Please donate to help save PopMatters. We are moving to WordPress in December out of necessity and need your help.

Happy anniversary, Nirvana! (MP3)

It’s hard to believe, but this winter marks the 20th anniversary of the release Nirvana’s debut album, Bleach. In honor of this music milestone, Sub Pop is re-issuing Bleach as an expanded CD/double LP. Originally recorded in December, 1988 and released in June of ’89, the album received international recognition after Nevermind took off.

Some of the features include a previously unreleased live recording at the Pine Street Theatre in Portland, Oregon from 1990, and extended liner notes with candid photos. Producer Jack Endino oversaw the sessions as the album was re-mastered at Sterling Sound off of the original tapes. The album is available for pre-order at Sub Pop.


01 Blew

02 Floyd the Barber

03 About a Girl

04 School

05 Love Buzz

06 Paper Cuts

07 Negative Creep

08 Scoff

09 Swap Meet

10 Mr. Moustache

11 Sifting

12 Big Cheese

13 Downer

14 Intro (live)

15 School (live)

16 Floyd the Barber (live)

17 Dive (live)

18 Love Buzz (live)

19 Spank Thru (live)

20 Molly’s Lips (live)

21 Sappy (live)

22 Scoff (live)

23 About a Girl (live)

24 Been a Son (live)

25 Blew (live)


About a Girl [MP3]


Scoff (live) [MP3]


Please Donate to Help Save PopMatters

PopMatters have been informed by our current technology provider that we have until December to move off their service. We are moving to WordPress and a new host, but we really need your help to fund the move and further development.





© 1999-2020 PopMatters Media, Inc. All rights reserved. PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.

Collapse Expand Reviews

Collapse Expand Features

PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.