Soundscape Mix #7: Ad Noiseam

Since 2001, Berlin’s Ad Noiseam has quietly become one of the world’s penultimate electronic labels. Superlatively produced recent releases from Larvae, Raoul Sinier, the Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble, Broken Note, and Roel Funcken all sit at the cutting edge of IDM, dubstep, breakcore, and glitch music today. No genre is too far out there to fit into their aesthetic.

What’s more, while they are undoubtedly one of the finest noise mongers this side of Planet Mu, they are also ethical. Label boss Nicolas Chevreux has seen fit to set a fixed donation to Amnesty International with every MP3 album bought through the Ad Noiseam website. Music industry slump, be damned!

While the label’s history stretches back almost a decade, the quality of their stable of long time artists and new signees has been growing exponentially with each passing year. So, to showcase the absolute best of the label, most of this mix has been culled from the last few years of releases. Believe me, there is a lot more gold in them thar hills. After hearing this mix, I’m sure you’ll agree that Ad Noiseam is a force to be reckoned with.



Estimating a Leg (2009) by Raoul Sinier

01. Roel Funcken – “Martyrz” (Vade, 2010)

– Start time: 0:00; Links: Ad NoiseamRoel Funcken

02. Somatic Responses – “Reformation” (Reformation, 2009)

– Start time: 4:34; Links: Ad NoiseamSomatic Responses

03. The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation – “The Admirals Game” (Succubus, 2009)

– Start time: 8:35; Links: Ad NoiseamThe Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation

04. Matta – “Mass” (The Lost EP, 2010)

– Start time: 15:45; Links: Ad NoiseamMatta

05. Detritus – “Beautiful People Die [Mothboy Remix]” (Things Gone Wrong, 2009)

– Start time: 21:03; Links: Ad NoiseamDetritus

06. Broken Note – “Let ‘Em Hang” (Terminal Static, 2009)

– Start time: 25:35; Links: Ad NoiseamBroken Note

07. Math Head – “Terror Inc” (Stab City, 2009)

– Start time: 31:56; Links: Ad NoiseamMath Head

08. Exillion – “Bairyhack” (It’s OK To Dance, 2008)

– Start time: 36:40; Links: Ad NoiseamExillion

09. Cardopusher – “Low End Legacy” (Unity Means Power, 2009)

– Start time: 39:22; Links: Ad NoiseamCardopusher

10. Chevron – “Renegade Cherryade” (Tuff Shite EP, 2008)

– Start time: 43:59; Links: Ad NoiseamChevron

11. Enduser – “More Distant Than You Think [Larvae Remix]” (Bollywood Breaks, 2004)

– Start time: 48:10; Links: Ad NoiseamEnduser

12. Larvae – “Dischord” (Loss Leader, 2008)

– Start time: 52:17; Links: Ad NoiseamLarvae

13. Wilt – “The Many Armed Beast [Larvae Remix]” (Cemetery Road / Dead Electroniks, 2009)

– Start time: 56:27; Links: Ad NoiseamWilt

14. Raoul Sinier – “Alternative Rush” (Tremens Industry, 2009)

– Start time: 59:51; Links: Ad NoiseamRaoul Sinier

15. The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble – “Embers” (Here Be Dragons, 2009)

– Start time: 63:54; Links: Ad NoiseamThe Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble

Total Running Time: 01:08:14