Reviews > TV

25 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

South Beach

Despite the seeming scandal and sensationalism, the series is bland and unmemorable.

READ more

25 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

American Idol 5

American Idol is an entertainment industry shark, a brutally efficient money-making machine.

READ more

24 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Shield

The betrayals work in all directions at once.

READ more

24 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Love Monkey

A hip, sophisticated look at the music business and the love lives of four 30-something New York guys is not what you expect from CBS.

READ more

23 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Skating with Celebrities

Follow Todd's lead, and let figure skating's sequin-spangled freak flag fly.

READ more
Emily’s Reasons Why Not

The problem with the latest pretender to the Sex and the City throne is that it doesn't take the mimicry far enough.

READ more

19 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Crumbs

Poking harsh fun at mental illness is risky business, and anyone who has faced psychological disorders may not find much to laugh at here.

READ more

18 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Sleeper Cell

Both terrorist and FBI agent mean to win, even when the costs are too great to bear.

READ more

18 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Distraction

When is a game show not really a game show? When it's an excuse for public humiliation called Distraction.

READ more

16 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Bachelor: Paris

For dark comedy, the show relies on its 25 wannabe Mrs. Bachelors, who must preen, banter, and scheme to keep their dream alive past opening night.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Dallas S.W.A.T.

We are stuck with our chosen pair during this first outing, and they do a poor job of selling what makes S.W.A.T. so 'special'.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Beauty and the Geek

This year, Mr. Kutcher, in his wisdom, has decided science will be better served if the girls lounge around by the pool in their bikinis, while the nerds present themselves for inspection one at a time.

READ more

12 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Book of Daniel

Despite the recent fire and brimstone headlines, Daniel is a very familiar book.

READ more

11 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

E-Ring

Hopper plays McNulty with all kinds of pro-military gusto, though he's perpetually pissed off at the administration, because civilians tend to miss points and tactics.

READ more
The Biggest Loser - Special Edition

You could call this The Biggest Loser Lite, and since I like nothing better than a cheap laugh, I will.

READ more

10 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Four Kings

Women get the worst of it in Four Kings: they're harpies or self-absorbed princesses.

READ more

10 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Dancing with the Stars

I anticipated lots of debonair campiness. Sadly, George Hamilton's biggest mistake in the first episode was to make his desire to be Season Two's John O'Hurley so overt.

READ more

9 Jan 2006 // 1:00 AM

Rollergirls

If the boldest thing you do all week is a little unauthorised web surfing from your corporate cubicle, then you should celebrate the Lonestar Rollergirls and their refusal to renounce violence or dress appropriately.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 1:00 AM

Daisy Does America

I don't need Daisy Donovan to tell me we're weird, that we behave irrationally.

READ more

6 Dec 2005 // 1:00 AM

Homecoming

The genius of Homecoming is that it speaks an antic-seeming truth to power, even as U.S. news media can't.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

The Vast Loneliness of 'No Man's Sky'

// Moving Pixels

"You cannot escape yourself in No Man's Sky. There is little to do but analyze the self.

READ the article