The Dirtbombs Tackle Classic Detroit Techno on New Album (videos)

[5 January 2011]

By Eric Allen Been

Almost a decade after the Dirtbombs released their collection of reinterpretations of golden-era soul and funk songs called Ultraglide in Black, the Detroit-based garage rockers are set to let loose a follow up to the covers compilation. This time around the quintet will be paying homage to early Detroit techno classics on an album entitled Party Store

The Dirtbombs tackle on the nine-track full-length the three major pioneers of Detroit dance music, covering Juan Atkins and his Cybotron electro releases “Alleys of Your Mind” and “Cosmic Cars”, Derrick May’s seminal Rhythim is Rhythim track “Strings of Life” and Kevin Saunderson’s crossover anthem (recorded by his group Inner City) “Good Life”. In addition, they offer up a tribute to Detroit’s first techno record, A Number of Name’s 1981 future-disco classic “Sharevari”, and Carl Craig’s future-jazz techno cut “Bug in the Bassbin” (Craig, who released the track under his alias Innerzone Orchestra, plays modular synth on the 21-minute cover).   

This isn’t the first time the band’s frontman Mick Collins has dabbled in electronic music. Collins collaborated with the Detroit house/techno musician Moodymann (aka Kenny Dixon Jr.) on the 2008 OC EP and again in 2010 on the track “No Feedback”. Party Store, which will be available digitally, on CD and a triple LP, comes out 1 February 2011 on the garage punk label In the Red Records.

01 Cosmic Cars
02 Sharevari
03 Good Life (Basement Roots Mix)
04 Strings of Life
05 Alleys of Your Mind
06 Bug in the Bassbin
07 Jaguar
08 Tear the Club Up
09 ?????-??? (Detoroito Mix)

Published at: