Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Reviews

Sunday, February 10 2002

Dick Dale

The Second Wave of Music from the Extreme A lot of people, the majority young indie-looking types, felt this was a show not to be


Saturday, February 9 2002

Jill Sobule

S E T    L I S T JetpackBitterJoey (Heatherton)(Ex-gay ministry song)MargaretKaren by NightThe Money Shot(I Live like a) FreshmanHeroesLucy at


Friday, February 8 2002

Baaba Maal

The Triumph of Pure Sound Baaba Maal was supposed to be onstage at 8:00 p.m., and now it’s 8:25, and the crowd is getting as


Thursday, February 7 2002

Chris Smither

We had only been there five minutes and already I was annoyed. Having never been to McCabe’s Guitar Shop, it was not remotely what


Tuesday, February 5 2002

Stereophonics + JJ72

Stereophonics JJ72 What Comes After Britpop? Or, the Stereophonics Take Your American Hype and Shove It While much of his fellow UK fraternity are busy


Monday, January 28 2002

The Charlatans UK + Starsailor

Starsailor S E T    L I S T StarsailorAlcoholicPoor Misguided FoolShe Just WeptFeverLullabyLove is HereTie Up My HandsGood Souls Charlatans + StarsailorIt’s All


Thursday, January 17 2002

Liars

By the night’s end, it seemed everything had been destroyed—including the band. Drummer Ron Albertson eyed his band mates venomously, gingerly re-erecting his


Wednesday, January 16 2002

Sleater-Kinney

I looked over my right shoulder. Just behind me, a couple was sharing a PDA unashamedly to the hot music. Their jaws were moving in


Friday, January 11 2002

The Handsome Family

The club was packed, and the crowd by the bar only shushed when Brett and Rennie, like a young, perverse Johnny and June, took the


Friday, December 28 2001

Evan Dando & The Rebel Crue 2002

Shunning Career As An Australian D.A.R.E. Counselor, Dando Appears Poised For Return Ah, yes . . . the comeback. Americans love to root for the


Sunday, December 16 2001

Mercury Rev

S E T    L I S T The Funny BirdChainsTides of the MoonTonite It ShowsDelta Sun Bottleneck StompHolesFriterringLincoln’s EyeNite and FogLittle RhymesYou’


Saturday, December 15 2001

Rainer Maria + Yeah Yeah Yeahs + Ted Leo & the Pharmacists

The one thing you never want to hear at a concert, as the band takes the stage, with the lead singer conspicuously absent: “So I


Friday, December 14 2001

Drive By Truckers

They Caught Me Smilin’ Agin Forged in the fabled hamlet of Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the Drive-By Truckers are magnificent in concert. Magnificent, that is, if


Wednesday, December 12 2001

Blonde Redhead

Demon pop. All I could think watching Blonde Redhead’s two hour set at New York’s Irving Plaza was that this band must surely


Sunday, December 9 2001

Starsailor

Wait—did he drop the guitar on purpose? The song continued, but James Walsh quit playing in the midst of the action, visibly overwhelmed and


Saturday, December 8 2001

Nikka Costa

Nikka Costa is Jesse Helms’ worst nightmare come to rock your town. If Nikka Costa didn’t exist, Prince would have to invent her. Thirty-three


Friday, November 30 2001

John Hiatt and the Goners

“I‘m not thinking ahead / I’m just getting there / And if you want / You can help me steer”, states John Hiatt matter-of-factly during an


Thursday, November 29 2001

Goldfrapp: 30 Nov 2001 - Los Angeles

Most Americans haven't heard of them, but in Britain, the press has spent the past year gushing over Goldfrapp, and rightly so.


Coldplay / JJ72

Coldplay JJ72 The Empire Strikes Back 4.45 pm: Yours truly is speaking on BBC Radio 5 about the band Creed. That’s the focus of the show,


Friday, November 16 2001

Reel Big Fish, Goldfinger, and Sugarcult

Fun to Be Had Both members of the SoCal punk scene located around Long Beach, California, Reel Big Fish and Goldfinger have been friends for


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.