Quest for Fire – “Set Out Alone” MP3 (PopMatters Premiere)

Toronto’s hard-hitting, scuzz fuzz, psych band, Quest for Fire, are releasing their eagerly awaited sophomore album August 31st and we’ve got the premiere today of “Set Out Alone”, the ideal encapsulation of their sound. Quest for Fire emerged from the remains of two previous bands, the Deadly Snakes and Cursed, and released their self-titled debut last year. Vocalist and guitarist Chad Ross describes the musical vision for Lights from Paradise as “a heavy meeting of all the music we love. It’s filled with wide open spaces of dreamy hard rock, quiet sweet moments, and pounding psych straight from the Canadian heart.” That last bit describes “Set Out Alone” to a tee. Release details and track list are after the jump.

Quest for Fire

Lights from Paradise

(Tee Pee)

Releasing: 31 August


01 The Greatest Hits By God

02 Set Out Alone

03 Strange Vacation

04 Confusion’s Home

05 In the Place of a Storm

06 Psychic Seasons

07 Hinterland Who’s Who

08 Sessions of Light