Reviews > TV

21 Jun 2007 // 3:00 AM

Street Thief

The thief is cocky, leading the camera crew along on his adventures; they're giddy at the chance to shoot crime as it happens, from across the street or inside his lair.

READ more

20 Jun 2007 // 3:15 AM

Lil Bush

Lil' Bush barely tweaks an administration whose approval rating is 29%, and does so without offering any fresh insight.

READ more

20 Jun 2007 // 3:00 AM

This American Life

When This American Life made the jump to Showtime’s cable lineup this past winter after 12 years on the radio, Ira Glass brought his usual skepticism to the transition.

READ more

19 Jun 2007 // 1:00 AM

The Sopranos: Series Finale

A priest once explained to Carmela, "God understands that we all live in the middle of tensions." David Chase understands that too.

READ more

18 Jun 2007 // 2:00 AM

The Closer

At the office this season, Brenda faces ongoing budget issues that threaten to break up the team she spent two TNT seasons convincing they were a team.

READ more

14 Jun 2007 // 2:15 AM

John from Cincinnati

John Monad looks to be John the Baptist by way of Rain Man, with supernatural gifts and virtually unlimited credit.

READ more
The Next Best Thing: Who is the Greatest Celebrity Impersonator?

The woman who impersonated Roseanne was great. But we've seen her once... what more could she possibly do to impress us?

READ more
Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List

In the years since My Life on the D-List premiered, Griffin has moved up. She's selling out top venues and rubbing shoulders with Barbara Walters.

READ more

5 Jun 2007 // 12:05 AM

Robin Hood

Robin Hood makes a quick anti-war comment, establishing right-on credentials for the benefit of the Islington classes, but doesn't pursue broader issues of taxation and social justice.

READ more

3 Jun 2007 // 10:00 PM

Creature Comforts

Though the show doesn't exactly suffer for its sanitized inclinations, it's too willing to settle for obvious gags.

READ more

31 May 2007 // 12:00 AM

Lost

After Season Three's finale, Lost and I have made up now, and it looks like we're working towards a real future together. Finally.

READ more

30 May 2007 // 2:28 AM

Hidden Palms

The kids in Hidden Palms grapple with death, addiction, and guilt. They're too grown up and too young at the same time.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 10:00 PM

Veronica Mars

An uneven season of Veronica Mars only means that maybe a third of the episodes were terrific, and the rest were merely enjoyable, clever, and stylish.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 10:00 PM

Veronica Mars

The final scenes of Veronica Mars offered no sense of closure. Rather, we were left with the sense we'd been denied a genuinely thrilling fourth season.

READ more

25 May 2007 // 3:00 AM

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

Premiering this Sunday on HBO, Bury My Heart illustrates the tensions, presumptions, and inequities represented by the Dawes Act.

READ more

25 May 2007 // 2:59 AM

Heroes

Heroes' set-up was both simple ("Save the cheerleader, save the world") and impressively complex.

READ more

22 May 2007 // 10:00 PM

The Office

The Office offers someone we can always laugh at: Michael (Steve Carell), arguably the most sympathetic asshole on television, ever.

READ more

17 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

The Gilmore Girls

Though its fans were fiercely loyal, The Gilmore Girls skated from season to season with marginal ratings.

READ more

14 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

The Amazing Race: All-Stars

You travel a gazillion miles and work your cute little Beauty Queen butt to the bone to reach the final three, and then Bertram Van Munster gives away a million dollars on the equivalent of a coin toss. Quelle crock.

READ more

10 May 2007 // 12:00 AM

51 Birch Street

As revealed repeatedly, variously, and hauntingly in 51 Birch Street, marriage is a different struggle every day.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Exposition Dumps Don't Need Dialogue in 'Virginia'

// Moving Pixels

"Virginia manages to have an exposition dump without wordy exposition.

READ the article