Call for Music Writers... Rock, Indie, Hip-hop, R&B, Electronic, Americana, Metal, World and More

Reviews

Friday, March 29 2002

Reverend Horton Heat + Nashville Pussy

Reverend Horton Heat Nashville Pussy As I arrive at the Irving Plaza just a few minutes before Nashville Pussy are to begin their show, I


The North Mississippi Allstars

S E T    L I S T 51 PhantomSugartownLord Have MercyFreedom HighwayShake Em On DownThe Thrill Is GoneUp Over YonderSnakes in My BushesDrinking Muddy


Gorillaz

OK, imagine this. You’re standing in the beautiful Aragon Ballroom in Chicago watching the latest hyped multimedia event. You’d right click on the


Clem Snide + John Vanderslice + Short Stack

Driving, driving, driving. Listening to music and driving. Driving, driving, missing the exit off I-495 and driving. You’d think there’d be more signage


Ryan Adams + Leona Naess

Brown Sugar & the Emperor of Wyoming Songbirds of the rock era have never had it easy in the pop arena. Some, like Joni Mitchell,


Saturday, March 9 2002

Acoustic Hot Tuna

Hot Tuna—not so appealing if listed on a restaurant menu, but when mentioned on a marquee, the crowds do swarm. Starting out as an


Friday, March 8 2002

Swearing At Motorists

Swearing at Motorists: How to Make Use of the Word “Fuck” Leave it to the guys at Secretly Canadian (label to revered Songs: Ohia) to


Thursday, March 7 2002

Dressy Bessy

S E T    L I S T That’s WhyHangout WonderfulSuper EverythingLive to Tell AllIf You Should Try to Kiss HerJust Being MeBig


Monday, February 25 2002

Tom Russell

S E T    L I S T Snowing on RatonAngel of LyonMan From God Knows WhereSitting BullWhere the Dream BeginsThe Next Thing SmokingDown


Saturday, February 23 2002

Lazy Dog

Boy George and Perry Farrell may be the more famous names, but there’s no question right now that the most successful artist to make


Friday, February 22 2002

Donald Glaude + Misstress Barbara

Donald Glaude Misstress Barbara Anyone who thinks DJs are boring to watch has never witnessed the crowd-pleasing (or crowd-pandering, depending on your point of view)


Cake

Putting the “and” Back In “Rock and Roll” If you’re not thinking about it like we critics constantly force ourselves to do, you might


Thursday, February 21 2002

Rufus Wainwright

One thing you should know about Rufus Wainwright: he’s absolutely devastating live. He’s no stranger to studio technique, as his albums will attest,


Tuesday, February 19 2002

Rufus Wainwright

S E T    L I S T 1. Grey Gardens2. Greek Song3. Rebel Prince4. California5. The Consort6. Evil Angel7. In a Graveyard8. La Complainte


Concrete Blonde

Peaking during the big-hair, light-metal days of the late ‘80s and early ‘90s, Concrete Blonde stood alongside The Cure and Siouxsie and the Banshees as


Monday, February 18 2002

John Vanderslice + The Court and Spark

Vanderslice Celebrates DIY Spirit, But Band Can Play Their Instruments John Vanderslice is a charismatic musician, and one energetic, blonde cutey of a front man.


Sunday, February 17 2002

The New Pornographers

The New Pornographers are a pop musical revelation, a breath of fresh spring air blowing in a cloudy, smoky den of alt-numetal grunge-punk. From Vancouver,


Thursday, February 14 2002

The Divine Comedy

I could scarcely believe my eyes when going through the list of upcoming concerts. The Divine Comedy, Neil Hannon’s tribute band to Scott Walker,


Agnostic Front with TSOL on “The Unity Tour”

Halfway into Agnostic Front’s blistering set, it began to rain. Off-white gobs of something, with the consistency of gravy, dropped from the sky in


Wednesday, February 13 2002

Kleenex Girl Wonder

S E T    L I S T AmeliaTake My Heart and Rub itReunited AirlinesBack in Black (snippet)That’s Why I Write Such


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2015 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.