Reviews > TV

5 Jul 2005 // 1:00 AM

Beauty and the Geek

Ashton Kutcher needs to get the memo: watching people embarrass themselves will only garner laughs for so long.

READ more

30 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Being Bobby Brown

Brown protests, 'I just wanna be normal, okay?' And that's why he's doing a reality show, to be normal.

READ more
The eBay Effect: Inside a Worldwide Obsession

As host David Faber says, 'If you're not listening to the Community, they can become downright un-neighborly.'

READ more

28 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Hit Me Baby One More Time

NBC's has-been-celebrity version of American Idol brings to television live music that you'd otherwise have to go to car shows to hear.

READ more

27 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

The 4400

The storyline pitches The 4400 deep into schlock sci-fi-horror territory: absolute power applied absolutely and also illogically, to maximize sensation.

READ more

24 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Six Feet Under

Four years of torturing the Fishers has worn my patience thin.

READ more

22 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Comeback

Valerie Cherish is a far cry from Phoebe Buffay. Egocentric and manipulative, she's less outright hateful than passive-aggressive.

READ more

21 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Rescue Me

Rescue Me's rhythms are uneven, its tone sometimes spastic, its humor bleak, and its insights into masculine melodramatic pain as acute as any show on TV.

READ more

20 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

I Want to Be a Hilton

It's nearly impossible to describe the many offenses efficiently compacted within the excruciating hour that is I Want to Be a Hilton.

READ more
Average Joe: The Joes Strike Back

Now, there are no average Joes. Only Joes who haven't had facelifts yet.

READ more

15 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Hell’s Kitchen

After calling two diners 'bimbos,' chef Gordon Ramsay tells them to go see their plastic surgeon, causing the women to storm out of the restaurant.

READ more

14 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Lost

This is a story about human beings who were, in some way, lost well before they boarded their flight.

READ more

13 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Family Guy / American Dad

The timetable for studio animation is slow, which means that American Dad's political jokes are dated as soon as they're written.

READ more

9 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

The L Word

Although there is probably someone in L.A. just like Mark -- art house aesthetic on the outside masking a Joe Francis attitude on the inside -- he never seems completely believable.

READ more

8 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Blow Out: Season Two

Jonathan constructs himself as part Everyman, part tough businessman, part amalgam of various movie stars.

READ more

7 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Queer Eye

What's not fun about watching grown, ostensibly macho men suffer back and neck waxes?

READ more

6 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Desperate Housewives

I'm stunned that Wisteria Lane is rife with homicidal nut-jobs and no one seems to care.

READ more
Extreme Makeover: Home Edition

The show is premised on the Four Horsemen of the Melodramatic Apocalypse -- Death, Dismemberment, Disease, and Disenfranchisement.

READ more

2 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Everwood

Everwood lets us think we know where the story is going. Refreshingly, we're always just a little bit wrong.

READ more

1 Jun 2005 // 1:00 AM

Sports Kids Moms and Dads

It's hard to get past the idea that the underdeveloped feelings of adolescents shouldn't be used in such a heartless manner.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

'SUPERHOTLine Miami' Is Exactly What It Sounds Like

// Moving Pixels

"SUPERHOTLine Miami provides a perfect case study in how slow-motion affects the pace and tone of a game.

READ the article