Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark – History of Modern (new album / stream)

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

History of Modern

(100% Records)

Releasing: 4 October

The veteran British electronic pop group Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) have announced details of their new studio album, History of Modern. The album is the first in 24 years to feature the classic lineup of Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Martin Cooper, and Malcolm Holmes. The newly-revealed artwork is by long-time collaborator Peter Saville and hearkens back to the band’s more arty early ’80s beginnings. With the recent critical re-assessment of OMD albums like 1983’s Dazzle Ships, the “return to roots” approach makes sense. In the electronic press kit teaser, McCluskey states History of Modern will indeed incorporate “classic” OMD sounds, in a contemporary context.

History of Modern will be released in the UK on September 20, and a North American issue seems inevitable. A limited-edition box set version with CD, DVD, vinyl, demos, and assorted extras is also available through the band’s official website. The Liverpudlian poppers are previewing a few of the new tunes on their MySpace page.


01 New Babies: New Toys

02 If You Want It

03 History of Modern (Part I)

04 History of Modern (Part II)

05 Sometimes


07 New Holy Ground

08 The Future, the Past, and Forever After

09 Sister Mary Says

10 Pulse

11 Green

12 Bondage of Fate

13 The Right Side?