Music

The Black Lips Release New Video for "New Direction"

Atlanta's Black Lips, described as a "flower punk" band, are currently making a few stops around the US, including New York and Nashville, before stopping in Chicago for Lollapalooza.

Sweeping out from behind a mountain and flying through the air, the Black Lips look like they are engaged in a strange recreation of Quidditch for their new video "New Direction" off the album, Arabia Mountain (which earned a 9/10 review right here at PopMatters).

Get a free download of the song "New Direction" or

pick up Arabia Mountain at Amazon today.

Black Lips Tour Dates:

Wed 07/27/11 - Charlotte, NC Neighborhood Theatre

Thu 07/28/11 - Baltimore, MD Ottobar

Fri 07/29/11 - New York, NY Bowery Ballroom

Sat 07/30/11 - Hoboken, NJ Maxwell's

Mon 08/01/11 - Pittsburgh, PA Mr. Small's Theatre

Tue 08/02/11 - Lexington, KY Buster's

Thu 08/04/11 - St. Louis, MO Firebird

Fri 08/05/11 - Chicago, IL Empty Bottle (Lollapalooza Aftershow)

Sat 08/06/11 - Chicago, IL Grant Park (Lollapalooza)

Sat 08/13/11 - Irvine, CA Oak Canyon Ranch (Pacific Festival)

Thu 09/08/11 - Raleigh, NC Lincoln Theatre (Hopscotch Music Festival)

Sat 09/10/11 - Conley, GA The Southern Comfort

Fri 09/23/11 - Bristol, United Kingdom Bristol Fleece

Sat 09/24/11 - Manchester, United Kingdom Fac251

Sun 09/25/11 - Wirral, United Kingdom Wirral Rugby Club

Mon 09/26/11 - London, United Kingdom Heaven

Over the Rainbow: An Interview With Herb Alpert

Music legend Herb Alpert discusses his new album, Over the Rainbow, maintaining his artistic drive, and his place in music history. "If we tried to start A&M in today's environment, we'd have no chance. I don't know if I'd get a start as a trumpet player. But I keep doing this because I'm having fun."

Jedd Beaudoin
Music

The Cigarette: A Political History (By the Book)

Sarah Milov's The Cigarette restores politics to its rightful place in the tale of tobacco's rise and fall, illustrating America's continuing battles over corporate influence, individual responsibility, collective choice, and the scope of governmental power. Enjoy this excerpt from Chapter 5. "Inventing the Nonsmoker".

Sarah Milov
Books
Pop Ten
Mixed Media
PM Picks

© 1999-2018 Popmatters.com. All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.