips and ideals.

READ more

28 Nov 2005 // 1:00 AM

Rome

If there is a civics lesson to be gleaned from Rome, it is to beware the passions inflamed by a government in the midst of an identity crisis.

READ more

16 Nov 2005 // 1:00 AM

The West Wing

There are growing overlaps between politics, news, and entertainment. Hard news has taken a back seat to feature journalism and talk shows, real politics to realpolitik.

READ more

8 Nov 2005 // 1:00 AM

Masters of Horror

Before you know it, the moon man is getting scissors in the eye and homemade arrows through the shoulder. It's horror Home Alone-style.

READ more

7 Nov 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Colbert Report

What The Colbert Report ridicules, then, is our tendency to listen most closely to those with whom we agree, whose shining unrealities make us feel good.

READ more
The Crusades: Crescent & The Cross

When a battle reaches its peak, this documentary's melange of visual and aural resources -- scholarly commentary, digital animation-assisted recreations, maps, and a commentator illustrating the movements at present ruins -- reaches a fever pitch.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'SUPERHOTLine Miami' Is Exactly What It Sounds Like

// Moving Pixels

"SUPERHOTLine Miami provides a perfect case study in how slow-motion affects the pace and tone of a game.

READ the article