Reviews > TV

13 Jul 2007 // 8:55 AM

State of Mind

At long last, Lifetime has discovered what's been missing from TV: Theresa Randle.

READ more

9 Jul 2007 // 3:15 AM

Spielberg on Spielberg

Partly charming and self-deprecating, and partly quite pleased with his own manifest genius, Steven Spielberg is most assuredly a skillful storyteller.

READ more

5 Jul 2007 // 2:00 AM

Burn Notice

Westen is presented as equal parts Sam Spade, Jason Bourne, and Angus MacGyver.

READ more

2 Jul 2007 // 1:00 AM

Big Love

Big Love generally handles the Henricksons' faith respectfully, but there's no forgetting that they are polygamists.

READ more

2 Jul 2007 // 12:59 AM

Coma

Gently and intelligently, Coma follows the effects of brain injury on patients and, even more acutely, family members.

READ more

21 Jun 2007 // 4:05 AM

Flight of the Conchords

Though the show occasionally lapses into the "cringe comedy" mode, made popular by The Office and Curb Your Enthusiasm, Flight of the Conchords is also quite sweet.

READ more

21 Jun 2007 // 4:00 AM

Street Thief

The thief is cocky, leading the camera crew along on his adventures; they're giddy at the chance to shoot crime as it happens, from across the street or inside his lair.

READ more

20 Jun 2007 // 4:15 AM

Lil Bush

Lil' Bush barely tweaks an administration whose approval rating is 29%, and does so without offering any fresh insight.

READ more

20 Jun 2007 // 4:00 AM

This American Life

When This American Life made the jump to Showtime’s cable lineup this past winter after 12 years on the radio, Ira Glass brought his usual skepticism to the transition.

READ more

19 Jun 2007 // 2:00 AM

The Sopranos: Series Finale

A priest once explained to Carmela, "God understands that we all live in the middle of tensions." David Chase understands that too.

READ more

18 Jun 2007 // 3:00 AM

The Closer

At the office this season, Brenda faces ongoing budget issues that threaten to break up the team she spent two TNT seasons convincing they were a team.

READ more

14 Jun 2007 // 3:15 AM

John from Cincinnati

John Monad looks to be John the Baptist by way of Rain Man, with supernatural gifts and virtually unlimited credit.

READ more
The Next Best Thing: Who is the Greatest Celebrity Impersonator?

The woman who impersonated Roseanne was great. But we've seen her once... what more could she possibly do to impress us?

READ more
Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List

In the years since My Life on the D-List premiered, Griffin has moved up. She's selling out top venues and rubbing shoulders with Barbara Walters.

READ more

5 Jun 2007 // 1:05 AM

Robin Hood

Robin Hood makes a quick anti-war comment, establishing right-on credentials for the benefit of the Islington classes, but doesn't pursue broader issues of taxation and social justice.

READ more

3 Jun 2007 // 11:00 PM

Creature Comforts

Though the show doesn't exactly suffer for its sanitized inclinations, it's too willing to settle for obvious gags.

READ more

31 May 2007 // 1:00 AM

Lost

After Season Three's finale, Lost and I have made up now, and it looks like we're working towards a real future together. Finally.

READ more

30 May 2007 // 3:28 AM

Hidden Palms

The kids in Hidden Palms grapple with death, addiction, and guilt. They're too grown up and too young at the same time.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Veronica Mars

An uneven season of Veronica Mars only means that maybe a third of the episodes were terrific, and the rest were merely enjoyable, clever, and stylish.

READ more

28 May 2007 // 11:00 PM

Veronica Mars

The final scenes of Veronica Mars offered no sense of closure. Rather, we were left with the sense we'd been denied a genuinely thrilling fourth season.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

The Moving Pixels Podcast Becomes the 'Beholder'

// Moving Pixels

"It's easy to think that we would never be complicit with the dictates of an authoritarian regime, but Beholder reveals how complicated such choices can become.

READ the article