'The Artist' is the big winner at Critics' Choice Movie Awards

Susan King
Los Angeles Times (MCT)

LOS ANGELES — The silent was golden Thursday evening at the 17th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards presented by the Broadcast Film Critics Association with the black-and-white ode to silent film “The Artist” winning best picture, best director for Michel Hazanavicius, as well as best costume design and best score.

The awards were held at the Hollywood Palladium and telecast on cable channel VH1.

George Clooney won best actor for “The Descendants” and Viola Davis earned best actress for “The Help.”

Supporting actor went to 82-year-old Christopher Plummer for “Beginners,” and Octavia Spencer won the supporting actress award for “The Help.” The cast of “The Help” also won best ensemble. Thomas Horn was named best young actor/actress for “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.”

Woody Allen won original screenplay honors for “Midnight in Paris,” and Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin — with Stan Chervin for his story — won best adapted screenplay for “Moneyball.”

There was a tie in the cinematography category, with Emmanuel Lubezki (“The Tree of Life”) and Janusz Kaminski (“War Horse”) splitting the honors.

Dante Ferretti won best art direction for “Hugo,” and Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall won for editing for “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.”

“Rango” took home best animated feature, and “Drive” won best action movie. Best comedy honors went to “Bridesmaids,” and “A Separation” earned best foreign-language film. “George Harrison: Living in the Material World,” directed by Martin Scorsese, won best documentary feature.

“Life’s a Happy Song,” from “The Muppets,” earned best song. Other technical honors went to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows — Part 2,” for make-up and sound, with “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” picking up best visual effects.

The Joel Siegel Award went to Sean Penn for his humanitarian efforts on behalf of Haiti, and the Critics’ Choice Music + Film Award went to Martin Scorsese.

Pop Ten
Mixed Media
PM Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
Popmatters is wholly independently owned and operated.