CONTEST: Win Roxy Music’s ‘The Complete Studio Recordings’ Ten Disc Set

[20 August 2012]

By Sachyn Mital

Contributing Editor

PopMatters is again excited to bring you another fantastic contest. We’ve got one new box set of Roxy Music’s ‘The Complete Studio Recordings’ available to give to one of our readers! Its not out till next week (August 28th), so be sure to read about it now and pick one up for yourself or your friends.

This ten CD deluxe box set featuring all eight Roxy Music studio albums housed in rigid gatefold style sleeves - mimicking the original vinyl releases. They also contain never seen-before outtakes from the original album cover artwork.

Check out the official Roxy Music website to pick up this set or other official merchandise.
Purchase the Box Set from Amazon here.

From the press release:

40 years after the release of Roxy Music’s eponymous debut album in 1972, the band has partnered with Virgin/EMI for a broad remastering initiative for their catalog, launching with the release of a career-spanning box set. The ten CD collection, titled Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings, will be released in the US on August 28th (August 6th in the UK).

Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings features the British band’s eight studio albums, each digitally remastered: Roxy Music, For Your Pleasure, Stranded, Country Life, Siren, Manifesto, Flesh + Blood, and Avalon.  Non-album singles, B-sides and remixes featured on two bonus discs include several tracks making their CD release debut, among them the US 7-inch mixes of “Do The Strand,” “Love Is The Drug,” and “Take A Chance With Me,” two edits of Country Life’s opening track “The Thrill Of It All,” plus its B-side “Your Application’s Failed,” and the 7-inch single versions of “Oh Yeah” and “Avalon.”

Roxy Music – Bryan Ferry, Brian Eno, Andy Mackay, Phil Manzanera, Paul Thompson and Graham Simpson – landed in 1971, seemingly from far beyond planet Earth, to part bewilderment, part rapture…. Mixing an intoxicating cocktail of fashion, romance, nostalgia and futurism with cinematic songs set to stunning soundscapes.

Roxy Music’s self-titled debut album was released in 1972 to critical acclaim and exemplified the band’s penchant for glamour, both in the lyrics and with the album cover of model Kari-Ann Muller, kick-starting a tradition of iconic album covers featuring female models. Single “Virginia Plain” (not featured on the original album release) reached Number 4 on the UK singles chart.

For Your Pleasure, released the following March and including the classic Roxy tracks “Do The Strand,” “In Every Dream A Heartache,” and “Editions Of You,” was the last album to feature Brian Eno in the recording line-up, and displayed a more elaborate production treatment with a variety of fade ins / outs and tape loops. The original Island label remix and a 1977 remix of the non-album single “Pyjamarama” is included in the new collection, as well as its B-side, “The Pride and the Pain.”

November 1973 saw the release of Stranded, which reached Number 1 on the UK Album Chart, producing the Top Ten UK single “Street Life” and featuring 1973 Playmate of the Year (and Bryan Ferry’s then girlfriend) Marilyn Cole on the cover. A year later, Roxy Music released Country Life, this time featuring two models on the album cover (Constanze Karoli and Eveline Grunwald), including the single “All I Want Is You.”

Siren, released in 1975 and featuring Jerry Hall as the cover girl, includes Roxy Music’s arguably best-known song, “Love Is The Drug,” which charted at Number 2 in the UK and Number 30 in the US, and a second single, “Both Ends Burning.” A four year gap preceded the release of Manifesto in March 1979, which reached Number 7 on the UK chart and Number 23 on the US chart. The album featured an eye-catching cover image of mannequins conceptualized by Bryan Ferry and long time Roxy Music designer and collaborator Antony Price. The album’s three singles included the UK Number 2 hit “Dance Away,” “Trash,” and “Angel Eyes.”

The UK Number 1 album Flesh + Blood was released in 1980, Roxy Music at this point was Ferry, Mackay and Manzanera due to the departure of drummer Thompson. Roxy Music’s cover of John Lennon’s “Jealous Guy” was released as a single in 1981 with the B-side “To Turn You On.” In 1982, Roxy Music’s most commercially successful album, Avalon, was released, topping the UK Album Chart at Number 1 and remaining on the chart for more than a year. The album went Platinum in the US and is ranked by

Rolling Stone

at #31 on the magazine’s list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s.”  The album featured three singles, including “More Than This,” “Avalon,” and “Take a Chance With Me.”

Published at: