Winter 2012 New Music Playlist


Here’s to the New Year and the new music to be investigated as always. Many of the picks for this playlist were found by investigating annual lists of top songs from 2011, revisiting bands if needed.

Here’s to the New Year and the new music to be investigated as always. Many of the picks for this playlist were found by investigating annual lists of top songs from 2011, revisiting bands if needed. The end of the year brought new releases from the Black Keys and Florence + the Machine to explore along with many other diverse groups on the scene.

1. “Don’t Move” -- Phantogram

2. “16 Years” – Phantogram

Phantogram hail from upstate New York, a band consisting of two friends since middle school in Saratoga Springs. Keyboardist Sarah Barthel’s vocals flow over electronic beats and guitar parts by Josh Carter. The band name, referring to psychedelic optical illusions, could also allude to the rich, multi-layered sound by this indie pop duo. These songs are off their EP, Nightlife.

Winter 2012 Playlist by JaneJS on Grooveshark

3. “Black Hills” – Gardens & Villa

Gardens and Villa are a quintet of college friends from Santa Barbara, California, who pledge to play all parts live to achieve the laid back jam sound. Vintage synth keyboards, guitars and percussion of all sorts combine with an occasional bamboo flute on their self-titled debut release.

4. “Gold” – Delay Trees

This lush creation is by a quartet from Finland, shoegaze pop in its finest form. The song continues along a slow build to maximum effect. “Gold” is off the band’s self-titled debut release.

5. “Lonely Boy” – The Black Keys

6. “Gold On the Ceiling” – The Black Keys

These two songs are from El Camino, the seventh studio release from The Black Keys. Patrick Carney (drums) and Dan Auerbach (guitar) collaborated with Danger Mouse for this harvest of tightly wound compositions.

7. “Top Bunk” – Gauntlet Hair

Gauntlet Hair is led by two high school friends from Chicago, Andy Rauworth and Craig Nice. They supposedly used Rauworth’s grandmother’s house to record songs while she was away from vacation. The self-titled debut is full of noise pop songs with a spacious grandeur of their new home near Denver, Colorado.

8. “Thankful” – Caveman

This New York quintet uses handmade guitars to mold the blurred sound of shoegaze reverb but pop vocal melodies keep things on track. “Thankful” is off their debut release, CoCo Beware.

9. “Amazing and Wonderful” – Peaking Lights

Peaking Lights are a psychedelic noise pop duo from the Madison, Wisconsin area, having relocated from San Francisco. This husband and wife team of Indra Dunis and Aaron Coynes concoct free-form home recordings to fill this sophomore release, 936.

10. “When I was Young” – Nada Surf

This song is a free download off the New York trio’s website from the upcoming seventh release, The Stars Are Indifferent to Astronomy. The mellow storytelling is a hallmark of the alt rock band, now creating music for two decades.

11. “Shake It Out” – Florence + The Machine

London’s Florence + The Machine released their second studio album, Ceremonials, with a continuation of powerful indie pop led by Florence Welch’s standout vocals. “Shake It Out” amps up the sound with confidence, as recorded at Abbey Road Studio with Paul Epworth (also producer for Adele).

12. FFunny FFriends –Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Unknown Mortal Orchestra is the home studio project by Ruban Nielson, a New Zealand native who moved to Portland, Oregon with his band Mint Chicks. It allowed an indulgence in mixing psychedelic past with a pop sensibility for quirky fun, as found in this lead off track from the self-titled debut.

13. This Is Not the End (featuring Luciana Villanova) – Gui Burrato

Brazilian electronic music producer Gui Burrato has now three releases of his own compositions, the newest one titled III. This dreamy song closes out the mostly-instrumental collection, with Luciana Villanova’s wistful vocals calling, This is not the end.

Winter 2012 Playlist by JaneJS on Grooveshark






"I'm an Audience Member, Playing This Music for Us": An Interview With Keller Williams

Veteran musician Keller Williams discusses his special relationship with the Keels, their third album together, Speed, and what he learned from following the Grateful Dead.


Shintaro Kago's 'Dementia 21' Showcases Surrealist Manga

As much as I admire Shintaro Kago's oddness as a writer, his artistic pen is even sharper (but not without problems) as evident in Dementia 21.


Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad Proclaim 'Jazz Is Dead!' Long Live Jazz!

Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad bring their live collaborative efforts with jazz veterans to recorded life with Jazz Is Dead 001, a taste of more music to come.


"I'll See You Later": Repetition and Time in Almodóvar's 'All About My Mother'

There are mythical moments in Almodóvar's All About My Mother. We are meant to register repetition in the story as something wonderfully strange, a connection across the chasm of impossibility.


Electropop's CMON Feel the Noise on 'Confusing Mix of Nations'

Pop duo CMON mix and match contemporary and retro influences to craft the dark dance-pop on Confusing Mix of Nations.


'Harmony' Is About As Bill Frisell As a Bill Frisell Recording Can Be

Bill Frisell's debut on Blue Note Records is a gentle recording featuring a few oddball gems, particularly when he digs into the standard repertoire with Petra Haden's voice out front.


The 50 Best Post-Punk Albums Ever: Part 4, James Chance to the Pop Group

This week we are celebrating the best post-punk albums of all-time and today we have part four with Talking Heads, the Fall, Devo and more.


Raye Zaragoza's "Fight Like a Girl" Shatters the Idea of What Women Can and Can't Do (premiere)

Singer-songwriter and activist Raye Zaragoza's new single, "Fight Like a Girl", is an empowering anthem for intersectional feminism, encouraging resilience amongst all women.


VickiKristinaBarcelona Celebrate Tom Waits on "I Don't Wanna Grow Up" (premiere)

VickiKristinaBarcelona celebrate the singular world of Tom Waits their upcoming debut, Pawn Shop Radio. Hear "I Don't Wanna Grow Up" ahead of tomorrow's single release.


'Everything's Gonna Be Okay' Is  Better Than Okay

The first season of Freeform's Everything's Gonna Be Okay is a funny, big-hearted love letter to family.


Jordan Rakei Breathes New Life Into Soul Music

Jordan Rakei is a restless artistic spirit who brings R&B, jazz, hip-hop, and pop craft into his sumptuous, warm music. Rakei discusses his latest album and new music he's working on that will sound completely different from everything he's done so far.

Collapse Expand Reviews

Collapse Expand Features
PM Picks
Collapse Expand Pm Picks

© 1999-2020 All rights reserved.
PopMatters is wholly independent, women-owned and operated.